We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Adriatic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adriatic Hotel
Ranked #513 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Great little hotel very close to Vatican and good eatery's. Room we had was clean and reasonably quiet. With the exception of one staff member all the other staff members including the cleaning staff very friendly towards us and helpful.

My wife and I intend to return to Rome again and this hotel will be on the top of our list and one that I would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

General:
Location – Better located than expected. Before travelling, it looked rather far away from the main Roman attractions, but once you are there you realize everything is at walking distance. We did not take a single bus or train while we were in the city. Nice neighborhood, cozy trattorias nearby. Very close to Vatican City and Castel Sant´Angelo.

Status – The layout is rather odd, as the building is shared with family apartments. You have a couple of stairs to get to the lobby (up, if you are on the main floor; down, if you take the elevator to the 1st floor). Nicely maintained and clean. It has a lovely terrace where you can have a beer at sunset, surf the web or simply chill out.

Check –in / Check-out – Simple and fast. We were provided great maps to find our way in the city (much better than the ones we took!).

Personnel – We had little interaction, but overall friendly.

Internet – Only in the terrace, no Internet in the rooms or lobby. Rather inconvenient, but easily solved by going up the terrace.


Rooms:
Size / Furniture – Standard, larger than expected for a 2-star hotel. You have a little desk and a nice closet with plenty of hangers.

Air conditioning – They charge you 10 euros / day for the air-conditioning! That was definitely a negative point. The rooms do not have fans, so if you are going in the summer, I am afraid you will have to pay for AC.

TV – As tiny as it gets, and almost at ceiling level. Could not use it at all – not that I needed it, we were barely in the room, so much to do outside!

Bed – Ok size, rather hard, nice pillows. Extra blankets if you need them.

Deco – Rather dull, but that´s fine. Again, you spend little time in the room.

Minibar – No.


Bathroom:
Size – Small, but well distributed. You have shelves to put your toiletries. At first the shower seemed tiny, when we visited other Italian hotels we realized it was the standard.

Water pressure – Really good.

Toiletries – Re-filled every day, basics: soap, shampoo, shower cap.

Towels – Huge! A plus.


Breakfast:
No breakfast included


Value-for-money relation:
This hotel was incredibly cheap, and we got way more than we expected. Nice surprise!


Bottom line – would I stay here again?
Definitely, yes! It has everything you need for a simple, inexpensive yet comfortable stay, and grabbing breakfast outside is not that bad – plenty of lovely cafés around! For a yummy Italian dinner, we recommend the trattoria just around the corner, to the right of the first traffic light.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ClaraMGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved this little hotel. It shares space with apartments, which was a little odd at first, but it really made it feel more home-y than a typical hotel. The concierge Fabio was wonderful! Put up with my attempts at Italian and spoke back to me in very good English. ;-D Tons of shops and restaurants nearby but still a very quiet space. Also very clean, which is always a plus! Best of all, only 3 blocks from St. Peter's Square!! We will definitely stay here again when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

this hotel is reasonably priced, the staff are friendly and speak good english, the rooms are clean and spacious I have now stayed here twice and wouldn't stay anywhere else it is great value for money, i stayed with my partner and 9 year old, the staff are very welcoming and always smiling i will be booking here again next year it is lovely.

Room Tip: this is the centre of rome so inevitably noisy if you have the windows open, but you can have air co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinR82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked through hotels.com, which listed air conditioning as an amenity. As naive Americans, we assumed this meant the rooms included A/C. Upon check-in, we realized that the unit in our room was turned off. The front desk told us it was an additional 10 euro per night, which was quite a surprise to us. We tried to explain that our booking listed A/C as an included amenity, but the desk worker was unhelpful.

Another unfortunate surprise that came up was the tourist occupancy tax we were charged upon check-out. The tax is 2 euro per person per night, which worked out to be 16 euro for us - nothing to sneeze at. Most hotels include all taxes in the price of their booking, so this was a fairly significant annoyance to us. We were also told we could only pay cash for the tax. If we had not had the money on us, we very well could have been late to our train.

The wifi is indeed free, but has extremely limited range. We were forced to leave our room and head out to the terrace if we ever needed Internet access. Not a major issue, but something that could be easily fixed if the hotel was willing to spend $50 to get a decent router.

My last grievance with the hotel was that the cleaning staff opened our blinds every day while we were gone. We kept them closed during the day to try to keep the hot sun out and keep the room cool, but the cleaning staff always opened them back up later.

Overall, the room was fairly spacious for what we paid. It was acceptably clean, though we could see vomit stains on the carpet in the hall just outside our room. We arrived early and were allowed to check in and put our luggage away - a uncommon occurrence in Europe in our experience. The balcony view was kind of lame - just a street - but it was nice to at least have a balcony. It is a short walk to St. Peter's Square, and a little bit longer walk to a metro stop.

Most of the dining options nearby are really overpriced, touristy places that try to capitalize on proximity to the Vatican. If you stay, do try Old Bridge gelato, which is a little bit northwest, right along the walls of the Vatican. Also take a bus to the Trastavere, where you can find some smaller, more authentic restaurants.

On my next trip to Rome, I think I will probably try my luck elsewhere, though Adriatic is not so bad if you know what to expect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kanderson18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adriatic25, Direttore at Adriatic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Our reply won't be as long as the comment you've just posted , but a few things need to be explained in order not to confuse the readers who cold be our future guests :
- Online tour operators sometimes might write wrong hotel features but our official site clearly shows tha A/C has an additional charge
- City tax is never included in the hotel rate as it doesn't belong to the hotels , which must only collect that money and periodically transfer it to the municipality of Rome
- Our good router (plus 4 "connecting bridges" provides free WiFi in public areas and in some rooms too...our hotel has been the first "2-star" hotel in Rome provided with free Wi-Fi and still some 3-star hotels make you pay for it in Rome , Venice and abroad (for example in London)
- What you've seen outside your room was not vomit stains. By the way the hall has no carpet
Anyway we appreciated for your positive comments about the balcony , location etc. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Adriatic is a small hotel located on various floors of an old apartment block, 2 minutes walk from St peter's basilica. We found the rooms clean, the staff very helpful and the cost acceptable. Parking was a bit interesting, but the location is excellent and the roof terrace was a lovely spot for breakfast. Not swanky, not posh, not charismatic, just a simple hotel doing a simple job well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinShepherd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Good location, best breakfast, small shower, no full bath tub.
It was near the square and St. Peters . Near shopping center and restaurants.
Quite neighborhood, not other hotels around . The hotel staff was nice and spoke English.
The best part was the variety of breakfast buffet available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#241 of 1,271 in Rome
603 reviews
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#526 of 1,271 in Rome
233 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#632 of 1,271 in Rome
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Florida
Florida
#960 of 1,271 in Rome
196 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#350 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#458 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adriatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adriatic Hotel

Address: Via G Vitelleschi 25, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #513 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £37 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adriatic Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adriatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriatic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing