We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRENDOUS!!”
Review of Arcadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arcadia Hotel
Ranked #1,131 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 5 November 2013

As others seemed to have experienced, moved to another hotel as they claimed to have taken on a 'large party' and had no rooms? The next day found out they do this to spread money to their partner hotels (which were unfortunately worse than this) and only 4 other guests were in the hotel!. Very dirty hotel in the middle of a 'rough' neighborhood. All they have for breakfast is croissants covered in icing? no joke!! And cold hard toast with no spread, It was foul! Staff were very rude, rooms have a view of derelict tower-blocks if you can see threw the metal cages, and you will be woken up by anyone else on your floor using the epicly load showers! It is cheap and I was in no way expecting 5*, and im not a fussy person, however no one like to be ripped off and lied to... disgraceful!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel staff were rude, they moved us to another hotel on our first night because they had no rooms even though I had payed for this hotel., apparently they do this a lot according to other guests in the hotel. When I complained with the travel company the hotel lied about everything.

I wouldn't waste your money on this place

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Chloe517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked this hotel a year in advance and having read the reviews online were quite confident we had made the right choice. How right we were. The staff was helpful and very friendly and our room immaculate. There was a small fridge in our room which we stocked up with drinks and food bought from the Pam Supermarket literally right behind the hotel. Arcadia Hotel might seem quite far from the center of Rome but there is a bus stop just across the road which takes you to the train station and barely half an hour later you are at Termini station. Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TonydeFreitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

It is a fairly basic hotel and not close to inner city Rome, as we thought but it actually turned out to be quite nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. the bus service to the metro was really easy, once we had gone on our first trip and the train service was easy. They didn't have coffee/tea making facilities in the room, which I certainly like in any hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Lorel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Having read reviews prior to booking I thought the price seemed reasonable for what you get. A few days before departing my fiancé made the mistake of reading the most recent review. On arrival I'm not going to lie, the bus driver pointed and said "that's hotel arcadia" and my fiancé and I were VERY concerned as the view from the bus stop makes the place look less than favourable. However, I think this hotel is a prime example of looks being deceiving.

We went in and the reception area is lovely. Not one hotel staff member was rude and they were very prompt at advising us of where to go how to get there etc. they did their utmost to help us and this is what makes me put excellent.

The room was lovely and cool, clearly some reviewers are not able to find the air con if their room was so stifling. Additionally the blinds were down when we arrived and the window/door to the balcony was ajar so this helped to cool things down and this is how we would leave the room daily to ensure it was cool when we got back - and it always was!

As for the continental breakfast it is like most. It's basic but more than enough and there are a few choices. I saw a couple bring in their own breakfast purchased (probably cheaply too) from the "Pam" store which is only a minute walk away so that's an option for any fussy eaters as milk coffee tea etc is still supplied.

The distance from the city centre really wasn't an issue with the fantastic transport links. We caught a bus to anagnina from the airports then caught the 507 bus which stops right opposite the hotel. This was only €1.20 a lot cheaper than UK prices! Then to get to the centre the 507 (which is every 15 minutes - fantastic!) can be caught (just ensure it says anagnina MA on it, which the hotel staff advised us of). The ticket for this can be purchased from the hotel and was €1.50. This lasts 100 minutes and can then be used on the anagnina metro just activate it on the yellow ticket machine on the bus. If you need to change lines at termini to get to your destination then we found no need for another ticket (e.g. To the coliseum on another line) which is great. To return to arcadia just get on the metro to anagnina and them catch the 507.

All in all the hotel is great value for money with fantastic staff. My fiancé and I were very happy we chose to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kayleigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and I have to admit this has got to be the worst hotel we've had the misfortune to stay in. To set things clear, the distance from the city is about 40 minutes which is okay during the day, however I would not recommend making the commute during the night as it is likely that you will be harassed by youths on the shuttle bus back to the hotel, especially if they are aware you are tourists. In regards to the actual hotel it is VERY basic and bog standard, however we weren't expecting much after reading previous reviews. During the summer the room in which we stayed in could be likened to a sauna. The bathroom floor was covered in ants, however the maid did resolve this, once we mentioned it to her. Absolutely terrible though, there is no air conditioning or even a fan, which means you are drenched in sweat before you leave the hotel room. The hotel staff were no better, when you asked them a simple question such as 'where is the nearest shop to buy daily metro tickets?', we were under the presumption that we had burdened them with a horrendous task by their facial expressions and mannerisms. In conclusion I would definitely urge you not to stay at this hotel and pay a little extra to stay in a hotel within the city, with better amenities..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Giovanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Good value for money. Cheap but far away from city center (40 minutes, mixture of bus and metro). Moderate buffet breakfast. 24 hour reception. Close to a supermarket and bus stop which are a few minutes walk away. Our double bed was two single beds put together.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
2.2 mi away
Palacavicchi Hotel
Palacavicchi Hotel
#1,069 of 1,271 in Rome
451 reviews
8.3 mi away
B&B Trastevere Resort
B&B Trastevere Resort
#937 of 1,271 in Rome
100 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Giulietta e Romeo
Hotel Giulietta e Romeo
#896 of 1,271 in Rome
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Meeting Hotel
Meeting Hotel
#582 of 1,271 in Rome
88 reviews
12.7 mi away
Motel Boomerang
Motel Boomerang
#721 of 1,271 in Rome
38 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
#607 of 1,271 in Rome
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel

Address: Via Campo Romano 75 | Grande Raccordo Anulare area, 00173 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,131 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £39 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing