We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5nights in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vatican Museum Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1,802 of 3,621 Rome B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5nights in Rome”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Rudi was very hospitable and extremely helpful especially for those who do not have any idea of what to do and where to go in Rome for the first time.
about 15mins walking distance to the nearest metro station (Ottaviano) line A. accessible to visit the usual suspects and you would be the first in line for the vatican museum as it's located right in front of the entrance.
average rates per night inclusive of tax was around 28EUR inclusive of breakfast and wifi.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    18
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The thing to remember when staying in Rome and especially in this B&B, is that Rome was built thousands of years ago. That being said, this B&B is literally across the street from the Vatican Museum entrance. This is a good and bad thing. It puts you right out into the best location for walking and seeing all that Rome has to offer, but the traffic on this street can be a little overwhelming. My wife and I ran into the same dilema as another traveler who was street side- keep the window open to cool off and brave the noise and fumes, or close the window and suffer through the stale air. It's kind of a crapshoot. Anyway, the room isn't much to get excited about, but was clean upon our arrival. Our hosts Rudi and his wife are genuinely nice. He gave us great directions to some wonderful restaurants and helped us navigate the city on a map. That is the best asset to this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The owner tried to be nice and helpful, but the place is awful! You can spoil your holidays in beautiful Rome if you stay at this B&B!

It wasn't repaired for last 50 years I guess. The walls are so dirty like our room was used as a storage place before (see pics!).

I am surprised that someone wrote on tripadvisor that this is a "cute" place. It can be cute only if you lived at the tent before. The interior is so poor and dull that it makes you depressed. Sun is never entering the room because it's underground level. All that you see from the window is a concrete wall.

Towels and bed linen are old and smelling.
The location is ok. Breakfast was ok too. Nevertheless this B&B is overpriced!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Review of
Vatican Museum B&B
Viale Vaticano, 97 Rome

Date of Stay: 10 Sept 2011
Two Couples


Unless substantial physical and security upgrades are made to this property, I can not recommend it to anyone. The last three days of our European vacation were ruined by staying there. We ended up hot sweaty sleep deprived zombies. I should have been forewarned about the situation when Rudi refused to accept credit cards and instead required an up-front 33% of the total cost cash deposit to be wired directly to his bank account. Because of this requirement, in addition to normal foreign exchange fees, an extra fee was charge by my bank to wire the money to him

Positive

Location: 500 feet from Vatican Museum and 5-10 minutes walk to buses and Metro.
Cost: 10 Euros or more a person less per day then surrounding hotels
Rooms: were clean and had a safe
Owners: Rudi and Claudia. They were helpful with sightseeing tips (public transport, recommended cheap restaurants, markets). They kept the room clean and the small refrigerator stocked with juice, water, etc. It was a nice touch they supplied free postcards.

Negatives

MAJOR, Constant and at times VERY LOUD Street Noise 24 hours a day.

The Vatican is like a rock in the middle of a stream. Since traffic cannot go through Vatican, it flows around it. The large high walls of the Vatican and building along this street act as amplifiers and make the street noise even louder and more ear piercing then it normally would be. It is a major through street with an endless stream of cars, large trucks, buses and motorcycles/scooters traveling down it at all hours of the day and night. My experience was the worst were motorcycles/scooters, many seemed to have no mufflers. You would start to drift off to sleep and suddenly rrrrrRRRRROARRRRRrrrr. Add to this howling dogs, loud conversations of people (especially the loud and rowdy groups of teenagers) passing by your window and car alarms going off due to vibration and noise of passing traffic, etc.

No Air Conditioning (AC).

This would not be a big factor if one were out in the Tuscan countryside. But for six or more months of the year Rome is hot and humid. Added to the fact it is a only a few blocks from Tiber River (adds even higher humidity levels) and sits on a street where on one side the sun heats up the 100ft+ high dark brown walls of Vatican, in the middle the black asphalt road and on the other side of the street stone walls of multistory hotels and business. The result is 10 to 15 degree increase in the surrounding already uncomfortable temperatures. This excess heat continues to radiate from the stone and asphalt long into the night. It was always fun to come back from a hot sweaty day sightseeing only to find your room is even more hot and humid then where you had just come from.

Rudi solution was to provide a single small fan for each room (all of which vibrated loudly when operating) see fan1.jpg. When asked, Rudi’s answer to why he had no AC is that he had lived in the house 6 years and never had AC and we should not need it. The house had thick walls and they should keep you cool.

Thus you had two choices due to No AC- both equally bad if you were trying to sleep or be comfortable. The 1st was to try and cut down on the amount of street noise by closing your windows and depend on a small fan that was not powerful enough to cool things down, but only to vibrated loudly and recirculated the hot humid air. Talk about hot, sweaty and sticky. The second option was to open your windows and try and get some fresh air. The problems with this is that you got all the street noise and fumes from the traffic and see my comments below about Personal Security Issues. My wife became nausea and started feeling sick because these fumes and the only thing Rudi could suggest was she should take medicine.

Personal Security Issues.

Vatican Museum B&B(VMBB) has substantial (over 1 inch thick) burglar bars on front windows and front door ( See image Burg-bar with close-up.jpg) and strands of barbed wire along the side of building (see Past_barbed wire.jpg ). Usually such substantial protection features indicate a serious crime problem. What is particular worrisome is the easy access that anyone now have to get into any of guest’s bedroom windows. If one were to look at Goggle Maps Street View of VMBB location (made over a year ago) one would see barbed wire blocking any access routes to bedrooms on ground floor. Today part of that barbed wire barrier (nearest to the bedroom windows) has been removed (see image Today_missing barbed wire.jpg ). Because of this and the fact each window has a ledge large enough for someone to stand on, currently anyone at ground level can with relatively easy break into to a bedroom through its window and potentially commit robbery or worse. See image easy access.jpg .

Bathrooms Can Be Hazzards to Your Health.

VMBB is located in a building over 100 years old. If done correctly, it would be very expensive to cut through thick walls to modernize. As a short cut narrow platforms were installed in the bathroom and plumbing and wiring run under those platforms. The problem with these platforms is they are very narrow and easy to stumble off of. The husband of the couple we were with did this and almost hit his head on sink. There were two small bulbs in the bathroom, both of which were burned out. The shower doors do not have a handle on the inside and once you close them they are from difficult to impossible to open from the inside. I had to reach over the top of shower and open them from the other side. If you could not do something like this you would be trapped in the shower until someone could open the door from the other side.

VMBB Bathroom had a SOS Emergency pull cord switch box on the wall next to the shower. Such items are required and usually mounted at a low level and enables anyone who have fallen to obtain help quickly and reduce the risk of further injury. When mounted to the wall it should be easily reachable from the toilet or floor. When the cord is pulled, the toggle switch flashes on the outside monitor and is accompanied by a “beeping” sound. Unfortunately the VMBB Emergency pull cord was only about 2 ½ feet long, impossible to reach from floor and difficult from toilet. When I pulled this to see if it worked, nothing happened and it appeared to either not be connected, broken or just for show. If you fell and tried to seek help using this, good luck.


Rooms Are Nothing like the Pictures on Their Website.

The rooms are small and I had to step over my medium sized suitcase to get around the bed to get to the bathroom (see rooms are small.jpg). Rooms are very tired. Walls are scuffed where former guestes had hit them (see Walls are scuffed.jpg). Floor tiles are cracked (see cracked floor tiles.jpg). There were no bedside tables (unlike what is shown on the website) only a small shelf coming out of wall (see small shelf.jpg). The TV had only 1 station -a staticy Italian station that showed sports and religious programing. The windows in bedrooms have no screens. It was always fun to find in middle of the night some creepy crawler jumping on your face and try to crawl into you ear canal, which happened to me two out of the three nights.

Kitchen Was Interesting.

It was originally made for a single family use not multiple BB guests. To meet this need, Rudi had jury-rigged the electrical system by using numerous extension cords. See image multiple extension cords.jpg . The problem is by using them, they overloaded the existing system. You could not use the stove and toaster at the same time. The circuit breaker would trip. You could not heat water for tea or make coffee at the same time or circuit breaker would trip. The small shared refrigerator barely worked, at best cooling things down to about 70 degree if that low. Moldings on edge of kitchen counters were missing and in some cases coming off. You could easily get splinters. The breakfast was disappointing mixture of pre-packaged sugary pastry and some bread and jam and yoghurt, but nothing fresh. Coffee was instant. Ahh there was nothing like the smell of coffee first thing in the morning mixed with a whiff of exhaust fumes from the truck that just went loudly by the kitchen window that opened onto the busy street outside.

Vatican Museum B&B (VMBB) is no real bargain when you consider all the factors. Even though more expensive, such hotels as Hotel Alimandi (physically right next door to VMBB) or Best Western Hotel Spring House (just down the hill from VMBB), etc., are a much better overall value and will make your vacation much more enjoyable experience.

If I had only know! I guess that is why they say travel is an education in itself. VMBB has taught me a lesson I will not soon forget.

Room Tip: Other hotels/BBs are a much better overall value and will make your vacation much more enjoyable exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Great little B&B in a great location. Directly across the road from the Vatican museum which makes it a little noisy if you are in the front room but that is the only negative. Great safe place to walk around day or night with a yummy little Gelato shop just down the stairs very close by. Great food short walk away. Overall a great experience. Most of the attractions within walking distance. Take the time to go for a relaxing walk through the beautiful streets and ally ways. What a treat.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpickles2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

My husband and I stayed at this B&B. Rudy was very helpful. Our suitcase did not arrive with our flight. Since we did not speak Italian, we had a difficult time at the airport. We had some paper work done.. we gave it to Rudy (B&B owner) and he did the follow. Two days later our suitcase arrived.
B&B is a misnomer for the place. Breakfast is serve yourself.. meaning, anytime you feel like eating, there is food in the kitchen. You have access to a stove, refrigerator and food. The kitchen is stocked with drinks, yogurt, fruits, pastries.
Because we were jet lagged, we would wake up at 3am, and hungry. We had food waiting for us. For the money.. it was well worth it.
My only negative comment is, since it is at Viale Vatican street, if you leave your window open at night, you can hear the street noise, other than that.. the B&B is excellent. We closed our window at night anyways.
The place has another room, not facing the street, so if the noise will bother you, you can request for that room.
I would stay at the B&B next time I visit Rome.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knoller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Pros:
1. Great location -- literally across the street from the Vatican museums and 5-minute walk from St. Peter's; subway within a 10-15 minute walk, and a major bus terminal nearby with buses going to all the main attractions in Rome.
2. Wonderful hosts Rudy and Claudia -- they go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need, and are happy to help you find your way around town, organize transportation, or even help you deal with any issues where fluent Italian would be helpful. Great people.
3. Nice fresh breakfast and use of kitchen
4. Private bathroom a definite plus.
5. (Plenty of Wifi signals across the street and on the steps around the corner - shh!)

Cons: only one -- the room is no luxury palace, but basic, clean and comfortable.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NCStranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Museum
#452 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#55 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Hearth Hotel
#96 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,558 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#288 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican Museum Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican Museum Bed & Breakfast

Property: Vatican Museum Bed & Breakfast
Address: Viale Vaticano 97, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,802 of 3,621 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vatican Museum Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Vatican Museum Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing