We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tourist-class hotel with all the no-frills amenities”
Review of Floridia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Floridia Hotel
Ranked #827 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 16 December 2009

I stayed here recently during winter in Rome. It was quite a walk (with luggage) from the Rome Termini, about 700m although the hotel is nicely located among shops, supermarkets, cafes and even a flea market (during mornings) outside its doorstep.

My friends and I were given a triple room on the first floor and the windows managed to block out most of the street noise. Despite my fears in reading the reviews, I found the stay quite pleasant. The staff could speak basic English and were quite helpful ( esp during a unprecedented bathroom flooding incident) in answering queries, acceding to requests and carrying luggage down the steps.

The room was alright in size, considering there were three beds, with a safe, working fridge and air-conditioner/heater. My only gripe was that the TV was not working during my 3-night stay there due to some decoder problems.

Breakfast was sparse - cold hard bread, meats, cheese, spreads and a coffee machine. Tables were clean and promptly cleared by the helpful chambermaid so no problems there.

In all, not too bad for a relatively budgeted tourist-class hotel with no-frills.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaputnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2009

We were very disappointed with this hotel. We booked and paid over 6 months in advance and when we arrived they gave us the worst room right near the foyer. We were kept awake all night by noisy guests and the breakfast was practically non-existent. We complained and asked for another room and they declined our request. Other guests made the same complaints. The room was not clean either. Look elsewhere.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank Joolsie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

We were booked to stay 6 nights, but stayed only 4. List of problems: we were travelling in 6 (3 men, 3 women, not married to each other) we booked 3 rooms with double occupancy. The girls decided to all stay in one room, leaving one of the men on their own. We told the hotel up front we were doing this and initially they had no problem. 2 days later the hotel wanted to charge the man in the single room and extra charge of 30 euros per night for his single occupancy. The clerk that asked us for the money claimed that her manager told her to ask. We asked to speak to that manager and the manager REFUSED to speak with us. We checked out early. We felt harassed and that the hotel was trying to rip us off. Other items to note: buffet breakfast did not have a good selection - lunch meat, bread, crostata, nutella, pre-packaged dry toast. Other hotel we stayed in at least offered cereal and yogurt. There was no shower curtain and rooms small.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rinasmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2006

Street not accessible by cars--have to go to the corner to catch a cab so you better be able to carry or wheel your luggage.
Not accessible for wheelchairs--steps into the lobby
Hotel room was small and smelly, great view of the roof below.
Postage size stamp room but it did have a decent closet. Immediately dumped the bedspreads off the bed--smelly and discoloured. Bathroom had a tub and shower but no shower curtain to keep the bathroom dry so use the shower and wet the whole bathroom or tub bath. Terribly understaffed. The "breakfast room" had no clean tables when we went down, had to scrounge our own place settings and clear a table ourselves, served only cold items like bread and cheese, smaller variety of choices than at other hotel's breakfasts. Instant coffee machine worked--the only hot thing available on the table. Took me 3 tries to find a clean cup that didn't stick to its saucer. Oh and when we first went in 2 lovely drunk men held the doors open so we could lift our suitcases up the steps. Would be ok if they had the staff to clean up the hotel and monitor the entrance better but not worth what the average charge is listed on the web. Our room had a refrigerator but it didn't work well. Best thing about the hotel is its central location. There is a market outside the door of the hotel so no traffic runs down the street when the booths are open.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Conniebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kaseraz z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: No es precisamente un hotel que dé a las maravillas de Roma por ningún lado.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Francisco Jesús L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Semengleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Lazio
Hotel Lazio
#714 of 1,271 in Rome
187 reviews
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#200 of 1,271 in Rome
745 reviews
Esquilino
Serendipity Residence
Serendipity Residence
#1,007 of 1,271 in Rome
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Regio
Hotel Regio
#467 of 1,271 in Rome
314 reviews
Esquilino
Siracusa Hotel
Siracusa Hotel
#988 of 1,271 in Rome
362 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luce
Hotel Luce
#1,041 of 1,271 in Rome
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridia Hotel

Address: Via Montebello 45, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #827 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £48 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Floridia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Floridia, housed in an elegant late 19th century building, is a delightful hotel situated in a characteristic Roman street, an ideal base for sightseeing and tours around the centre of Rome. This 3 star hotel is an elegant and quiet hotel, offering its guests every comfort and attention to detail, plus the functionality of its communal areas and rooms. In the hall of the hotel, the majestic crystal chandelier and old-fashioned staircase denote the classic style and the fine taste of the hotel’s furnishings. The small lounge next to the hall provides guests with comfortable sofas and automatic drink and snack dispensers. The hotel is located strategically, just 5 minutes’ walk from Roma Termini railway station and 500 metres from Piazza della Repubblica. Hotel Floridia is perfect for all those looking for a hotel in the centre of Rome, comfortable, welcoming and practical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Atrapalo, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Floridia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floridia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing