We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastically central, clean room and friendly staff”
Review of Adriatic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adriatic Hotel
Ranked #491 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London
1 review
“Fantastically central, clean room and friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Arrived late as our flight was delayed. No problems - staff extremely polite and helpful. Location was as described, literally two minutes walk to the Vatican. Great views from the fourth flour balconies. The room was exactly as described and exactly as pictured on their website.

Pros: close the sights, clean and tidy, don't have to take room key out with you.

Cons: thin walls, no tea/coffee facilities (apart from in reception), could do with bigger (or more modern) TV and a few more English channels.

Overall, couldn't fault the hotel itself.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachaelk2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    240
    117
    33
    20
See reviews for
113
242
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

For a 2 star hotel, the Adriatic Hotel is great. The location is spot-on, the hotel staff are friendly, and the rooms are cleaned daily. The rooms are small and very basic, however that all what we were looking for - a weekend trip to Rome without having to break the bank.

Some useful points: You can get a "hop off / hop on" tourist bus from outside St Peters, which will take you to all the other points of interest in Rome. For a 24 hour pass this will cost 19euros or a 48 hour pass costs 24euros. A great way to see Rome at your leisure. Shuttle bus service to and from your hotel from the airport costs around 31euros each way.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zollyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The Adriatic is in a great locatin just a stones throw from the vatican and 15 min walk into the Piazza Novana. The rooms were clean and serviced regularly. The guys at the front desk were lovely, very helpful and friendly with good english. There is a nice little sun terrace and drinks are sold at the reception. Slight draw back that there is no restaurant for breakfast in the morning, and it could be slightly noisey if you had the window open but on the whole it was lovely and i wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star_1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights earlier this September. We couldn't have asked for better service! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the room was large, clean, and comfortable (#46, a corner room with 2 balconies!) and the location couldn't be better. We walked everywhere with no problems! We felt very safe in the hotel and walking at night in the area. The next time we are in Rome we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni_K_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The hotel is very easy to reach, we did metro and train, no problems - just be sure to have the train-tickets stamped before getting on the train (some tickets don´t need to, ask!)- people were fined 50 euro. Friendly staff, although they didn´t communicate - even after we had cancelled the A/C option after 1 night, we had to pay for 2, even trying to get full pay (70 euro) but i guess that´s what happens in Rome. People can be quite rude, especially during summer.
The street is very noisy as a hospital is located nearby, on the opposite it´s very pleasant to hear the basilica´s bell every 15 min.
Rooms are absolutely clean but very basic, wouldn´t recommend the nearby supermarket or the "breakfast - option" across the street. We went to "COIN" on a nearby major road for water etc.
We stayed for 7 days and visited all the major sights by foot, wouldn´t recommend car - parking is herrendous. Absolutely safe neighbourhood

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bech-lykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed at the Adriatic for 5 nights at the end of July, we cannot fault the hotel it was very nice. The room was very basic and small but it had a lovely bathroom which seemed fairly new.
The Hotel is very secure and on a night the main doors are locked so you have to ring a bell to get in.
The location is perfect we walked to many of the sites and a few times we used the Metro which was a very quick and easy way of getting around.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again we had a lovely hoiliday, weather was fantastic, Rome was amazing !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

My daughter and I are just back from a four night stay at the Adriatic Hotel - not the best time to visit Rome in the summer heat! The front desk is very helpful - friendly and courteous. When we asked for a recommendation for both breakfast and dinner we were directed to a Pattiserie just across the street for breakfast - excellent - and for supper to Pizzeria Amalfi, about three blocks away - again excellent and reasonably priced. All front desk staff we met spoke English and were interested that we had an enjoyable stay in Rome.
The location is less then ten minutes from the Vatican Museums entrance; five minutes from St Peter's Square (just down the side street beside the hotel); five minutes from Castel San Angelo and the River; and about 15 minutes walk from Piazza Navona. Local shopping is quite good, but be aware is closed on Sundays. We got around using the subway - the nearest stop is about 10 minutes away. The hotel is within the city walls so the fixed rate for a taxi to and from Ciampino is 30 Euros, and Fiumicino (Leonardo Da Vinci) 40 Euros.
Our room was on the main street and fairly noisy, but we had no problems. The bathroom was very clean, lots of hot water and good water pressure. Maid service was daily. Air conditioning was an extra 10 Euros a day and well worth it in August! No breakfast but the little cafe had fresh squeezed orange juice and all the usual pastries and lunch items which were freshly prepared. There is a small roof-top terrace, where we ate our late supper sandwiches one evening.
We were looking for a lean, reasonably priced hotel in a good location - we knew anything in the ancient city would be much more expensive. If your are on a budget this hotel is an excellent choice - convenient, friendly and clean.

Stayed August 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#285 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#387 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#231 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#434 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#516 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#556 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adriatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adriatic Hotel

Property: Adriatic Hotel
Address: Via G Vitelleschi 25, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adriatic Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adriatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriatic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing