We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Convenient location”
Review of Hotel Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Continentale
Ranked #352 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Small but Clean and friendly hotel very near to Termini station. Great location.

Metro stop very close by as well. Good restaurants nearby and ice cream, laundry just outside.

Good Value for the cost!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Carlo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for such an enthusiastic and warm review and for having shared your positive experience with the other Tripadvisor users. Indeed the location is one of our main strength, we are literally few block from the train station, where all means of transportation is located. Hoping we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again we convey our warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The location is optimal for the Termini train (and metro) station, and for the airport shuttle buses as well (the buses booked on Ryanair's and Wizzair's websites terminate at the Piazza Indipendenza, 3 minutes from the hotel).

The staff is very kind and helpful. The services are OK, they represent a good value for money. However, the sleep quality is not the best, considering the street noise and the non-soundproof windows of the hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Andras_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear guest, sincere thanks to evaluate positively about the location and our staff. I would like to invite your kind attention to the fact that windows opening to the street are sound proof but if it didnt meet your expectaion you were free to intimate the fact to the reception, we could change the room facing to the courtyard. Usually light sleepers make such request at the time of booking. Our aim is complete well being of our guest and we are striving to achieve .it
Once again on behalf of all staff thank you for taking the time to share your experience and h ope to see you again.Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our first time to Rome and we absolutely enjoyed our stay. Hotel located between Metro Termini( metro A) and Metro Castro Pretorio( metro B)The rooms were quite large and clean. Nice staff. The wardrobe was nice with sufficient hangers. Speedy internet They offered free coffe in the evening.There are a few supermarkets ,restaurants on the way to the station and also a nice ice cream shop ICE CREAM FACTORY which serves delicious ice creams and pastries.If your intentions is to be in the center of Rome you should stay at this hotel, this is the ideal place for short term travellers

Room Tip: Gelateria Ice cream factory and Porta pia arch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for this review. The hotel is happy to see that your experience was positive and we appreciate that you decided to share it with others. Looking forward to see you back again in the near future. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The pros of staying at this hotel include good value rates, very clean, nice friendly staff and in a good central location with nice restaurants right on the doorstep. Cons are that the bathroom was very cramped for us, the room was noisy in the evenings and in the mornings all the sounds from the street outside could be heard and the breakfast left a lot to be desired. All in all it was a decent and tolerable experience and a fine for a hotel to stay in just for a cultural tourist trip to rome on a reasonable budget

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear guest,thank you for your prefence and comments . As you observed the most important point of our hotel is the position since our hotel located between metro termini and castro pretorio a very pretty central area, so guest can move very easily. .We do apologize to the fact that bathroom did'nt meet your expectations but I would like to remind that our bathroom is in proportion to our bed room. We provide upgrading facility by which you can convert small double room to standard or superior rooms where bath room is comparitively larger .Please be assured we have taken note about that noise from the street and we are working to improve that by changing sound proof windows and decor.We hope to satisfy your needs during your next visit in Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We chose this hotel as we were only in Rome for an overnight before our flight back and it seemed to have good reviews. It was about a 15-minute walk from Termini. The neighbourhood at night seemed a little sketchy but how bad could it be, right? As we were checking in, a woman barged ahead of us to complain that this is the third night that the lights had gone out and it was becoming ridiculous. The manager's response to her was "This is what happens in Rome when it rains." Not a good sign. Upon arrival in our room we were pleased to find the room to be small but clean so we started to shower and relax for the evening. I went downstairs to get the remote for the AC unit as their bilingual welcome folder indicated, but because of the power issues we were unable to use the AC. The man at the desk who checked us is was very kind and patient; he even brought us extra pillows and offered us free breakfast in exchange for the lack of AC, but our flight left before they started serving breakfast. The power continued to go off and on about every 20 minutes which meant that there was no AC, we couldn't relax and watch TV, using the bathroom became dangerous as there was no window and it was pitch black, and the noise of the people stuck in the elevator and those partying outside on the street didn't make for a restful night before our flight. In the morning a different gentleman at the desk, although very pleasant, was unable to print a receipt or give us change for the city tax.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We are really sorry that you were disappointed with your stay even if it wasn't our fault. We weren't responsable for those power issues. Unfortunately the electricity company technicians couldn't resolve the problem earlier. We would like to make clear that this is the first time we had to deal with situation like this, as you can yourself note by reading the other reviews.
The only thing we have to precise is that the neighborhood is not at all sketchy since many embassies and consulates have chosen this area for their offices. Even the Superior Judiciary Council is right next to our Hotel. So as you can understand is a very safe neighborhood.
We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity by booking a return reservation. Then contact us directly with your confirmation so that we can coordinate an experience that will meet your expectations. We look forward to hearing from you.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Only had 2 nights in Rome before flight home. Hotel Continentale was well placed for walking to the main tourist targets and the train station. Also shuttle buses to airports leave from termini station and are good value. Hotel had a good feel to it. Had a lift, though a bit squeezy. Bed was good, bathroom big enough, room was quiet enough for good sleep, breakfast was good. Staff were excellent, very helpful and cheerful. A 30 minute walk gets you to most attractions if you don't get totally lost. A handheld GPS might be worthwhile. Be careful about which hop-on hop-off bus you sign up for (may sell more tickets than they can cater for and leave you waiting too long).

Room Tip: Front rooms may get noise from restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarraRandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for such an enthusiastic and warm review and for having shared your positive experience with the other Tripadvisor users. Indeed the location is one of our main strength, we are literally few block from the train station, where all means of transportation is located. Hoping we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again we convey our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel over the Easter week. The rooms are basic but have all the necessary facilities. Breakfast was quite satisfactory with a good choice of cold cuts, cheese, yoghurt, cereals etc as stated on their website even though it is continental. Coming back to the hotel in the afternoon we were also offered complimentary coffee or tea. We were always greeted with a smile and a buongiorno or buonasera as the case may be, and very willing to help promptly with our needs. As previous reviewers said the location is very near to Termini station or Castro Pretorio metro stop (line B). The area is also quite safe even when we came back late at night. Overall, we enjoyed the stay there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pharm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much for this review. We are happy to see that your experience was positive and appreciate that you decided to share it with others. Looking forward to see you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Domidea Hotel
#201 of 1,269 in Rome
655 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#448 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#246 of 1,269 in Rome
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Re di Roma
#157 of 1,269 in Rome
1,323 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#195 of 1,269 in Rome
1,066 reviews
Hotel La Genziana
#489 of 1,269 in Rome
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continentale

Address: Via Palestro 49, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#321 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £37 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continentale 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continentale a central low cost hotel in Rome Center,our main priority is guests complete wellbeing!Hotel Continentale, a charming no frills low cost hotel in Rome centre offers best deals price quality rooms of all hotels in Rome for family vacations, romantic getaways, business travel and week-end escapes. Boasting easy access to historical city center Hotel Continentale, best budget accommodation in Rome, features an unsurpassed Rome center downtown location, best room prices, lavish breakfast, WI-FI access, exclusive hospitality and a classy ambiance.The central location allow you easy walking distance to Trevi fountain, Diocleziano’s thermal baths, the Quirinale (President Palace) the Colosseum and the Roman Forum.The nearest bus stop and underground station are a mere 30 metres from the Hotel, enabling those who prefer to use these service to reach the more important monuments quickly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing