We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location - Good, Basic, Friendly, Clean Hotel”
Review of Adriatic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adriatic Hotel
Ranked #515 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 3 January 2007

My Husband and I stayed here for a 5 day city break in October 2006. Fantastic location. We were able to walk to all of the major tourist attractions from here (all within a 2.5 mile radius) Facilities were basic but very clean and I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel. Top tip - bring travel kettle tea/coffee.
You can walk to this Hotel from the train/tube. Easy to find.
I would however also recommend ear plugs as it can be a bit noisy with traffic below.

Stayed: October 2006
5  Thank Simwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2006

Have just returned from a lovely break in Rome, don't know if anyone else has found this recently, but we were eaten alive by mosquito's ...in December*!!!

Stayed at the Hotel Adriatic and while it was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful, we did think it was a little outdated and dark despite the website stating it was renovated in 2004.

The wallpaper was peeling off in our room (No 61) and the carpet was a bit grubby but the huge bed was clean and comfortable. We did get this room for 3 nights for a bargain price though, so wouldn't complain too much. It is ideally situated for the Vatican City and there are some really nice restaurants nearby.

If visiting the Vatican Museums (Superb!) we'd recommend you don't visit the cafe directly opposite the exit ... they charge a *fortune* for snacks and drinks!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank TabithaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2006

Was able to stay at the Adriatic while on vacation in Italy a few years ago. It is in a great location. Bus stop very close by. Tour buses come to the front door.

It was clean and everything you need to stay within a budget and be pleased. Nothing over the top.....but if I were going back, that is exactly where I would stay again!

Stayed: May 2006
5  Thank krock213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2006

Fantastic location, less than 5 mins from the Vatican. Hotel staff were always really friendly and helpful. 24 hour reception which is handy! The rooms were always very clean! Can be load if the window is open as is quite close to the main road but i thought that this just added to the atmosphere... however if you're a light sleeper take some earplugs! All in all a great hotel and will definatley stay there again!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jen&Keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2006

Arrived at the Hotel Adriatic on July 14th 2006 and stayed for four nights. My Mum and I had the best holiday ever in Rome. The Hotel room we were in (No. 68) was quite small but perfect as a base. It was very clean and we had air conditioning which I'd say is essential for a July trip to Rome. The (huge) bed was very comfortable and clean, towels were changed when we left the used ones on the floor and although the shower room was more of a wet room and had a few chips out of the tiles it was clean, the shower was very powerful and we never had problems getting loads of piping hot water (although cool showers were the order of the day as it was 34 degrees while we were there).

The location of the Hotel is ideal, very close (less than 5 minutes walk) to St Peters Square and Vatican City and also within easy reach of the Ottaviano Metro Station which we used frequently to get around, most of the main attractions are within easy reach of a Metro stop. Watch your bag/wallet on the Metro though, pickpockets are rife and will pull all sorts of stunts to distract you from your valuables! Be alert and you'll be fine, we felt safe using it through the day and early evening. Don't know if we'd have used it at night though.

Only other comment would be the lack of a decent mirror in the room. I'd definately stay here again but I'd be taking a mirror for doing make-up/hair etc with me.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank I-Bod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2006

My boyfriend & I stayed here for 3 nights in May. Although the decor was a little dated the room was very clean and the maids came in each morning to clean the room and replace the towels. We paid extra for air conditioning (10 Euros a night) but was worth it as the room got hot during the night and as the hotel was on a busy street it was too loud to have the windows open. We found the reception staff to be very friendly and would recommend this hotel for couples looking for a 'reasonable priced' weekend away. The location was also ideal for the Vatican (literally a 3 minute walk).

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BeeB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2006

Stayed there for 3 nights. Great location near vatican city.
Be sure to book room with air conditioning. On the 1st night we had a room with no a/c and felt unsafe to leave the backdoor open, which was the only way to ventilate the room. Horrible night. The second day a room became available. It was a world of difference. The room was newer, bigger, with better views, and air conditioning! Great 2 nights!
The room top deck was nice as well. We got a bottle of wine and a pizza from close by stores and had low key, romantic night.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Cheri_Ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#254 of 1,272 in Rome
618 reviews
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#683 of 1,272 in Rome
144 reviews
Hotel Versailles
#692 of 1,272 in Rome
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#528 of 1,272 in Rome
237 reviews
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,061 of 1,272 in Rome
311 reviews
Residence Villa Tassoni
#838 of 1,272 in Rome
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adriatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adriatic Hotel

Address: Via G Vitelleschi 25, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £34 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adriatic Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adriatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriatic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing