We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but clean and comfortable”
Review of Pensione Giamaica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pensione Giamaica
Ranked #678 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple but clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My friend and I stayed 2 nights in a clean, spacious room. The furnishings were pretty simple but had everything you may need including a cupboard, towel and sink! The shared bathrooms were also clean and there were 3 total for just a few rooms meaning you never had to wait. Location is also great for getting to the train station (where loads of buses around the city leave from) but as such it isn't located that near the tourist attractions and restaurants. They let us keep our luggage there for free until 1 the day we left which worked for us as we had an afternoon train but may not work so well for an evening departure. Overall it wasn't anything too special but I would be happy to return especially if only staying in Rome for a night or two.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y0ungtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
16
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is situated near the main train station which links with both metro lines so it is easy to get around. The shower was unfortunately in a wet room so it wasn't very nice as everything got wet even though this could easily be solved by a shower curtain. There is a fridge if you want to store food but no plates or cutlery etc. The staff were friendly and helped us find our way. This place is great for a short stay if you want to be near the station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwlongwayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We got everything whats we respecting - quiet, cheap and clean place near train station and centrum of Rome with helpfull owner. We are very happy and defitely we come back. Thank you Guys for nice time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank D Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you found this place the same way we did, (by searching for the cheapest accomodations closest to the train station) then you really can't be disappointed. The gentleman at the front desk was amicable, and the room was clean with comfortable beds. The lack of shower curtains in the bathroom was a bit off-putting at first, but it's really not the end of the world. For the price this is a great option if you're staying in Rome.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_Weiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Exceeded my expectations, very clean, shared bathrooms. The room was not too big, but it was very clean and the window was big, it had a mirror and sink, so you can brush your teeth, etc. without leaving the room. It is very near to Termini Station, we had no problem walking down with huge suitcases. The owner/reception desk was most kind to provide us with dishes, glasses and cutlery since we got some food from the supermarket accross the main road and we forgot our travel kit at home. The towels are small and get change every 2 days, so if you have your own towel is much better. We had a nice stay and reasonable price for Rome. Very kind people, and what you expect a good night sleep, very good shower and super clean rooms plus perfect location for the two subway lines.

Room Tip: A rear room with a window has plenty view of the day, light as well and it is less noisy. I really l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Aguamarina04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#812 of 1,256 in Rome
120 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#444 of 1,256 in Rome
289 reviews
Esquilino
Roma INN 2000
Roma INN 2000
#1,071 of 1,256 in Rome
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Locanda Otello
Locanda Otello
#1,057 of 1,256 in Rome
53 reviews
Esquilino
Termini Accommodation
Termini Accommodation
#833 of 1,256 in Rome
68 reviews
Esquilino
Bixio Hotel
Bixio Hotel
#809 of 1,256 in Rome
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Giamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Giamaica

Property: Pensione Giamaica
Address: Via Magenta 13, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Pensione Giamaica 1*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Pensione Giamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Giamaica Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing