We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and good service with some Cons”
Review of Hotel Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Continentale
Ranked #343 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The location was excellent and a decent hotel for the price paid.

Pros :

Nice location. Just 3-4 minutes walk from Castro Pretorio metro and 7-8 mins walk from Termini.
Affordable price
Very good service at reception
Room was clean

Cons :
The bed spread was stinking with some vague smell
The curtains need replacing.
You can never find such a tiny bath area.

Would stay here again for the same price I paid here. But if I have to pay more, I will find some other hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hariprabu2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. Everything was perfect: location, room, staff. Close to Termini Station - that is a big transport node (bus station, metro lines A and B, tram, train station). There are a lot of places to eat around (supermarket Despar at Termini building, a lot of pizzerias, trattories, restaurants around) etc. Room is small, but has everything you need to live there. Maybe a bit noisy but only up to midnight. Staff is very nice, speak english, 24-hour. On check in told about breakfast, gave a touristic city map. I checked out at 6 am and there was no problem. Breakfast was very good, served from 7 am. The price was OK. I think it is a very good choice for touristic stay. If you need the room in order to take a shower and sleep - it is a very good choice for you. I liked it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antoshkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I really enjoyed my visit in Hotel Continentale, it is 10 min walk from main train station.
Rooms were very clean, staff was very helpful and the price is very reasonable compared to the service offered. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: It might be better to reserve a room not on the road side, there is a bar across the street and it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nyavane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for the good comments about our hotel, the guest's satisfaction is important for us.

I hope that you spent a nice holiday in Rome.

Your faithfully,
Iolanda M.
Hotel Continentale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I picked this hotel as I wanted to be close to Rome's main transport links. It is located less than 10 min walk from the Termini.
The hotel is in a building of other hotels so its a tiny bit confusing at first. The ladies on reception are really lovely and helpful and spoke great English.
The room was clean and nice with a nice view and we couldnt really fault it. It was a little noisy outside at night so we had to shut the window but I expect that when I am staying in any city. We had breakfast on 2 mornings and it was fine, typical continental selection of breads,pastries and fruits.
There are some excellent restaurants very close to the hotel which are great value and very friendly.
I would definately stay here again when i return to Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CherryAcid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel is excellent!! The receptionists are extremely friendly, the rooms are clean and well looked after, only a bit old fashioned and a bit shabby but not bad at all.
The location is excellent, right next to Termini station. There is also a fantastic and well valued restaurant across the road which is lovely.
The hotel is a very good valued one too!
Highly recommend this place.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed at Hotel Continentale for a few days in June. Lovely hotel, great location, and very easy to find. The staff were very helpful and were always on hand to answer questions about the hotel and about Rome in general. The breakfast was lovely and great value also. There was a much needed air con in our room - a huge plus as Rome is so hot in summer!

Bed was very comfy, ensuite was nice. Everything was very clean. Lots of nice restaurants in and around the area to suit all budgets. Roma Termini station is also a short walk away.

All in all, very nice stay here, would definitly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank JHandRome
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#447 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#226 of 1,271 in Rome
662 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#260 of 1,271 in Rome
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Re di Roma
#156 of 1,271 in Rome
1,327 reviews
Hotel La Genziana
#501 of 1,271 in Rome
146 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#198 of 1,271 in Rome
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continentale

Address: Via Palestro 49, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#321 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £36 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continentale 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continentale a central low cost hotel in Rome Center,our main priority is guests complete wellbeing!Hotel Continentale, a charming no frills low cost hotel in Rome centre offers best deals price quality rooms of all hotels in Rome for family vacations, romantic getaways, business travel and week-end escapes. Boasting easy access to historical city center Hotel Continentale, best budget accommodation in Rome, features an unsurpassed Rome center downtown location, best room prices, lavish breakfast, WI-FI access, exclusive hospitality and a classy ambiance.The central location allow you easy walking distance to Trevi fountain, Diocleziano’s thermal baths, the Quirinale (President Palace) the Colosseum and the Roman Forum.The nearest bus stop and underground station are a mere 30 metres from the Hotel, enabling those who prefer to use these service to reach the more important monuments quickly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing