We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value but can't fault the location, centralissimo !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residenza Montecitorio
Ranked #587 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 17 May 2013

First, it's not really a hotel, it seems to me its a floor on a shared 'palazzo' building, so your taxi won't know it or find it, ( ask for via dei convertite, had a tiny tiny room! No breakfast no communal space, ie its not really a hotel, bathroom in 221 was re modelled recently as we had no problems with any of the amenities, shower good if a bit narrow, but clean, room cleaned, towels replaced daily etc etc

See my other reviews for hotels in Rome, this was by far most central but I didn't like it as much as the Others.

Room Tip: 221 was a small but quiet room, not on street but that meant no view except other rooves and walls...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveYourLibrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Residenza Montecitorio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed a couple of night in such a beatifull city that we forgot the hotel's flaws. The hotel is located really close to "Piazza di Spagna" and is at walking distance from all the main and famous Rome's attractions. The room that they gave us was very small and dark. Generally speaking, the room and the bathroom were clean except for the blanket showing the signs of aging. Still I do not understand why in Italy the use of duvet is so rare, it would be much more hygenic. Apart from that, at the reception are very helpful and friendly, always willing to give directions on where to go and where to eat. Little gem is the free wifi without limits. Breakfast is not provided by the hotel but it is possible to have it in a bar a fews steps away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Its just around the corner from Via del Corso, and 3 min walk from taxi stop, the metro station is 15 min walk. But be carful, first, this is not an hotel its just a floor in an old building. Second, rooms are not well maintained, bathroom fixtures are not all functioning properly, but its clean. Third, its noisy. To reach the reception you have to go through a big building door to a court then to an old building, go up in a very tight elevator then take like 12 steps down and finally there is your reception! Honestly it wasn't as expected especially that i think its overpriced. The only good thing is that the location is convenient but again there are many many hotels around with same location maybe better. And at the end maybe clean and well located is what i care the most for in Rome since i stay at the hotel for a few hours daily, so thats why i overcome all the bad sides of this hotel since i was already there. Rome is a captivating city, and you will always love to stay out wandering in its beautiful streets.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saw-Iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed 5 nights, paid cash for discounted junior suit, totally worth it! When booking our accommodation I wanted a balcony in our rooms, which is pretty hard to come by, although it was small, it served its purpose for our morning coffee, with awesome views of via del corsa.
Other reviews are right, hotel is shared with 3 others and local family, however none of which bothered us. No breakfast or tea coffee making facilities, but cafe is literally an elevator ride away.
Bed was a bit hard for my liking but room was spotless, location perfect, we walked everywhere, except when going to the Vatican, (Spagna metro is 3 blocks away)
Bit hard to find, so keep your eyes on the door buzzers, this must be fairly standard, as we later stayed on the Vatican side of town before we flew out and it was the same there. Overall I would definitely stay again, great value in the centre of the historical city!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawsy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I will start with the positives, this hotel is central, clean and the staff are ok. However the main reason for my low rating of this hotel is not the hotel itself, it is their neighbours. The set up of this hotel is quite different to places I have stayed in before. There are two parts, one elevator takes you to receptions, multiple, there are from what I could tell at least three different hotels on the property and also individuals living in their own apartments. The other elevator takes you to the rooms. We stayed on level four, where about a dozen other rooms are and also a family living in their own apartment. This family is rude, loud and generally unfriendly. We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and each night they had loud arguments at all hours and felt the need to play extremely loud music between the hours of 11pm to 2am. The hotel staff would not assist, saying we would need to take care of it ourselves. The family only turned the music up louder when we knocked on their door. Please do not stay here, it was a horrible experience and I do not want anyone else to have to go through what we have been through.

Room Tip: Stay clear of the forth floor
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie_hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We have spent 5 nights in this hotel and all 3 of us were very disappointed. We had no view...but facing the courtyard....the room itself wasn't spacious at all, but made you feel really claustrophobic, they can't consider it as triple room. We had 3 single small beds and also the mattresses were not that comfortable at all. It was absurd how small the room number 231 was! You can't swing a cat....it might be acceptable as single room, but with 1 single bed.
The wall paper was stained in many parts. The shower cubicle was very small as well.
MOST OF ALL YOU CAN HEAR NOISES COMING IN ALL DIRECTIONS. Walls must be very thin as you can hear literally everything...people moving furnitures in the rooms nearby...people talking...people walking and it seemed they were coming inside our room!
One of the pillows was blood stained and the only window looked old and dirty.
It is in the city centre, but you have many other options, so I would advise to look somewhere else.

Room Tip: Room 231 is claustrophobic!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GioSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Although without a restaurant so no breakfast, the friendly staff and central location make this a great base to explore all the main sights of Rome on foot. Close to the Trevi fountain and Spanish Steps, it is also very close to a number of lovely restaurants catering for all budgets

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel San Silvestro
Hotel San Silvestro
#599 of 1,267 in Rome
218 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel 939
Hotel 939
#956 of 1,267 in Rome
169 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#331 of 1,267 in Rome
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Parlamento
Hotel Parlamento
#210 of 1,267 in Rome
759 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#295 of 1,267 in Rome
279 reviews
Elite Hotel
#380 of 1,267 in Rome
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Montecitorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Montecitorio

Address: Via delle Convertite 5, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £58 - £1,037 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Montecitorio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The precious elegance of the environments and his rooms, the exclusive design of the furnishes, the adopt technological solutions (digital TV to the plasma 46' and playpen shower vertical hydro massage in all the rooms), they are alone some of the characteristics of this new structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residenza Montecitorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecitorio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing