We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residenza Montecitorio
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Infinity Hotel Roma(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
54
133
63
37
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
133
63
37
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia del corsospanish stepstrevvi fountaindouble balconyvittorio emanuele monumentwindow facingsmall elevatorsmall signterrific locationcentral locationstayed here for two nightsminute walkwalked everywhereheart of romenice stayhotel roompiazza navona
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here for 4 days. Our bathroom drainage was blocked. Even after making complaint on the first day, they kept on making excuses that we will check it and fix it and nothing happened. Moreover, they are not a proper hotel. They have booked the top floor of an apartment community and converted it in hotel. The room was made of some raw timber. Room was very small and bed was even smaller. Moreover, you could clearly hear the conversation in adjacent rooms. Moreover, some of the guest robbed just outside the hotel one night. Moreover, no iron in the room. On the positive side, location was good and girls on reception were very friendly and helpful. Overall, the price they charged was too much...overall would not stay there again and do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pankaj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Were there a full week in August and had a great time.
Our room was in the part of the buidling where the reception is located.
The good:
very nicely priced (a bargain:10% special offer through the hotel website)!
location (right in the heart of Rome)
clean! (linen and bathroom ok!)
jet shower (a lovely surprise)
nice and large bathroom (but no bidet)
large screen tv
air conditioner
good mattresses
acceptably quiet (you are in the centre after all!)
bus stop just out of the front door

The bad:
room a bit small (for two), yet big enough
needs little revamping (and bits and pieces were not cared for, like skirtboards coming off the wall, shower doors not shutting properly, wallpaper)
no vending machine as advertised on the website (the receptionist just said the website is not updated), but just a minibar in the room (but, as you imagine, more expensive). A pity as the hotel does not serve breakfast. They should have a new one put it - with tea and coffee, too.
lift (there is one but then you must climb down or up some steps to reach the hotel - it is ok if you are young and fit but not if older with a lot of luggage)

Overall very positive.
Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We were in a room in the building where the reception is located (overlooking Via delle Convertite street) and had no problems with sleep as it was very hot (average 38°) and always had the air conditioning on (which worked perfectly) and windows closed Yet, if you open the windows it can get quite noisy. It is a restricted traffic area but you still have buses and taxis etc all day and night.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerPeebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 days in late July 2012 and were really happy with it. Aside from the beds being super hard, the location really made this place. It was walking distance from EVERYTHING! I would say that it was probably about US$20 overpriced, but still was not a bad stay. We paid USD$100/per night, plus they have to tack on Euro 2/day PER PERSON that the city charges.

The staff was very helpful and was able to give direction and help whenever we needed it. English speaking was very good.

Room Tip: I would stay here again, we had an "executive room"
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pioneers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

When I was booking our hotel for a six day trip to the eternal city that is Rome, I was most interested in location of the hotel and second most important thing was the price. I have to say that Hotel Montecitorio met those criteria with excellent numbers. As many have already said on their reviews. The hotel is smack in the middle of the city. You can walk to anyone of the major tourist attractions straight from the front door of the hotel. Walking even further, say trastevere and still could easily make it back without making much distance.
About the decor of the hotel I have only this to say. It was excatly as depicted in the booking info. It was small yes, but that really is not uncommon in european hotels. We had the executive suite which cost a little extra but was well worth the money. There was a double bed that took up most of the floorspace but that was okay since you really don't come to Rome and spend your time watching italian dubbed tv in your hotel room, now do you ? Some have said in their reviews that the interiors were not up to scratch but I disagree. It is styled in the late 16th or maybe 17th century style with a lot of stone and marbel. I really can't say anything bad about the decor. It was very romantic in style, wich may not be to the liking of everyone but it really suited us. Oh, and there was a french balcony as well. With a view right to the busy VIa Corso street. You can't really beat that.
The shower and bathroom facilties were again small but really quite enough. Some Bathroom supplies with soap and such. Showerroom will be a bit small if you happen to be a big person (I'm about 180cm tall and 89kg) but one makes do. And again the bathroom was nicely decorated with stone and marbel. Liked it.
About the services they provided. The room was kept nice and neat everyday. They didn't disturb us in the morning but instead waited for us to leave and then cleaned the room. The receptionists (whom varied quite a bit) were all very helpful and spoke good english so that we were always understood. A special thanks to the woman who ordered a relatively inexpensive private car to take us to the next leg of our trip. All in all very nice people with a good handle on customer service. Many thanks.
Oh, there was no breakfast as many have written but does that really matter when there are about a dozen little restaurants and coffeehouses in every corner. Again, you don't come to Rome to spend your time at the hotel.
So, as far as I'm concerned Hotel Montecitorio is a great stay and I think that all the bad rap that it's been getting here has been undeserved. If you are looking for a four/five star hotel that tends to your every need and insist on staying in your hotel room all the time (I really don't understand why you would even come to Rome to do that =) ), you may want to look elsewhere. But for a nice stay with excellent staff, a nice little romantic room and an outstanding location you can't go wrong with Montecitorio.

Room Tip: The excecutive room seems to have a bit more floorspace, the balcony and a view to the street so if planning on staying a little longer I'd suggest take that.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kalle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We took a romantic trip to Rome and England, my wife was pregnant and we wanted a quite and easy trip thus taking a tour package was out of question. I also had a bit of business to take care of in Rome, Milan, Edinburgh and London so had to stay near the work place. We read a lot of reviews on TRIP ADVISOR and found Montecitorio within our budget. We booked a double superior room. When we went there, the staff was very helpful, they gave us an immediate upgrade to a bigger room and complimentary minibar for 2 days. We stayed there for three days in total and we just walked around beautiful places since almost every tourist destination in Rome was accessible from our hotel. We took bus only for Colosseum and Vatican City. For all other places, we just walked. It gave us better understanding of the city and people. Lovely hotel and great experience

Room Tip: Rooms near Via Del corso are better, though bit noisy during day but you will have a view from there
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajrn_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews