We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff okay hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residenza Montecitorio
Ranked #617 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely staff okay hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

First off the biggest plus for this hotel is the location. It is very centrally located (easy to walk to a fair share of the major sights).
A second plus is the staff. They were very friendly and happy to help us out. The 24 hour reception is nice to have.

Now for the downsides. The room (233 or 232 I don't quite remember it read PRIVATO on the door instead of the room number which we thought was pretty odd... presumably the room was previously used for staff members) we were in was, however, very small and there was a bit of a funky smell there. There was no view at all in the room. The beds were quite hard. The bathroom was clean but there were some malfunctions (the shower wasn't functioning propperly).

A good point as to the location of the rooms (not facing streets ect) is that you are not bothered by noise from the street.

Even though our stay was fine I don't think I would go to the same hotel again. Hotels like these are a dime a dozen.

Room Tip: Don't take room 233
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiTiNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    117
    57
    33
    31
See reviews for
72
102
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very central, everything is within walking distance, ten minute walk from colussem and the vatican. Its located on the main shopping street so its quite busy! Our room was beautifully decorated, very clean, good air conditioning, we were very impressed. Staff were friendly and helpful. I agree with other reviews that the lift is small, you have to walk through a courtyard and you cant avoid taking some stairs to get to your room but we did not see any of this as a negative, it was a great place to stay and we would definitely recommend it!!

Helpful?
Thank Finlay55
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Europe
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

First, it's not really a hotel, it seems to me its a floor on a shared 'palazzo' building, so your taxi won't know it or find it, ( ask for via dei convertite, had a tiny tiny room! No breakfast no communal space, ie its not really a hotel, bathroom in 221 was re modelled recently as we had no problems with any of the amenities, shower good if a bit narrow, but clean, room cleaned, towels replaced daily etc etc

See my other reviews for hotels in Rome, this was by far most central but I didn't like it as much as the Others.

Room Tip: 221 was a small but quiet room, not on street but that meant no view except other rooves and walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveYourLibrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed a couple of night in such a beatifull city that we forgot the hotel's flaws. The hotel is located really close to "Piazza di Spagna" and is at walking distance from all the main and famous Rome's attractions. The room that they gave us was very small and dark. Generally speaking, the room and the bathroom were clean except for the blanket showing the signs of aging. Still I do not understand why in Italy the use of duvet is so rare, it would be much more hygenic. Apart from that, at the reception are very helpful and friendly, always willing to give directions on where to go and where to eat. Little gem is the free wifi without limits. Breakfast is not provided by the hotel but it is possible to have it in a bar a fews steps away from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Its just around the corner from Via del Corso, and 3 min walk from taxi stop, the metro station is 15 min walk. But be carful, first, this is not an hotel its just a floor in an old building. Second, rooms are not well maintained, bathroom fixtures are not all functioning properly, but its clean. Third, its noisy. To reach the reception you have to go through a big building door to a court then to an old building, go up in a very tight elevator then take like 12 steps down and finally there is your reception! Honestly it wasn't as expected especially that i think its overpriced. The only good thing is that the location is convenient but again there are many many hotels around with same location maybe better. And at the end maybe clean and well located is what i care the most for in Rome since i stay at the hotel for a few hours daily, so thats why i overcome all the bad sides of this hotel since i was already there. Rome is a captivating city, and you will always love to stay out wandering in its beautiful streets.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saw-Iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed 5 nights, paid cash for discounted junior suit, totally worth it! When booking our accommodation I wanted a balcony in our rooms, which is pretty hard to come by, although it was small, it served its purpose for our morning coffee, with awesome views of via del corsa.
Other reviews are right, hotel is shared with 3 others and local family, however none of which bothered us. No breakfast or tea coffee making facilities, but cafe is literally an elevator ride away.
Bed was a bit hard for my liking but room was spotless, location perfect, we walked everywhere, except when going to the Vatican, (Spagna metro is 3 blocks away)
Bit hard to find, so keep your eyes on the door buzzers, this must be fairly standard, as we later stayed on the Vatican side of town before we flew out and it was the same there. Overall I would definitely stay again, great value in the centre of the historical city!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawsy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I will start with the positives, this hotel is central, clean and the staff are ok. However the main reason for my low rating of this hotel is not the hotel itself, it is their neighbours. The set up of this hotel is quite different to places I have stayed in before. There are two parts, one elevator takes you to receptions, multiple, there are from what I could tell at least three different hotels on the property and also individuals living in their own apartments. The other elevator takes you to the rooms. We stayed on level four, where about a dozen other rooms are and also a family living in their own apartment. This family is rude, loud and generally unfriendly. We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and each night they had loud arguments at all hours and felt the need to play extremely loud music between the hours of 11pm to 2am. The hotel staff would not assist, saying we would need to take care of it ourselves. The family only turned the music up louder when we knocked on their door. Please do not stay here, it was a horrible experience and I do not want anyone else to have to go through what we have been through.

Room Tip: Stay clear of the forth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie_hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel San Silvestro
Hotel San Silvestro
#518 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Colonna
City Hotel
City Hotel
#550 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#601 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Parlamento
Hotel Parlamento
#195 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#336 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel 939
Hotel 939
#845 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Montecitorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Montecitorio

Property: Residenza Montecitorio
Address: Via delle Convertite 5, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Montecitorio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The precious elegance of the environments and his rooms, the exclusive design of the furnishes, the adopt technological solutions (digital TV to the plasma 46' and playpen shower vertical hydro massage in all the rooms), they are alone some of the characteristics of this new structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza Montecitorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecitorio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing