We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Base”
Review of Adriatic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adriatic Hotel
Ranked #495 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Base”
Reviewed 1 August 2006

Arrived at the Hotel Adriatic on July 14th 2006 and stayed for four nights. My Mum and I had the best holiday ever in Rome. The Hotel room we were in (No. 68) was quite small but perfect as a base. It was very clean and we had air conditioning which I'd say is essential for a July trip to Rome. The (huge) bed was very comfortable and clean, towels were changed when we left the used ones on the floor and although the shower room was more of a wet room and had a few chips out of the tiles it was clean, the shower was very powerful and we never had problems getting loads of piping hot water (although cool showers were the order of the day as it was 34 degrees while we were there).

The location of the Hotel is ideal, very close (less than 5 minutes walk) to St Peters Square and Vatican City and also within easy reach of the Ottaviano Metro Station which we used frequently to get around, most of the main attractions are within easy reach of a Metro stop. Watch your bag/wallet on the Metro though, pickpockets are rife and will pull all sorts of stunts to distract you from your valuables! Be alert and you'll be fine, we felt safe using it through the day and early evening. Don't know if we'd have used it at night though.

Only other comment would be the lack of a decent mirror in the room. I'd definately stay here again but I'd be taking a mirror for doing make-up/hair etc with me.

  • Liked — Location! Location!Location!
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a room with aircon, take a mirror for doing hair/make-up
  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank I-Bod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    243
    118
    34
    20
See reviews for
113
246
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2006

My boyfriend & I stayed here for 3 nights in May. Although the decor was a little dated the room was very clean and the maids came in each morning to clean the room and replace the towels. We paid extra for air conditioning (10 Euros a night) but was worth it as the room got hot during the night and as the hotel was on a busy street it was too loud to have the windows open. We found the reception staff to be very friendly and would recommend this hotel for couples looking for a 'reasonable priced' weekend away. The location was also ideal for the Vatican (literally a 3 minute walk).

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BeeB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2006

Stayed there for 3 nights. Great location near vatican city.
Be sure to book room with air conditioning. On the 1st night we had a room with no a/c and felt unsafe to leave the backdoor open, which was the only way to ventilate the room. Horrible night. The second day a room became available. It was a world of difference. The room was newer, bigger, with better views, and air conditioning! Great 2 nights!
The room top deck was nice as well. We got a bottle of wine and a pizza from close by stores and had low key, romantic night.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Cheri_Ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 October 2005

We Loved this hotel, it is ideal for someone wanting a clean, safe and comfortable hotel. I travelled here with my boyfriend for 3 nights, we had absolutely no problems. Its in a nice, safe area, very close to everything (The Vatican city is just around the corner).

The rooms are spotlessly clean but small, however, ideal for the job. We also had a balcony which we could sit on which was nice. Our bed clothes and towels etc were changed daily.

Reception and staff are very friendly and helpful(not at all pushy or sleazy).

All in all definitely worth the money, the location is excellent, we felt so safe, and had no problem sleeping at night as windows have shutters which practically block out all the noise.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2005

Right next to the Vatican. The Adriatic is well worth a visit if your looking for a cost effective way of touring the ancient city. I've been to the hotel on 2 separate occasions and heading back again in 2006. I've taken 2 groups of 16+ people. The rooms are clean and the hotel appears to have had a recent upgrade since my 1st visit in feb 2004.

Its on quite a busy road , but within walking distance to most places of interest. Its shared with local residents, so noise levels of guest are monitored which is fair. The hotel has limited facilities, but there are a number of cafe's across the road.

My tip - if you not fond of lifts, use the stairs. this one has a tendency to get stuck between floors, which members of our group found very amusing when returning back to the hotel late at night.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank TourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#267 of 1,256 in Rome
577 reviews
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#546 of 1,256 in Rome
227 reviews
Prati
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Hotel Sant'Angelo
#337 of 1,256 in Rome
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#387 of 1,256 in Rome
408 reviews
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#535 of 1,256 in Rome
132 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#595 of 1,256 in Rome
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adriatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adriatic Hotel

Property: Adriatic Hotel
Address: Via G Vitelleschi 25, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adriatic Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adriatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriatic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing