We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lukewarm experience (like the shower)”
Review of Hotel Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Continentale
Ranked #345 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The positives first: great price and good location. Now for the negatives: our room really was small (no real complaints there because this was as advertised). More annoyingly the water from both the sink and shower was rather hit and miss, although mostly miss: a barely warm shower really does not set you up for the day. I also found the manner of the reception staff fairly brusque, nothing overly rude but hardly welcoming either. At this price the hotel was OK for us as we're on a long trip rather than a short holiday, but if you're booking this hotel for a special occasion or romantic break then personally I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NE_Traveller_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, which allows us to improve in order to achieve higher standards of quality. We really appreciate your opinions.
We have taken note of your suggestions and we have already proceed with all necessary improvements that will result in a better service regarding your advices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were a jolly good party of 5 people, had one 2 and one 3 bed room. Easy to find, easy acces to all public transport, near to major trainstation and also shuttle busses to the airports, although with troley luggage we made in on foot from/to the station. Rooms were spatious, clean, we had a window to the street but were not bothered by the noise. There is air-conditioning, don't expect north pole cooling, but it was breathable air (outside was extremly hot!). There is also an elevator, handy when arriving with luggage.
Bathroom a little bit small and with a bad airing, but clean.
Breakfast included in our roomprice, with ham, cheese, good range of pastry, good espresso and cappucino-machine, fresh juices and fruitsalads. Made quite some economies with it!
Overall: very good stay, very good price-quality ratio, good location, would recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuisine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, which allows us to improve in order to achieve higher standards of quality. We really appreciate your opinions.
We have taken note of your suggestions and we have already proceed with all necessary improvements that will result in a better service regarding your advices.

Looking forward to see you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My feelings about this hotel are really based on their followup with me. I left something in the room and asked if they'd mail it to me. If situations were reversed and someone left an item in my studio, I'd mail it to them paying forward a kindness. They asked me to pay a messenger service 80 euros to ship an ipod to the US. We stayed at the hotel twice but never again. I feel very hurt by this interaction.
The rooms were clean. Our first room was quiet but in the second we heard banging and clanging several times in early morning. The shower was tiny but it all worked.

Room Tip: Don't expect any human interaction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We've stayed 4 nights at the beginning of our visit to Italy and return overnight for transfer to airport next day.

Room# 232 got a smallest bathroom in the world !! It's barely fit a person in the bath room, if you're not moving in the bathroom carefully, you'll hit the wall !! Having said that, it's clean and the bed is tuck up nicely everyday. Sometimes the maid forgotten to put shower gel, so have to collect it at the desk.

Room# 230 got a very stink smell coming from the shower, but better bathroom space though. There is no window in the bathroom, yet extractor fan is so small, we have to let it run all night to get rid of the smell.

Both rooms got enough space to move around and put your luggage on the floor or on the table if you're not using it often. It's quite cold at night (end of November) even though the heater is on but you can't adjust the heat coming through the room. So, quick shower then in the bed to get warm !!

Location is good, there are lots of restaurant to choose from. We particularly like the pizza store opposite the hotel call Pizzeria Del Secolo. We went there every night when we were staying at Rome. Lots of fresh pizza to choose from.

If you are not fuzzy about small details and got small budget to stop by in Rome, I think this is not a bad choice.

Room Tip: Say no to Room #230, got a stinky smell from the sewer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caramel3808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for your review, which allows us to improve in order to achieve higher standards of quality.
We have taken note of your suggestions and we have already proceed with all necessary improvements that will result in a better service regarding your advices.
We really appreciate your opinions.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2nights as part of a whirlwind european tour. Paid less than 90euro for 2 nights, so cant beat that. Also had good reviews,so decided to give it a try.
Firstly, the directions weren't too clear from the touristdesk on platform 24 of rome termini station as there are two or more main exits etc.So here's my guide if in termini station - whichever direction your coming from,make sure Mcdonalds is on your left,then keep going straight until you reach the main exit below the huge roma termini sign. Head toward the main road straight ahead, and via palestro is the 5th road on the left. Pass the laundromat and mammas restaurant, and youcan see the signage of hotel continentale, which shares the building with hotel romae and positano. Is really more of a nice guesthouse.
Pros
- less than 10minute walk from termini
- surrounded by restaurants,cafes,laundromats
- great choices for breakfast nearby,pay no more than 2euro for cappucino and a warm brioche if the 5euro breakfast doesnt entice
-clean with basic amenities
- great staff, was able to use their toilet after checkout, as I know some guesthouses/ hotel don't allow this so easily
- room was warm and toasty,and hot water showers helped ease chilly autumn winter weather
Cons
- literally the smallest ensuite seen in my life despite the niceblue tile facade. Don't understand the bidet, given there's no space!
- the reception doors needs to be replaced as there is a huge crack, which does little to provide assurance on safety. But it was safe,nonetheless except for annoying sellers of umbrellas!
- some drainage problem in the tiny shower
Overall, good and not fantastic. However, I would try hotel romae next time, only because I know where it is and has better reviews. Also with so many choices, good to try others for comparison.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JemimaBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

i have been there in november 2013, has good location near the termini station (not dangerous location but a lot of homless) you can find all the busses from the termini station for all rome just ask the polite people they work at the hotel.....room was avarage size with good bed but most of all it was CLEAN and every day the staff was cleaning and change towels...... good breakfast and price just 45 euro per night.... i will go back again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 447alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Good location, close to Termini station, buses, metro. Plenty of restaurants, pizza bar, gelateria etc close by. Staff helpful and friendly. No room safe. Shower (heat,pressure) in room 222 needs attention.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rosanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#446 of 1,271 in Rome
298 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#214 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#246 of 1,271 in Rome
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Genziana
#504 of 1,271 in Rome
147 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#159 of 1,271 in Rome
1,334 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#206 of 1,271 in Rome
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continentale

Address: Via Palestro 49, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#321 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £36 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continentale 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continentale a central low cost hotel in Rome Center,our main priority is guests complete wellbeing!Hotel Continentale, a charming no frills low cost hotel in Rome centre offers best deals price quality rooms of all hotels in Rome for family vacations, romantic getaways, business travel and week-end escapes. Boasting easy access to historical city center Hotel Continentale, best budget accommodation in Rome, features an unsurpassed Rome center downtown location, best room prices, lavish breakfast, WI-FI access, exclusive hospitality and a classy ambiance.The central location allow you easy walking distance to Trevi fountain, Diocleziano’s thermal baths, the Quirinale (President Palace) the Colosseum and the Roman Forum.The nearest bus stop and underground station are a mere 30 metres from the Hotel, enabling those who prefer to use these service to reach the more important monuments quickly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing