We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the so called "bungalow"!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Camping Village Roma
Ranked #45 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid the so called "bungalow"!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Not even taking into account that we booked a double bedroom and got bunk beds, what they call a bungalow is really a Big plastified cardboard box that only block the sight. You can hear everything : people from outside or in the next bungalow seem to be in there with you (you can even hear them pee, very clearly) the non isolation goes with it too, so it is freezing at night, and the condensation makes the walls wet.
The restaurant was understaffed and the food, probably from frozen origine, was quite tasteless.

We had such a bad experience that while in bed the first night, we decided to book something else for the next day and got a last minute booking (for not that much more expensive that the camping) that was right in the center !
So my advice to you, if you are on a budget like we were: avoid this place and wait for last minute offers! we ended up in an extraordinary hotel at -71% of normal price, and being in the center completely changes your journey, Rome at night is so beautiful!

Room Tip: if you are on a budget like we were: avoid this place and wait for last minute offers! we ended up i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecile j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    568
    301
    108
    93
See reviews for
332
433
67
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

These were fairly decent cabins where only two shared a room and you had your own bathroom too, so that was really good. However, they were FREEZING cold. Loads of us had problems with our air con/heating units and slept with layers and layers of clothes on. People got sick after staying here too as the condensation made everything damp and cold. It is also really far out of the city centre so don't stay here if you want a central location! Otherwise the facilities were good, and the bar had really decent happy hours and good food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scully1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

if I had my time again I would go for a Chalet rather than a Bungalow as the bungalows are way too small for 3 people but Camping Village Roma is a safe bet for Accomodation. The facility has a Restaurant, supermarket, shuttles, tours etc. only bad parts are: 1. They need a shuttle for your luggage from the bottom (admin) to the top and 2. The WIFI is TERRIBLE!!!! Too many people accessing the network. But for convenience and safety you can't go wrong :)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It's in a good location, found it very easy to get to! You could have fun by just staying there, let alone visiting Roma. It's more suited for the traveller. The restaurant was good. Would reccommend it! The pool was also good!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I went on a road trip with 3 friends, and Camping Village Roma was our first stop. We spent two nights there in our motorhome, and the site was very good. The staff were all excellent, and the quality of the amenities was the best we had all through the trip.

Would recommend to friends and family who planned on visiting Rome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamOC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This place is great for the travellers who are watching their pennies and don't want to spend all their hard earned dollars on accommodation and hotel food. The convenience of cooking your own meals is a big plus (if you hire a chalet). The accommodation was clean, operational and functional. The hot water took a while to come through and you just have to be patient. It was chilly during the night and early morning so the heater got a work out and it was pleasant to sleep with the heater on. Having the restaurant and bar was great also for a wind down at the end of the day. The restaurant and bar staff are friendly and like to have a laugh with you. It can cater for large groups and is a very busy spot. The transport was very simple with bus pick ups straight out the front. You can purchase your tickets from the machine or the reception and having an ATM was also very convenient. The grocery store is conveniently located across the road and we picked up supplies each afternoon we came home so nothing is out of the way. There is also a shop at the site which was great if you required little things.

We would love to return with a bigger group as it is affordable for everyone. The reception area is very busy and patience is required because of the large groups who book in and out. Our chalet was located in the back corner which was extremely quiet during the night and morning so we got a good nights sleep.

If you had a family with small children, this would be the perfect accommodation because of the large areas they can play and run around outside without disturbing anyone. If you want complete privacy...this may not be the place for you unless you request a room that is isolated from most of the area (like the back corners)

The beds are not 5 star and it is unrealistic to think otherwise but it is a comfy place to rest your head at the end of the day, which is all we required. Unfortunately the pool was not operational during our visit as we would have enjoyed relaxing beside the pool. Upon check out they held our bags for us until our flight and we didn't have to drag our luggage around Rome. We had a great stay and would stay there again if we visit Italy.

Room Tip: If you want a little more room and cook your own meals, I would hire the chalets. If you want a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozzie-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Visited with friends for the Six Nations Italy v England match, and stayed 5 nights. We chose this site as it meant we could stay far longer in Rome than a hotel budget would have allowed. For the money we couldn't have asked for more.

Restaurant and bar on site was great, not sure why anyone would say any different, the staff when we were there were really friendly. Have to be honest we weren't expecting great things but were very pleasantly surprised!

We booked a chalet, good size space and facilities. No kettle by the way and worth a mention there's no washing up liquid, cloths or tea towels, might pay to make a little room in your luggage to save a few euros on arrival. We spent around €3 getting the stuff from the supermarket, so not going to break the budget!

During the time we were there it was a very popular time for international student visits. They and their teachers were pretty noisy in the mornings and with the coach park next door to our chalet it wasn't the nicest wake up call but hey we survived.

Transport in to Rome was easy once you'd got the hang of the bus routes and their timings. We had just about nailed it on our last day. It took us around 35 mins to get to the Vatican and around 50 mins and 2 buses to get to the centre of Rome. Watch the lack of buses on Sundays though. They'll get you to Cornelia but not much further, we just grabbed a taxi from there to Panorama supermarket for €7.50, may be different in high season.

Shuttle bus to and from the airport whilst a little costly was worthwhile in our opinion, the pick up times are a little limiting but nothing to complain about. Book 2 days ahead though by dropping them an email.

Basically to sum up, perfect for the purpose of our trip and we would (and have) recommend, just remember this is value for money stuff and not high end stuff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#387 of 1,256 in Rome
408 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#242 of 1,256 in Rome
517 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#267 of 1,256 in Rome
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camping Village Fabulous
#17 of 1,093 in Rome
847 reviews
Camping Tiber
#121 of 1,093 in Rome
254 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,226 of 3,643 in Rome
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Village Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Village Roma

Property: Camping Village Roma
Address: Via Aurelia, 831, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Camping Village Roma 2*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camping Village Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Village Roma Hotel Rome
Plus Camping Roma Rome
Camping Roma
Plus Camping Roma Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing