We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family holiday in Italy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping Village Fabulous

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camping Village Fabulous
Ranked #15 of 1,067 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Family holiday in Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Only our second trip with camping in Europe and used Canvas this time as tje agent. This place is really convenient from fiumicino airport and you dont need a hire car which is a bonus.

Without doubt this place has the most family friendly swimming pool I have ever experienced. With a 2 year old and 5 year old not having to worry as pool is less than 0.5m and made of some sort of padded plastic non slip material no concerns around bashed heads etc. Two good slides and a nice pool bar to 'supervise' from.

Nice woodland location and easy transport links into Rome.

Also very good value for money for accommodation, shops and bars.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RussS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    353
    115
    47
    28
See reviews for
517
113
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
veldhoven
Level Contributor
90 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Very nice camping. near Rome. It's quite a big campsite, but it feels much smaller. It has about 900 pitches. We rented a mobile home from a French company called Homair, and it was located very nice in the shadow. The mobile home had a big wooden terrace with furniture and the best part of it was the shadowroof. The campsite has a small shop, a take away restaurant, and another restaurant, an icecreambar with homemade icecream (yummie and not expensive for what you get, only 2,50 euro for 3 tastes) Two big swimmingpools with enough free daybeds for everybody. There is some entertainment, but it's nicely done, not too much noise to bother people. During our 2 weeks stay there was a "party di sciuma"(schuimparty) for the older kids, which was very very nice too.
At the campsite the is a machine where you can buy tickets for local transport. It's only 1,50 euro and with this ticket you can travel for 100 minuts from/to/in Rome. Easily and with no problems.
The restaurant at the campsite we'd only eat once, because everything went wront with our order. That was a pity, but what we ordered tasted okay. From many people we heard that the orders in the restaurant did not went smoothly.
Wifi is available at the reception for only 5 euro/15 days. You can use the wifi near the restaurants, swimmingpools and icecreambar. The price for the wifi is pretty much ok, and it works most of the time. There is a supermarket, called PIMS at about 1 km away.
Over all this place is a nice place to stay for your trip to Rome. Easily reach to Rome.
The only thing that I did not like was that you had to wear a bracelet from the camping.

Room Tip: choose a place under the pine trees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boschvertrekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiddingfold, Surrey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Well appointed accommodation, modern and very clean. Lovely outdoor deck and very quiet at night time. Excellent pool area with plenty of sun beds and shaded areas and poolside bar/restaurant. Excellent on site shop, very well stocked and reasonably priced. Main restaurant was excellent and Pizza take-away a real plus and all reasonably priced. Very friendly and helpful staff, without exception, and the 'animation team' were great fun if you wanted to take part or not. Great views over the Rome skyline from the pool area. Football, mini golf, go-karts, trampolines and kids play area all included. Wonderful ice cream bar located under the tall pine trees providing welcome shade. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a mobile home with 3 bedrooms and comfortably accommodated 6 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a great holiday here, after staying in Rome for 4 days for some intensive sight seeing. Our accommodation was clean and modern and had a lovely shady terrace. The shop on site is very reasonably priced and very well stocked. The cafes and restaurant are such great value and the take away pizzas, again, well priced and delicious. Great swimming pools. It is busy yes, but there is plenty of space to 'withdraw' for some quiet time. My children, 7, 9 and 14 really liked it here and I did too. Staff was efficient and helpful. The animation team are a real happy bunch, you can take or leave it really. Will consider it for next year's holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Miertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My cousins and I decided to book her after seeing the 'Plus Camping - Fabulous!" Website while we were booking other hostels for our backpacking journey. We were under the impression that it would be filled with backpackers and youth. We were saddened that it wasn't. However, after having a completely terrible experience in Rome we were so grateful that our bungalow trailer and pool were so fantastic! Having the market right on site saved us a ton of money on food, and it was stocked with everything we needed. The only downfalls to the site were: that it was so far out of the city with local transit being a bit of a task to navigate, that it wasn't the youth backpackers vacation hub it was marketed to be, and that the only place to access wifi was the bar/pool and reception. I needed to be in contact with family back home and it was a bit of a pain to sit against the out door reception wall to send messages at night time. Overall it was good, a bit busy, but very nice. It also wasn't too far front the airport, which was great for us!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeKelClee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, having booked a 2 bed/2 bathroom vista plus home through Eurocamp. We were very pleasantly surprised by the accommodation, as it looked it had just been recently renovated. The decor was clean and modern, both bathrooms were very spacious (technically 1 ensuite, 1 shower room, and 1 toilet room) and although the rooms were compact there was plenty of storage. We were a party of 6 (4 adults and 2 children) and never felt cramped. There was also a lovely big veranda, the full length of the home, and also shutters on the windows which helped keep out the light/heat.

The site itself was large, with a supermarket, souvenir shop, restaurant and bar. Thought it's crowning glory were the swimming pools. A normal (adult) type pool, and then the lagoon pool. The children loved the lagoon pool, with it's igloo slide, and another slide at the far end. The big bonus of the lagoon pool, was the non-slip surface so didn't have to worry about little feet falling!
There is a 'baby disco' every night at 9pm which my 2 loved.

Overall, a great site, to which we would definitely return, and recomment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelfastTaddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

So here we are a week in with a week to go at what is really a tale of two views.
Firstly my 10 and 12 year old will tell you this is the best campsite they have ever visited. Why?
They have made a lot of friends, it is a large campsite with go carts and bikes for hire; they are both good swimmers and anyway the deepest pool is only 1.2m with a brilliant second lagoon pool with a fabulous dome slide thing in the middle; (incidentally the photo of the pool area in al of the brochures does do the thing justice - it is a good facility) and consequently we have hardly seen them as they discover their independence.
From our point of view as adults.?
It is very busy especially at weekends with many locals visiting. This is not surprising when you explore the urban area that this site has been placed in because you realise that although it has limitations as a site in terms of service, facilities and cleanliness it is by far the nicest place within ten miles, and this brings me to the title of the review - do your research.
If you are looking to stay on site and visit Rome once or twice either by the direct bus service or by taxi / car, and you can cope with the busy noisy site then this is the place for you. If you were stupid enough ( like we were) to think there would be quaint local Italian villages and towns near by that you could get to without driving through miles of poorly maintained roads with prostitutes openly working at 10 and 11am, worrying about where to park your car ( do not leave anything in your car anywhere, even on the campsite entrance car park!!!) and dodging the graffiti and litter then you are destined be be captive for two weeks.
And what does being captive mean?
On the positive two pools, lots of shade, a good pool side bar, fantastic ice cream, a shop and a restaurant. Plus and surprisingly everything is reasonably priced compared to the south of France.
On the down side the restaurant is limited in menu and quality
The site staff are all so busy they are sullen yet polite. The information centre staff no nothing about the local area. If you have booked with canvass the three reps are pleasant young people who will happily change a lightbulb and clean a caravan but they also no nothing about the local area.the only help we really got in finding places to try and visit was from local Italians or other holiday makers who had already endured the miles of hookers and litter.
Plus ( and now I risk a slap from my wife) the majority of people holidaying here are exponents of badly thought out body art on bodies that frankly we're never meant to be used as any sort of canvass.
All in all I would give this place a five out of ten because the weather has been kind. God knows what we would do if the rain we have on day one or two have continued

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#374 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#287 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#315 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lodi
#259 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#68 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Camping Village Roma
#43 of 1,067 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Village Fabulous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Village Fabulous

Property: Camping Village Fabulous
Address: Via di Malafede 205, 00125 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,067 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Village Fabulous 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping Village Fabulous is situated in a Mediterranean area of about 30 hectares and delightfully shaded by mighty, aged pine trees. Our campsite has a strategic position that permits you to reach the centre of Rome in a short and easy way. The sea locality of Ostia is 10 km away and the ancient ruins and castle of Ostia Antica at only 8 km. It's possible to make use of a frequent bus and metro service. Moreover, we also organize tours directly from our campsite to Rome and Pompei & Naples, as well our Info-point sells tickets for the Open-bus tour in Rome. Our facilities on site: restaurant, bar, pizzeria, ice shop, take away service, mini-market, washing machines & dryers, mini-golf, tennis-, football-, beach volleyball courts, swimming pools, Info-point and internet-point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with CampingAndCo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Camping Village Fabulous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Fabulous Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing