We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the money!”
Review of Lilliput Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilliput Hostel
Ranked #557 of 1,100 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“On the money!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

For two students travelling we didn't expect much from hostel accommodation, but Lilliput had the comfiest beds and best running shower we'd had in our month travelling Europe.

The owners are lovely and so helpful, rooms cleaned daily with fresh sheets, towels and food. Plus the location is right next to Termini station and so easy to walk everywhere.

Totally recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    24
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
21
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This is a mini hostel transformed from an apartment, and offers spacious rooms with well-equipped common facilities. It is advised to call the owners before arrival, because it is easy to miss and there is no reception. Breakfast is dry junk food, I did not eat it. My rating reflects two problems we faced at our arrival. The first was that the wifi did not work, altough it was pointed out on the booking site. Secondly, despite our request, we got a double bed with a single sheet. To make it unacceptable, the managger refused to provide a second one...

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Located close to the main station in Rome this lovely little hostel is the ground floor of a block of flats. I had emailed the owner the time of our arrival so he was waiting for us when we arrived. He was very friendly and told us how to get around, what to see. The room and shared bathroom were very clean. It was very quiet considering we were staying in the middle of a city. There was a little kitchen that we could use, the oven didn't work but we didn't go to Italy to cook our own food, facilities for tea and coffee in the morning was all we needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braila, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I was in Lilliput Hostel several times and I appreciate especially the sensation of intimity that it offers.
It is extremely close to the main railway station in Rome (a very important thing, if you know what means the frequent strikes in the public transport in Rome), very close to nice area of shopping, restaurants and interresting monuments (like Victor Emmanuele Square or Santa Maria Maggiore Church) and close to the main touristical area of Roma (20 min. walk to Colosseum). The area is safe, despite the aspect that you can find usually around the touristical railway station.
The building has a small green interior yard and, despite the position, is quiet and clean.

But especially the staff is friendly and very helpful. I choose this hostel (from many other around) because any time that I tryed to find a solution for my staying in Roma the staff were very cooperant and supportive and they helped me offering different versions that made me able to choose.
It is excellent for a family or for a group of friends, that can rent a small apartment, with kitchenette! The breakfast is "typical Italian" (some cakes and juice, coffee, tea) but, despite the fact that I don't like the "Italian breakfasts", it was quite good and enough for the morning. If you stay more days you can buy other things for a breakfast from a small shop very close, keep in the fridge and cook.

In conclusion: I recommend this hostel to any person of group who want to visit Roma relaxed and comfortable and not looking for lux! The price are quite wonderful for Roma (which, in fact, is an expensive town, especially in accomodation services, as a very touristical town).

Room Tip: Excellent for families of group of friends looking for a small, quiet, comfortable and not expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Se had some amazing days in this small hotel. Its very central and is close by 5-10 min from a very beautiful known church, Colosseum and Forum, and right next to The main trainstation. It is easy to get around and it's right amongst grocery and restaurants. The host on the hotel was also very helpful and gave us a lot of advice on everything from really good true Italian restaurants, nice areas, attractions, to find way a.s.o. and he was always friendly.

It can clearly be regimented for also couples, if you just need a small and cosy, central and yet cheap stay for a small trip away. It's not luxury or that big, but great for a long weekend away with good weather outside.

A minus for us was thou, that it wasn't really breakfast included since it was only a small basket in the room with two pieces of packed food and a small juice. So you must be aware of having to by some yourself. Otherwise it was an all in all amazing stay !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Shocking service. There is actually no reception, after eventually finding the place (a block of flats inside a gated complex, with a little sign on the gate amongst other signs )when you are greater with a phone number to ring. Like most travellers arriving in a new country, we did not have a cell phone to phone, but there is a phone both right next to the gate...but after inserting 2euro into the phone and dialling the number, it seems it is for international calls only, and cannot be used for local calls. Asking around, we were told there is a phone shop down the street, but when I phoned the number proved, there was no reply! Even the manager of the store tried for me, no reply. We couldn't get into the gate, left outside on the footpath. After waiting for a while, eventually a man, I assume was the manager arrived, he was checking to see if we had arrived yet, told us he was surprised there was no reply to the phone, but this is obviously the normal as when I tried the next day to phone, (as the 3 rooms were sharing 1bathroom, we had run out of toilet paper, and the cleaner/receptionist person who was supposed to come to clean, had not shown up) ...we found out later that when she has a day off there is no servicing of the rooms, so you just cannot use the facilities!
The rooms/beds however are roomy and clean. The breakfast is a dry horrible packaged croissant, and a tart left in the room in a basket (but not on the cleaner/receptionist's day off!). very noisy both from adjoining rooms and an amazing amount of street noise. No air conditioning, the window opens onto the street, where the traffic and people are shouting until a respite at around 1.30am until 5am. I have stayed in hostels, and do not expect 5 star, or even 2 star, but this one is well below any rating.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qawra, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hostel was so great. Firstly, the location was great, just 3 minutes away from termini train station and bus station and around 15 ,minutes walk from colloseum and Romes main attractions. Secondly, the rooms are nicely decorated and finally the staff are very friendly and helpfull. I would reccomend this hostel to anyone who wants to go to rome!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#371 of 1,258 in Rome
415 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,144 of 3,669 in Rome
90 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,258 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#451 of 1,258 in Rome
290 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Lilliput Hostel

Property: Lilliput Hostel
Address: Via Principe Amedeo No. 94, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #557 of 1,100 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lilliput Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing