We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,Location,Location!”
Review of Hotel Sileo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sileo
Ranked #886 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Barrie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location,Location,Location!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

If you are looking for a great value hotel with a great location for accessing transit to see the sites then this will be an excellent choice. We read about this place in our Rick Steves' book. It was what we expected. The rooms were comfortable and clean with private bathroom and the A/C worked great. We had an inside room and it was a quiet sleep each night! It is one block from the Termini Station so easy access to all the trains, subway and buses. Owners Alessandro and Maria were perfect hosts. Their daughter Anna communicates in perfect English via e-mail in a quick and professional manner. We would definitely return to this hotel in our future Rome travels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    32
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
12
45
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Dirty, noisy, smelly, area-dirty, owners-unhelpful, shower-moldy, sheets-unchanged, room-grubby, lighting-dim, morning- Italians spitting and cleaning there noses by blowing them out of their open windows into the courtyard/bin area. Overall- don't come here if it's the last place open in Rome............

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RFoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

My wife and I loved Rome. Our trip was made better and more relaxing by the welcoming couple running hotel sileo. Clean room. Quiet atmosphere. Right next to Termini station an walking distance to all sites in Rome. Would absolutely stay again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north georgia mountains
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We wanted a hotel close to the train station (Termini) in Rome, and also near a laundromat, since after ten days of traveling, and prior to the transatlantic cruise back to the U.S., we were in need of both. Hotel Sileo is only about 2 blocks from the station, which was really convenient and the laundromat was only a block away.
When we read the info about Hotel Sileo, it stated that they have a contract with the train company that provides daytime rooms for conductors on overnight trips, so we might have to vacate the room between 9a.m. and 7p.m. If that occurs, they hold your luggage for you. But we were there 3 nights and never had to give up the room during the daytime hours.
We are two grandmothers who traveled together, and when I explained the situation to my friend, I told her we were renting the room by the hour... that evoked lots of laughter!
The room was ample, clean and the bathroom - ditto. I think you will find this hotel a good choice for your stay in Rome, if you are looking for good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bizarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed here for 1 night (60 Euros) because we had an early flight and wanted to be close to the train station. The room was small, dark and depressing. We didn't need to share a bathroom, but the bathroom was across the hall. Not sure of the hours kept by the staff. We had to ring a bell each time to get in and there was no one available 10pm-6am for check out.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

the hotel was just what we needed, perfect location, walking distance to everywhere (every major landmark), plus, most important, the owners are so very warm and friendly, BUT, you´ve got to try Italian language, just be kind and educated!!! if you want a genuine Italiane experience, go there!! Run by veru Italian owners, super kind, total sweethearts:)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Termini Accommodation
Termini Accommodation
#815 of 1,264 in Rome
69 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#722 of 1,264 in Rome
156 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#956 of 1,264 in Rome
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#825 of 1,264 in Rome
124 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Marechiaro
Hotel Marechiaro
#942 of 1,264 in Rome
232 reviews
Esquilino
Locanda Otello
Locanda Otello
#1,063 of 1,264 in Rome
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sileo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sileo

Property: Hotel Sileo
Address: Via Magenta 39, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #886 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sileo 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sileo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sileo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing