We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camping Village Roma
Ranked #35 of 1,148 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed 2 nights in a cabin and were pleasantly suprised as expected the worst based on other campgrounds in Italy. Our cabin was spacious, clean and quiet (requested a quiet spot). Reception was well-staffed, friendly and efficient perhpas due to the fact they also have an excellent information centre where you can use internet, store luggage for a very reasonable price, and ask all your travel questions. The bar and restaurant services were fine and accepted cash as long as you also produced your campcard. Only downside is the rather grim location 45 minutes by metro & bus outside Rome. If you can avoid looking outside the campground you will be fine!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rottiefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2009

This was clearly the best camping village we stayed at on our trip, the bungalows with ensuite and A/C were luxury for the price and a godsend in the hot weather after staying at other camp sites. The location is abit out the way but two buses stop every 20mins or so directly outside the campsite, both taking you to the metro where you can access all the main attractions of rome. The pool was clean and the pool bar was very lively maybe abit pricey for snacks etc.. Another good thing about the campsite is there is a big supermarket across the road which comes in handy for just about everything! All in all a great experience well worth it for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Camping Roma is value for money in Rome. The services provided by the camp site are really good (except the pizza). Great laundry, supermarket across the road, internet room, bar, mini market.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. Great atmosphere. The perfect place to base yourself whilst in Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seajasper81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Camping in Rome sounds strange, but our stay was considerably pleasant (especially for the price). Although a bit small, our cabin had 1 twin, 1 bunk, and an ensuite bathroom. The price ended up being about 50 euros for 2 people per night. Towels are 1.50 euros extra. The location is about 20 minutes away from the city center with a bus ride and a transfer onto the metro. It is easy to reach all the main sites using public transportation. They provide you with a cheesy map when you check in, but if you ask the staff at the information center for a tourist map, they'll give you a better one that's easier to read. There's one computer that is free for guests to use (although there's usually a wait), free wi-fi, a swimming pool, a grocery store, a restaurant, and a bar if you feel like mingling with other guests at night. Overall, if you're on a tight budget, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodWineYogaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here in the last week of December 2008. We were a little skeptical at first as it seemed a little far away from the city centre and attractions, however there is a bus stop at the foot of the driveway with a bus to a subway station every 15 mins, plus they have a shuttle bus you book through the staff at the village to the Vatican for just 3 Euro per person!
The staff here were incredibly helpful and could answer any and all of our questions, the village also has a bunch of really handy amenities such as its own bar, restaurant, laundry, huge (and reasonably priced) internet café, pool, etc. Everything you could need and so convenient!
Oh and Panorama, a grocery/discount department store is directly across the road. We LOVED this place it has amazing food so definitely check it out!
The rooms themselves were tiny but very modern and clean. Great but small bathroom with a good shower. We stayed in winter so didn’t need air conditioning but the room also had a fridge and a/c unit, so that could be handy in summer.
One thing that made this place charming is all the little cats running around everywhere! Particularly the black one that lives around the internet room. Overall, this was a wonderful place to stay, especially given the service and the price. We will go back again for sure next time in Rome!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Brigitta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Didnt know what to expect from the camping village but it was excellent. We booked a 'cabin' which had an ensuite, as we went in September it was very warm and although there was a fan we found it very hot so got a room with air conditoning and a fridge for just 5 euros more a night. The cabins are like static bungalows, they are very clean, the beds are comfy and come with an ensuite with a shower. It is like a hotel room, also has lamps and a desk. I believe the 'chalets' also have kitchens. Travelling into Rome is easy, there is a bus right outside the village which takes you to a metro stop and then you get on the metro - takes about 25 mins to get into central Rome and costs 1 euro. There is also a huge supermarket opposite the camping village which is good for food and drink. The resturant is great, you can get pizza and pasta and take-out and is of good quality and very well priced, much better food then you'd expect from a camping village - it is pratically a stand-alone resturant. We found after a long day sightseeing it was nice and cheap to eat at the campsite and go to the pool bar which also does food. There are lots of parties and an outdoor cinema which is awesome, a huge screen and projector and a movie every night. The staff are all friendly and speak english and there are lockers at reception to put valuables in. We couldnt recommend it highly enough, it wasnt too loud and felt safe, its a huge beautiful site and for the price you cant beat it.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank charl49412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Me and my boyfriend chose to stay at this campsite because of the high prices of Rome hotels. We also wanted a pool because we had heard Rome is exceedingley hot in August. We had to book a twin room as they did have doubles, but it did have its own bathroom and airconditioning. We had low expectations as I had never been to a campsite before so we were very very happy when I got there to find the room was modern, it had fantastic a/c, the bathroom was spotless, there was a fridge/freezer in the room and we could push the beds together to make a comfortable double. We were even more happy when we got to the pool and saw there was plenty of room for sunbathing, there is a pool bar, a section with games in and an outdoor cinema. We also loved the fact there was a restaurant on site and a supermarket. In fact the place had everything we needed.

It was very easy to get into Rome - you take the bus then the metro which takes about 15 mins or you can use the shuttle bus to the Vatican.

I know people think the prices were exceedingly high but when compared to the centre of Rome it was reasonable and the bars even had happy hours!

Overall I would recommend this to anyone who wants to mix a relaxing holiday with a city break!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Timothy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Domidea Hotel
#202 of 1,269 in Rome
655 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#462 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
Hotel La Genziana
#513 of 1,269 in Rome
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#352 of 1,269 in Rome
429 reviews
Camping Village Fabulous
#18 of 1,148 in Rome
956 reviews
Camping Tiber
#101 of 1,148 in Rome
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Village Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Village Roma

Address: Via Aurelia, 831, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,148 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £14 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Camping Village Roma 2*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping Village Roma is only few minutes from the Vatican, the centre of Rome. It's the perfect location to explore the beauties of the Capital. The resort stretches for about 7 hectares and is complete with outdoor pools and restaurant and a lot of other services form laundry to airport shuttle. A perfect mix of nature, freedom, art and culture, good food and fun! Open all year-round Camping Village Roma offers Superior Bungalow, family accommodation, budget and deluxe bungalow and pitches for tents, campers and caravan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camping Village Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Village Roma Hotel Rome
Plus Camping Roma Rome
Camping Roma
Plus Camping Roma Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing