We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer Beware”
Review of Hotel Sileo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sileo
Ranked #905 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We were a group of three adults that stayed in a room at Hotel SileoThe couple that owned the hotel were extremely nice and the daughter was very helpful.As with other reviews we found the location to be good because it was close to the Termini station (bus and rail transport) and restaurants.The Termini had "brand name" stores at the station.at the bottom floor there was a grocery store which we frequented ,since their prices were fairly reasonable esp. for water.The negative points about the hotel was that the shower/bathtub were very dirty. I am not sure but it looked like fungus growing on the doors of the bathtub/shower.Our room faced the back of the restaurant and we could smell the grease when we had our windows open.Luckily it was in the autumn months that we were visiting. so we could keep the windows closed for most of the day.it was also quite noisy because the restaurant would be cleaning up at the end of the night and the garbage containers were in the back of the restaurant .We found that the dresser had food stains still on it from the previous guests.the room was shabby and the lighting was very dim. I think they were using low watt energy saving bulbs.It did appear that there were rooms that were better than ours so we asked if we could be moved but they said all the rooms were taken.We did try to find other hotels but it was quite hard to just "walk-in" and try to find a room since some hotels were already booked to capacity and others were leery as to why you did not have reservations.It is quite hard to find a hotel at the last minute so we just tried to make the best of a bad situation.We took Rick Steeves recommendation for Hotel Sileo but now I do not think he has even stayed at Hotel Sileo.I think his recent books are outdated and the recommendations are now hit and miss.So buyer beware

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wong_number
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2010

We stopped at the Sileo in September and has a very enjoyable stay. The owners were very friendly and helpful although they don't speak very much English, but why should they?. The room was clean and traditional with a small but perfectly adequate bathroom. If it's luxury and posh you are after then try the Hilton. The Sileo is a great budget hotel that is certainly worth a go. Right near to Termini station, the local area has lots of bars and restaurants to choose from (at reasonable prices) and of course the metro is in the station, although walking around Rome is very easy. I would recommend this hotel and Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris66_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We enjoyed our week stay here. It is perfectly located a block from the main Termini train station where you can take the two Metro lines, catch a hop on hop off bus, buy groceries and take the train to the airport. Athough very centrally located it is quite quiet. It is around the block on a quiet street. My children loved the tiny elevator. It is run by a charming and friendly older couple. There are two good restaurants right outside the front door and more around the block. We liked the Antica Taverna. The price is reasonable compared to other hotels in Rome. There was a breakfast of rolls and jam which we supplemented with fruit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varty_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Me and my husband liked Sileo Hotel. It is situated in the old building and the interior is also made in the early twentieth century style. We stopped here two times during our trip to Italy - once for four nights when we wanted to see Rome and once for just one night for the early trip to the airport. When we first came here we got a room with the street Magenta view and spectacular pictures on the walls and even on the celing. One picture was with Romen Forum, another with Tiber (just as on the pictures of the previous reviewer), and the third - blue sky with clouds on the ceiling reminded Pantheon). The hall and the corridor is also beautifully decorated.

At first the only problem was a smell of the oldness - I usually dislike it, however just in several minutes I cased to notice it. The owners were very friendly - they gave the map and brochure about Rome and forgave us drinks from the mini bar - the shampane,beer, water and juices while it was not staded on their site. It was a nice surprise.

Bathroom equipment workd all the time, towels were new and soft, the soup, shamoo and the hairdrier was provided.

I asked Maria, the owner's wife, if they could provide us this room when we come back on the way to the airport but she refused since this room was provided only to those who stay more than three nights.

So when we came back, we got a much smaller room with the view to the not so picturesque yard, the dish washing sounds came from the restaurant and the overall decoration and furniture was worse than in that beautiful room. The bathroom also was much smaller. If I got this room during the first stay I would be dissapointed.

However the convenience to the location to the both Rome airports transfers and the hall with the sculptures and lighted globe was still very attractive and the walls of the second room were also with pictures.

I advise to stay in this hotel when you plan to stay more than three nights and choose another hotel if you plan to stay just one night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cymbaline_Ukraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We had a very enjoyable stay here, also known as Albergo Sileo. It's literally just around the corner from the main train station, which made it great for dropping off/ picking up our bags. The owners are very, very sweet- don't speak a lot of english, but enough to make do! We stayed in the single the first night (the one the train conductors stay in), and moved to a bigger private room the other two nights, due to availability. It's in the same building as the Fawlty Towers hostel- we were concerned about it being noisy (we were going to check that out, but heard it was a bit crazy!), but it wasn't a problem at all. Do remember- cash only! It's a fine place to stay, and it was a great place to base our Rome stay out of.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Stayed here for four nights in early May. The owners were lovely and made us feel right at home. The room was good and what we expected for this price in Rome.

My one issue was that on check out the hotel indicated that they only accepted cash as payment which caused a major issue for myself. No where on either their website or at the front desk does it indicate that they don't accept credit cards!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jarkkonieminen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

I learned about the Hotel Sileo from Rick Steve's travel book about the special rate for short evening stays. We were catching the train in the morning and the Termini is not more than a block and a half away. We were delighted with the accomodations. Alessandro and his wife speak only Italian but smiles and hand motions go a long way. The "hotel" is on the fourth floor that can be reached by elevator or short flights of steps. The apartment is broken up into a nice lobby, the family's living quarters and a couple of rented rooms. There is a wash basin in the room with the toilet and shower down the hall. The rooms are very clean and homey. When we were ready to go out to dinner, Alessandro sent us to the resturant of his friend across the street where we enjoyed an exceptional meal, great wine and a very reasonable bill. While this street is not the prettiest you'll find in Rome, it felt safe and the location for ease of getting around could not be beat. If you are looking for a place to stay that makes you feel a part of Rome, this is for you. I would stay here for my entire time in Rome if I get the chance to visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank akchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#924 of 1,272 in Rome
127 reviews
Esquilino
Caput Mundi
Caput Mundi
#898 of 1,272 in Rome
91 reviews
Esquilino
Locanda Otello
Locanda Otello
#1,145 of 1,272 in Rome
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#656 of 1,272 in Rome
420 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Rimini
Hotel Rimini
#457 of 1,272 in Rome
674 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luciani
Hotel Luciani
#767 of 1,272 in Rome
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sileo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sileo

Address: Via Magenta 39, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #905 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £37 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sileo 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Sileo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sileo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing