We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Adriatic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adriatic Hotel
Ranked #499 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
atene
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

perfect location, 5 min. from St. Peter, 10-15 from Piazza Navona. Totally safe place. Clean enough, new moquette. Many bathrooms recently renovated. The older ones well conservated. Price about 50 per night for double absolutely fair. Room spacious. Hair dryer didnt work in my room. Np breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aektsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    240
    117
    33
    20
See reviews for
113
242
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed in this hotel for a long weekend . Hotel was very comfortable and clean and was certainly better than I thought it was going to be . There is a little noise from the road but something you expect in the city . The reception staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful. Plenty of reasonably priced restaurants and bakeries in the area so didn't have to walk far to eat. Very close to the Vatican and other tourist sites which was ideal . I would defiantly stay in this hotel again .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabeljob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Roughly 500m from the Vatican - a 10 minute walk. Also has some great restaurants tucked behind in Borgo Pio. Hotel facilities are limited - no on-sight restaurant or tea/coffee in rooms (the reception has a coffee machine) and patchy wifi. But for an affordable and convenient place to stay it's ideal. Staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurants in Borgo Pio, 5 minutes walk. We ate at I Tre Pupazzi, but we could have picked any of 5 or 6 choices.

There are stairs to negotiate, even if you take the lift. So unsuitable if you're unable to walk up stairs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunk539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a three night stay at this hotel in Rome. The staff were all friendly and helpful, recommending restaurants, booking taxis and dispensing general advice when asked. The bed was comfortable, with clean fresh smelling bed linen, the bathroom was clean with towels changed daily, and for a 'no frills' two star we were pleasantly surprised and delighted. We only wanted a place to sleep as a base for a short break and we would be pushed to find better. Great location, yes there is a quite noisy road but it is in a city, so there is some traffic noise. Plenty of good eateries close by, and bakeries for breakfast at reasonable prices. Great location for seeing the amazing sites of Rome, will definitely go back here again.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Snareanylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It's a shame his hotel has had so many negative reviews as we thought it was lovely. We stayed here last week for four nights and were very satisfied with everything. That being said we are very positive, undemanding people and we'd rather spend our money on other things than gold taps and chocolates on the pillow, hence our booking a two star hotel instead of a five. Our room faced the inside courtyard so we had no problems with noise from the street (and how can the hotel control this anyway?). Our room also had electric security blinds which made the room lovely and pitch black at night. Yes, the beds are hard but luckily we like that and both slept like babies. All of the staff we met over our four day stay were very friendly and helpful so perhaps, unlike other reviewers we were just lucky. Don't know. It's right next to the Vatican and a short walk from Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza Navona an all the other delights Rome has to offer and there are many great places for food close by. Of course if you are looking for luxury then this will not be for you. But if like us you just want a clean room, a shower and a bed for the night then I can recommend the Adriatic

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from my stay at the Adriatic hotel and was overall happy with my stay. The location really could not be faulted, the Vatican is around the corner and Spanish steps, trevi fountain (lovely at night), main shopping strips and colosseum are within walking distance. The rooms are basic and noisy in the evenings, but we came to realise it would be the same wherever you stayed, some of the nicest looking hotels are all in built up areas and nothing is really secluded. Along the Vatican road were tour busses and touts with more information on excursions but we got all the info we needed from the consierge from the Adriatic. The Vatican museum is €16 entry, not €20 like everyone will tell you when touting and there was no queue to get in when we went. You will get harassed for umbrellas/roses/shawls, con men. The maps at reception are very handy in the hotel and we used one to explore Rome (we did get lost once or twice!) we are keen walkers so if you're not, the metro is €6 per person per day or €1.90 for a single journey and I'm sure the consierge could assist with stations. There are some lovely restaurants in Rome and we enjoyed every meal, particularly around via del pelligrino, there is a square full of food & drinks, which do offer great value set menus if you ask. You'll generally pay €5/6 for a glass of wine and €10-15 for your main dish. There is a restaurant next to the Adriatic but we did not eat there. You can get free wifi but only on the roof terrace (4th floor), which is covered so you can stay up there when it rains, sure it would be fantastic here in the summer. You are charged a €2 per person per day room tax when you leave which we were not made aware of when booking but was nothing so we weren't fussed just glad we had it on us as they told us last minute when our transfer was waiting. Room had a double bed, table, 2 chairs, wardrobe and en suite with shower. Like I say, basic, but we were out all day so weren't fussed. Good value for money. Was clean and what we needed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamFEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

I was on a right budget and this hotel seemed to fit it. On arrival me and my friends laughed but the room he had to fit 5 was very large. The bathroom was a tight squeeze but we made it work. The hotel was close to everything. When we were in rome there was a transportation strike so this hotel saved us by being in walking distance to everything. They handed us a map upon check in and it was our best friend! If all you require in room is a place to sleep then you've found the perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#287 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#392 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#236 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#440 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#500 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#556 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adriatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adriatic Hotel

Property: Adriatic Hotel
Address: Via G Vitelleschi 25, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adriatic Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adriatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriatic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing