We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good”
Review of Hotel Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Continentale
Ranked #355 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel over the Easter week. The rooms are basic but have all the necessary facilities. Breakfast was quite satisfactory with a good choice of cold cuts, cheese, yoghurt, cereals etc as stated on their website even though it is continental. Coming back to the hotel in the afternoon we were also offered complimentary coffee or tea. We were always greeted with a smile and a buongiorno or buonasera as the case may be, and very willing to help promptly with our needs. As previous reviewers said the location is very near to Termini station or Castro Pretorio metro stop (line B). The area is also quite safe even when we came back late at night. Overall, we enjoyed the stay there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pharm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much for this review. We are happy to see that your experience was positive and appreciate that you decided to share it with others. Looking forward to see you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Herman J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iolanda M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Nice hotel,excellent location&helpful staff.They provided baby cot for my baby.Room was on the second floor but lift is very small..There are lot of nice restaurants and pizzerias located in the street. I recommend

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dropf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear guest, thank you for your preference and comments. Eventhough our lift may not have met your expectations, we are pleased that you appreciated the quality of our room and services.We do apologize for the fact that our lift could not accomodate more than 2 persons with luggages.Our hotel located in elegant 19th centuary building together with other hotels.It is very difficult to have large elevator due to the huge infrastructural limitation.The lift is small due to the the fact that our building built before the introduction of modern type elevator and it is very common in historical cities esp. in Rome.We consider and give importance of the needs of children and prefer to continue kid friendly hotel.On behalf of our staff and myself thank you again for your recommandation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Hotel with good location and average service. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and clean toilets. Just a bit of background noise. Overall, my judgment is positive and we would gladly stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Davide M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear guest, we are delighted to read that you will return willingly to stay with us.Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments about the bed and cleanliness.In fact we give particular importance to those two factors to ensure a better stay. We hope to see you again in the future to satisfy your needs. From myself and all the staff, thank you again Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel is quite decent and is not far walk from the Stazione Termini. On my trip I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel near the station and not too far a walk from the tourist attraction and Voila! this was it.

Location: great location about 6 to 10 mins walk from Stazione Termini so you can take the subway/ metro and all the locations can be walkable if you want to walk around and explore.

Room: The room is quite big. It had a nice mattress and their were the basics like TV, safe etc... The was room was decent size and the standing shower had the proper warm water. The room also had a balcony but the view was another building. There are no carpets in the room so make sure you take slippers but the rooms are quite clean.

Breakfast: is not included but it is not expensive and is better than getting from out side unless you can fill you tummy with just a croissant than its cheaper outside. The breakfast at the hotel had various croissant, cereals, juices, coffee/tea/lattes and much more.

Service: was quite good the check in and check out were simple. The various staff were friendly.

WiFi: free wifi is included and is quite fast.

They also have an option of airport drop off. The airport is far, after doing the math it was reasonable to with them as we were 3 individuals and it wasn't worth the hassle in early morning to take the train.

It's a great hotel for budget travellers looking for a good hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bilal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you so much for this review. The hotel is happy to see that your experience was positive and we appreciate that you decided to share it with others. Looking forward to see you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The positives first: great price and good location. Now for the negatives: our room really was small (no real complaints there because this was as advertised). More annoyingly the water from both the sink and shower was rather hit and miss, although mostly miss: a barely warm shower really does not set you up for the day. I also found the manner of the reception staff fairly brusque, nothing overly rude but hardly welcoming either. At this price the hotel was OK for us as we're on a long trip rather than a short holiday, but if you're booking this hotel for a special occasion or romantic break then personally I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NE_Traveller_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, which allows us to improve in order to achieve higher standards of quality. We really appreciate your opinions.
We have taken note of your suggestions and we have already proceed with all necessary improvements that will result in a better service regarding your advices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were a jolly good party of 5 people, had one 2 and one 3 bed room. Easy to find, easy acces to all public transport, near to major trainstation and also shuttle busses to the airports, although with troley luggage we made in on foot from/to the station. Rooms were spatious, clean, we had a window to the street but were not bothered by the noise. There is air-conditioning, don't expect north pole cooling, but it was breathable air (outside was extremly hot!). There is also an elevator, handy when arriving with luggage.
Bathroom a little bit small and with a bad airing, but clean.
Breakfast included in our roomprice, with ham, cheese, good range of pastry, good espresso and cappucino-machine, fresh juices and fruitsalads. Made quite some economies with it!
Overall: very good stay, very good price-quality ratio, good location, would recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuisine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, which allows us to improve in order to achieve higher standards of quality. We really appreciate your opinions.
We have taken note of your suggestions and we have already proceed with all necessary improvements that will result in a better service regarding your advices.

Looking forward to see you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#215 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#244 of 1,271 in Rome
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Re di Roma
#159 of 1,271 in Rome
1,327 reviews
Hotel La Genziana
#500 of 1,271 in Rome
146 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#198 of 1,271 in Rome
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continentale

Address: Via Palestro 49, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#321 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £36 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continentale 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continentale a central low cost hotel in Rome Center,our main priority is guests complete wellbeing!Hotel Continentale, a charming no frills low cost hotel in Rome centre offers best deals price quality rooms of all hotels in Rome for family vacations, romantic getaways, business travel and week-end escapes. Boasting easy access to historical city center Hotel Continentale, best budget accommodation in Rome, features an unsurpassed Rome center downtown location, best room prices, lavish breakfast, WI-FI access, exclusive hospitality and a classy ambiance.The central location allow you easy walking distance to Trevi fountain, Diocleziano’s thermal baths, the Quirinale (President Palace) the Colosseum and the Roman Forum.The nearest bus stop and underground station are a mere 30 metres from the Hotel, enabling those who prefer to use these service to reach the more important monuments quickly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing