We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming city hotel right in the center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residenza Montecitorio
Ranked #605 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 3 December 2013

One of the best hotels in Rome if you are looking to stay right in the center. The best rooms are on the 4th floor with balconies overlooking Piazza Venezia and Piazza Popolo. Very clean and charming. Rooms are small though and you may hear the city noise.

Room Tip: make sure to book a superior room or suite on the 4th floor - 405, 406 are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria16802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Last month I spent my honeymoon there with my hausband because he made me a surprise.
We spent a few days in this ugly and unconfortable hotel and I wish I could have another honeymoon since that was so orrible.We have felt so miserable and unhappy in a such small room (not clean) without a window.
We had problem from the beginning just to find it and once we did we felt like:what is this??
It looks like one of those we find on the highway for 30 $$$$.
The room was little, no window, no service, and problems with the bathroom.
We told the receptionist who did not even care much about us.
This was our honey moon.
We did not tell them cuz I don't think there is a need just to get a normal service.
But this place is not normal.........
Even speaking in english w the receptionist was a problem.
No hair drier and no breakfast.
The night. We could not even sleep well cuz of too much noise from the road.
This miserable hotel is located on the third floor of an old building in the centre of Rome so that you can hear all the noises, also from the other rooms.
The next day we found the towels in the bathroom wich were dirty.
I advice everybody not to go there to spend vacations.

Room Tip: Pich up another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Although we wanted to stay close to the attractions in Rome, we also were on a fixed low budget. I discovered this hotel and originally discounted it. I was considering staying in hotels close to the subway so we could travel in to Rome each day then I reconsidered and booked Hotel Montecitorio. When we arrived it was night time and we were tired. The entrance way is a large indoor courtyard and there was a small sign indicating the reception was on the third floor. We got in a very small elevator and when we arrived on the third floor we were sent back down to the ground level and directed to take an even smaller elevator (only fits on person and one suitcase at a time). This elevator is at the back of the courtyard and to the right, tucked away out of sight. We finally found reception and a very nice staff member who signed us in. He then told us we had to go back to the main floor and take the other elevator to our room. At this point I objected but he assured us we would have a lovely room. We complied and were pleased when finally we found our room. It was very small but had everything we needed including a small balcony! And the best part of it was that it was right in the heart of Rome. We were able to walk to the Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, Panthenon, Spanish Steps and more. We had some problems with the wifi the first night but got it sorted out in the morning. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful although we did not see much of them because of our separate location. If you want to be in central Rome, close to the attractions and great restaurants, and are on a tight budget, consider this hotel.

Room Tip: Check if you'll be in the main 3rd floor location or in the 5th floor annex. I don't know ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AudVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location in Rome, close to lots of sites and walking distance to the metro. Unfortunately the advertising was misleading when it came to free wifi everywhere in the hotel, however we had to stand in the hallway or lobby to access that wifi. There is lift between floors, so you will have to lug your suitcases up and down flights of stairs. Our room had no window which made it very dark and the bed was hard. We asked the receptionist if we could borrow a pen to sign something and they said no which was not very nice, we had to run out at 11pm to go buy a pen. Pick a different hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JSM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights this week. Rome is a tricky city, and you are guaranteed to be exhausted by the time you get back to the hotel in the evening. Our bed was so terribly uncomfortable we spent the days completely exhausted with achey backs. We are young and great at sleeping. We can sleep anywhere! This hotel really made it difficult for us to enjoy the city. Our first evening it was pouring rain, and when we buzzed the hotel from the front door, they wouldn't let us in! I was so frustrated with this. The man working the door at that time was so rude.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn_Sue_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We really enjoyed this Hotel. Small-yes. Hard to Find-yes. But Close to everything and the people at the desk were very helpful! It was clean and quiet and just what we needed.

Close to great restaurants, minutes from the Trevi Fountain and other attractions.

Room Tip: We had room 26. Its red and was beautiful! No view but it was quiet. *Door to hotel is hard to fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 08312013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was first of all hard to find - there's a buzzer from the street and they let you into a compound with different offices/hotels in it
Honestly , it was just average but the location is great and we didn't want to spend more than $130-150 cad on a hotel per night - it was walking distance to most attractions and restaurant -termini station was about 10
Min walk and the only time we took the subway was to go to the coliseum and and Vatican City...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trish184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Elite Hotel
#337 of 1,271 in Rome
156 reviews
Colonna
Hotel San Silvestro
Hotel San Silvestro
#681 of 1,271 in Rome
221 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#652 of 1,271 in Rome
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel 939
Hotel 939
#969 of 1,271 in Rome
173 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Azzurra
Hotel Azzurra
#532 of 1,271 in Rome
275 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#156 of 1,271 in Rome
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Montecitorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Montecitorio

Address: Via delle Convertite 5, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £43 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Montecitorio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The precious elegance of the environments and his rooms, the exclusive design of the furnishes, the adopt technological solutions (digital TV to the plasma 46' and playpen shower vertical hydro massage in all the rooms), they are alone some of the characteristics of this new structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza Montecitorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecitorio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing