We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic means, BASIC !!!!!”
Review of Hotel Elide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elide
Ranked #578 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We flew into Ciampino airport and bus tickets were being sold on the flight which is a good idea. The hotel which is easily found is only a 5 min walk from Termini Station. The staff (apart from one breakfast waitress/receptionist who had a face that could stop a clock) were lovely and very helpful. We went to our room which was advertised as a basic one - and oh is it ever!! The shared bathroom could have been an issue however, the people in the other rooms in our section only lasted one night and we never saw them again !! There is not one picture of the room we stayed in on the Hotel website or Travel Republic who we booked through, and there is an obvious reason for that - the bedding was clean the the bed comfortable but double glazing would have been great as every little noise echoed and it sounds as though the window is wide open! Not a picture on the wall or a bedside lamp was to be seen - these wouldn't have cost a great deal and might have absorbed some of the sound !!! The wall paper was peeling off too. The breakfast was not as pictured - there were croissants, bread rolls and plenty of jam, cereal, coffee and fruit juice but nothing like the pictures on their website. Having said all this, the hotel is in a fantastic location, not too far from any of the landmarks. We went to the Vatican on a Wednesday and actually got to see the Pope as he goes down into the square every week and is driven around in his 'Pope Mobile' - we got about 4 feet away from him. If you are going to the Vatican on the Metro - don't go from Termini, walk to the next station - you are packed into the underground and the trains like sardines - it is quite scary and you get pushed about A LOT. The major downside of the City in general are the beggars, ticket touts and immigrants trying to push 'tat' onto you. They don't take no for an answer straight away and can really get on your nerves - I tended to snap at them and they eventually left us alone............. until the next one. At the Spanish Steps, DON'T accept 'free' roses they are handing out - just forcefully say NO!! There are beggars at the doors of churches who are asking for 1 euro when they hold the door open for you but just think - if everyone who visits these churches over the course of a year gave them a euro each, they must make a FORTUNE - DON'T be taken in by them. Italy really need to sort them out as they can put a downer on your visit. Driving from Ciampino airport, I was shocked by the amount of graffiti on EVERYTHING - it gives a bad impression of what is in fact a beautiful city. The major tourist sites that everyone wants to see wont be disappointing - they are fantastic !!!

Room Tip: If you want basic - be prepared for just that - don't go with high expectations !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

First, If you book this Hotel Confirm whether room has en suite, or shared bathroom, It is important.
The hotel is a pleasant 15-20 mins walk from the Bus terminal at the Termini train station..
2 minutes from bus 64 etc, to the st peters vasilica, etc, 3 minutes from the Metro to Spagna, for Spanish Steps, Collisium, Plaza del Popolo etc etc, @ 1.50euro each
The Trevi Fountain, And LOADS of great eating places, are literally 10 minutes walk away.
There is internet , only in the lobby, Breakfast V basic, But hey, across the road, theres a great place for Breakfast. Typical Italian TV ie NO English channels,,, Why's that??
Would fully recomend, and will use again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank levace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Came here for the champions league final in '09, it was very affordable and a great location. Though it wasn't anything flashy, you're not going to spend much time inside the room. Found this to be a great find and would prefer to room here than in one of the more pricey establishments.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Consumer992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The welcome was really warm and everybody was helpful. The room was small but clean. The air conditioner wasn't working so the room was really hot. WiFi wasn't working either, not even next to the desk but there were two computers that worked. Breakfast was really simple, croissants, bread and cereal but it was ok. The location is very very good, 15 minutes walk from Colosseum, Fontana di Trevi etc. I can easily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

It is a very small but well designed hotel with nice and clean rooms. Locates in the heart of Rome, but has definitely acceptable prices. Has good coffee and tasty croissantes for breakfast. Definitely suitable for couples and single travellers. Highly reccomended for a Rome visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezgi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Thanks for the very warm welcome!
I stayed there for 9 nights in doube rome with 1 extra bed with my family.
Lets start from advantages (+):
- Hotel situated in 10-15 minutes from the historical centre. You even don't have to use public transport
- friendly staff
- very quite place
- not bad breakfast (not like in Russia. Without hot meals as porridge or fried eggs. Only corn flakes, coffee and very fresh cakes, but still good)
- we have clean towels daily
- very very comfortable beds. Firm as I like

From disadvantages I can highlight only one point: not working heating. They turn on central heating only after 6pm, so you have to use air conditioner as a heater. In our room it doesn't work the proper way.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

for the price we paid (50e per night, for a double room in B&B for 2) it was great. room reasonably clean, buffet breakfast, although only cereals and fresh croissants were available, but this is tipical of italian breakfast. our room was modern and almost new. only negative was some bad smell coming from the pipes of the bathroom, which was not much of an issue for us as we kept the toilet door closed and we were out almost all day anyway. location excellent, 5 minutes walk from termini station, on the way to the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 31gs1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#706 of 1,271 in Rome
160 reviews
Esquilino
Bellesuite Rome
Bellesuite Rome
#698 of 1,271 in Rome
339 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#109 of 1,271 in Rome
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#280 of 1,271 in Rome
413 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#209 of 1,271 in Rome
989 reviews
Elite Hotel
#359 of 1,271 in Rome
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elide

Address: Via Firenze 50, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #578 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £44 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elide 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elide Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing