We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss”
Review of Hotel Continentale

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Continentale
Ranked #371 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The pros of staying at this hotel include good value rates, very clean, nice friendly staff and in a good central location with nice restaurants right on the doorstep. Cons are that the bathroom was very cramped for us, the room was noisy in the evenings and in the mornings all the sounds from the street outside could be heard and the breakfast left a lot to be desired. All in all it was a decent and tolerable experience and a fine for a hotel to stay in just for a cultural tourist trip to rome on a reasonable budget

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear guest,thank you for your prefence and comments . As you observed the most important point of our hotel is the position since our hotel located between metro termini and castro pretorio a very pretty central area, so guest can move very easily. .We do apologize to the fact that bathroom did'nt meet your expectations but I would like to remind that our bathroom is in proportion to our bed room. We provide upgrading facility by which you can convert small double room to standard or superior rooms where bath room is comparitively larger .Please be assured we have taken note about that noise from the street and we are working to improve that by changing sound proof windows and decor.We hope to satisfy your needs during your next visit in Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    203
    89
    18
    12
See reviews for
49
222
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We chose this hotel as we were only in Rome for an overnight before our flight back and it seemed to have good reviews. It was about a 15-minute walk from Termini. The neighbourhood at night seemed a little sketchy but how bad could it be, right? As we were checking in, a woman barged ahead of us to complain that this is the third night that the lights had gone out and it was becoming ridiculous. The manager's response to her was "This is what happens in Rome when it rains." Not a good sign. Upon arrival in our room we were pleased to find the room to be small but clean so we started to shower and relax for the evening. I went downstairs to get the remote for the AC unit as their bilingual welcome folder indicated, but because of the power issues we were unable to use the AC. The man at the desk who checked us is was very kind and patient; he even brought us extra pillows and offered us free breakfast in exchange for the lack of AC, but our flight left before they started serving breakfast. The power continued to go off and on about every 20 minutes which meant that there was no AC, we couldn't relax and watch TV, using the bathroom became dangerous as there was no window and it was pitch black, and the noise of the people stuck in the elevator and those partying outside on the street didn't make for a restful night before our flight. In the morning a different gentleman at the desk, although very pleasant, was unable to print a receipt or give us change for the city tax.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are really sorry that you were disappointed with your stay even if it wasn't our fault. We weren't responsable for those power issues. Unfortunately the electricity company technicians couldn't resolve the problem earlier. We would like to make clear that this is the first time we had to deal with situation like this, as you can yourself note by reading the other reviews.
The only thing we have to precise is that the neighborhood is not at all sketchy since many embassies and consulates have chosen this area for their offices. Even the Superior Judiciary Council is right next to our Hotel. So as you can understand is a very safe neighborhood.
We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity by booking a return reservation. Then contact us directly with your confirmation so that we can coordinate an experience that will meet your expectations. We look forward to hearing from you.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Only had 2 nights in Rome before flight home. Hotel Continentale was well placed for walking to the main tourist targets and the train station. Also shuttle buses to airports leave from termini station and are good value. Hotel had a good feel to it. Had a lift, though a bit squeezy. Bed was good, bathroom big enough, room was quiet enough for good sleep, breakfast was good. Staff were excellent, very helpful and cheerful. A 30 minute walk gets you to most attractions if you don't get totally lost. A handheld GPS might be worthwhile. Be careful about which hop-on hop-off bus you sign up for (may sell more tickets than they can cater for and leave you waiting too long).

Room Tip: Front rooms may get noise from restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarraRandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for such an enthusiastic and warm review and for having shared your positive experience with the other Tripadvisor users. Indeed the location is one of our main strength, we are literally few block from the train station, where all means of transportation is located. Hoping we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again we convey our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel over the Easter week. The rooms are basic but have all the necessary facilities. Breakfast was quite satisfactory with a good choice of cold cuts, cheese, yoghurt, cereals etc as stated on their website even though it is continental. Coming back to the hotel in the afternoon we were also offered complimentary coffee or tea. We were always greeted with a smile and a buongiorno or buonasera as the case may be, and very willing to help promptly with our needs. As previous reviewers said the location is very near to Termini station or Castro Pretorio metro stop (line B). The area is also quite safe even when we came back late at night. Overall, we enjoyed the stay there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pharm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for this review. We are happy to see that your experience was positive and appreciate that you decided to share it with others. Looking forward to see you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano Marittima, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Nice hotel,excellent location&helpful staff.They provided baby cot for my baby.Room was on the second floor but lift is very small..There are lot of nice restaurants and pizzerias located in the street. I recommend

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dropf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your preference and comments. Eventhough our lift may not have met your expectations, we are pleased that you appreciated the quality of our room and services.We do apologize for the fact that our lift could not accomodate more than 2 persons with luggages.Our hotel located in elegant 19th centuary building together with other hotels.It is very difficult to have large elevator due to the huge infrastructural limitation.The lift is small due to the the fact that our building built before the introduction of modern type elevator and it is very common in historical cities esp. in Rome.We consider and give importance of the needs of children and prefer to continue kid friendly hotel.On behalf of our staff and myself thank you again for your recommandation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Hotel with good location and average service. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and clean toilets. Just a bit of background noise. Overall, my judgment is positive and we would gladly stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Davide M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guest, we are delighted to read that you will return willingly to stay with us.Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments about the bed and cleanliness.In fact we give particular importance to those two factors to ensure a better stay. We hope to see you again in the future to satisfy your needs. From myself and all the staff, thank you again Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#270 of 1,258 in Rome
581 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#451 of 1,258 in Rome
290 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#157 of 1,258 in Rome
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lodi
#254 of 1,258 in Rome
520 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#193 of 1,258 in Rome
1,041 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#220 of 1,258 in Rome
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continentale

Property: Hotel Continentale
Address: Via Palestro 49, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#322 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continentale 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continentale a central low cost hotel in Rome Center,our main priority is guests complete wellbeing!Hotel Continentale, a charming no frills low cost hotel in Rome centre offers best deals price quality rooms of all hotels in Rome for family vacations, romantic getaways, business travel and week-end escapes. Boasting easy access to historical city center Hotel Continentale, best budget accommodation in Rome, features an unsurpassed Rome center downtown location, best room prices, lavish breakfast, WI-FI access, exclusive hospitality and a classy ambiance.The central location allow you easy walking distance to Trevi fountain, Diocleziano’s thermal baths, the Quirinale (President Palace) the Colosseum and the Roman Forum.The nearest bus stop and underground station are a mere 30 metres from the Hotel, enabling those who prefer to use these service to reach the more important monuments quickly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing