We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean, above all 3 minutes away from Termini station.”
Review of Pensione Giamaica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pensione Giamaica
Ranked #724 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at this accommodation for 1 night , I can firmly say I had a great time .
I would start to talk about the location, the reason why I chose it in fact is just 300 meters away from the Roma Termini train station just 3 minutes walk away, so it is very convenient for getting around the city but especially for those arriving in Rome by train .
This accommodation is located inside a building was an ideal and cheap place to stay , clean and humble with a good free wifi connection .
The staff greeted us very warmly , giving us valuable advice on how to visit the city and providing maps and whatnot ..
Mine was a double room, large and well lit by a large window that overlooked the courtyard , we had the sink in the room but the bathroom was shared on the corridor.
The breakfast was not there and I do not even need that but it was not a problem, at this price I can not complain .
One thing is for sure, if I return to Rome one day I decide to stay here again .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magellano81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

If you are looking for a centrally located, cheap and simple place to sleep in, Pensione Giamaica is a good choice! The room was spacious, clean and there was a sink and a mirror which was nice since the bathrooms were shared. The room was simply decorated with framed red art posters on green walls. Furniture brought in mind an old hospital. Due to the minimalist decor the room wasn't very cozy but it didn't matter since we were primarily looking for a cheap and clean place to sleep in.

There are six rooms (I think) and three bathrooms so sharing them with others was ok. Others have been complaning about missing shower curtains. They still do not exist so the bathroom floors were often wet.

The owners were nice people and the overall experience of this hotel was very good. Excellent value for money in a big city like Rome!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerttuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Visited here at the end of 2009 on a backpacking trip around Europe with a friend. The price is unbeatable for the location, very central - 2mins from the main train and bus terminal, 10 mins to the colosseum, 15 mins to the Spanish steps.
We arrived at about 9am on a night train, the Signora who runs this place (doesn't speak any English) let us in to drop off our bags, let us take a shower and cooked us some breakfast! Very nice!
Between my broken Italian and her hand gestures she explained the best way to all the sites, and lent us hidden money pouches to wear.
This place does need some work doing to it, and there is a feel that you are just stopping in her front room, but we had great service and good stay there all in all.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed here a long time ago, in October, 2003 (not 2010). It was very cheap, 25 euros plus 2 for breakfast, which was quite good (coffee, juice, 2 big loaves of bread, jam, butter and Nutella). Signora Silvia, the nice old owner, even added a piece of fruit, just for me, when I told her I was traveling on a very tight budget. The room was simple, without bathroom. It´s on an old building, really close to Stazione Termini. Maybe all neighbourhoods around train sations aren´t the prettiest, but I felt more confortable walking during daytime. Excellent value, I recomended it to friends, that went, and liked it too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ile_de_la_cite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We came across this hotel just by chance and would highly recommend it for travellers on a budget. The quirky owner is a really nice man with a kind heart. He speaks good english and is happy to help out whenever you need it. The rooms are big and airy and the bathrooms clean and functional. If you want to experience an authentic italian family run place then stay here. We would definately go back and this is largely due to the kind owner.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry_and_Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

-The Church bell rings constantly around 6am.
-The beds are extremely uncomfortablle.
-The customer service is the worst I have ever come by.
-The staff is not helpful with directions, sites, or anything concerning our stay.
-The bathrooms were really dirty, not messy, but dirty.
-If you are expecting internet, don't.
-Make sure that you make it on time. Our plane had been late due to a security issue with a person on the plane. We called in advance and they said if we were one minute late they would cancel our reservation. Even though they live at the place and could have let us in one minute later.
-The area is not safe at night. Make sure you have someone with you. The place is on the fourth floor and you walk up very dark stairs at night.
-Honestly, the list goes on and on. We backpacked for 3 weeks and absolutely loved everywhere we stayed but this place was a nightmare. I am not usually unhappy with service but this was beyond poor. Spend the extra money and go somewhere else. I saw the mixed reviews of the place on here and thought we would give it a try; it was NOT worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amsterduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I read the mixed reviews so was a bit apprehensive, but with the good price I decided to go for it and stay there.
My partner and I stayed there for 4 nights. It was clean, had a good location right by Termini train station and just around the block from an internet place.
The mother and her son (I think) were very very nice, helpful.
I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLREdmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bixio Hotel
Bixio Hotel
#768 of 1,271 in Rome
66 reviews
B&B Trastevere Resort
#961 of 1,271 in Rome
99 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#856 of 1,271 in Rome
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#667 of 1,271 in Rome
143 reviews
Tempio di Apollo Hotel
#874 of 1,271 in Rome
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Giamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Giamaica

Address: Via Magenta 13, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #724 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £34 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pensione Giamaica 1*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Pensione Giamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Giamaica Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing