We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and quiet small dorm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Andrew

Hostel Andrew
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Andrew
Ranked #809 of 1,088 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet small dorm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Located in the heart of the city center, it is only 3 minutes walk from from the Roma Termini. The hostel is housed in a old 6-storey building with other two 2-star hotels. Down stair are cafes, restaurants. Near-by there are supermarkets and shops. It has only 3 dorm rooms with totally 11 beds. A kitchen and common room, a bathroom and a toilet. The premise is clean and ample storage spaces and lockers.

This is my second time to stay in this hostel. The kitchen and bathroom are newly refurnished.

Room Tip: If you pay a few more Euros you may stay in a two or three beds dorm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lui w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I got in on a late flight and needed to stay somewhere near Termini. I found the location no problem and was happy to have read the other reviews because there is no Hostel Andrew desk - you check in at Hotel Collaro. I had booked ahead but I was a bit earlier than expected and noone was at the desk when I arrived. Some combination of waiting a few minutes, knocking and phoning resulted in service, however, and the man was quite accomodating. I stayed in a 6-bed dorm, the bed was clean and quite comfortable, I was also provided clean sheets. The only real problem was the bed was a bit squeaky which made me feel like a jerk everytime I had to roll over. Overall, it was reasonable for a short stay in a convenient location and low cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We booked Hostel Andrew at quite last minute as we needed to be near Termini Station for an early train. It's an easy 10 minute stroll from the station so convenient. Our first issue was in finding the place. We found the right address easily enough but all of the signage was for another property with no indication on the building that Hostel Andrew was located there. After riding up and down in The lift for awhile I decided to ask at the Hotel Collaro reception desk and was told this was the right place to check in for Hostel Andrew. This would have been useful information to have ahead of time and should have been included on our booking confirmation.

Another problem was that the hostel only excepted payment by cash, which we didn't have. Again information it would be good to have ahead of time so we could be prepared. Perhaps this is common practise for hostels in Europe but we have been travelling quite a bit over the past few months and hadn't come across this problem before.

We had to leave our bags in storage and check in properly late that night which was a huge mistake. The guy we originally dealt with earlier in the day was very pleasant and helpful, but the elderly gentleman who checked us in that night after we returned from a long day trip tired and ready for bed was extremely unpleasant. He knew only a handful of English words and was just very rude and unhelpful. He was also so extremely slow with the overly complicated manual check-in system that my patience was really running out.

The property itself was clean, tidy and pleasant enough. The main issue was the frosted glass on the front of the door to our room which let the light pour in from the hallway making it difficult to sleep. Really odd thing to do for a hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We were in Rome for the 3rd day and was having trouble finding accomodation for the night as it was the peak period... We happened to pop by this small hotel called Hotel Collaro, and the reception there was an extremely helpful man. He knew we were on a budget but needed a room for the night and he offered us to stay at the Hostel Andrew which was in the same block as the hotel and it turned out to be a great night's stay. If not for him, we might have been sleeping in the streets! He showed us to our room as well which none of the hostels that we have stayed at has ever done... It had a kitchen, a clean bathroom and clean room. Couldn't ask for more. The location of it is very ideal too, near the main Rome Termini with lots of people around... Would definitely stay there again if I were to visit Rome again!

Room Tip: Room is clean and location is near the main Rome train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuzheng_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

Hostel Andrew is very conveniently located about 5 minutes away from the main train station in Rome, Termini. The neighborhood is a little on the rough side, but it's convient if you're just need a place to stay overnight before catching a train or heading to the airport. The rooms are small and clean, and you basically get what you pay for. There is only one bathroom for 12 or so beds that the hostel offers, which was a little annoying, but overall, the place was clean, it was quiet by midnight, and it served the purpose of being a decent place to sleep for a night. However, if you are planning on staying in Rome for more than a few days and have a bit of a budget to work with, I would suggest trying to find a place closer to the city center.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hschroed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Legends Hostel
Legends Hostel
#219 of 1,088 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#32 of 1,088 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#18 of 1,088 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,589 of 3,752 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#373 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Andrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Andrew

Property: Hostel Andrew
Address: Via Palestro 44, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #809 of 1,088 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Andrew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing