We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B in Trastevere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arco del Lauro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arco del Lauro
Ranked #20 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great B&B in Trastevere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We arrived at the hotel on the last leg of our trip and discovered that they had overbooked our first night. Daniela was appropriately apologetic and did make alternative arrangements for us next door, but I was disappointed not to have been notified about this prior to arriving.

The hotel itself is in 2 locations next door to one another. The rooms are very nicely renovated tall ceilings, white walls and linens (think Ikea). The bathroom was small but also nicely done with glass mosaic tiles in the stall shower.

Breakfast is adequate and served at a cafe just around the corner. The hotel keeps a small fridge with juice, bottled water and yogurt in the common area; and there is also a lovely tray with cookies and fresh fruit at all times. Tea and coffee making equipment and supplies are also available 24/7.

The location is great. Trastevere is a lovely base and easily accessible to all the sights.

I would not hesitate to return to or to recommend this clean, quiet and comfortable hotel. The first night was definitely a disappointment but we enjoyed the 2 nights that we spent at the Arco del Lauro. You will too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    142
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
178
373
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stayed at Arco del Lauro for five nights in late June, and had a wonderful time. The staff are warm, helpful (Daniela gave us lots of advice on local restaurants and getting around Rome) and very thoughtful. When taking down my passport details the evening we arrived, they noted that it was my birthday the next day, and returning to our room the following afternoon, a small bottle of prosecco and two flutes were waiting for us, which was really sweet of them!

The rooms are attractive, and the location is fantastic, right in the heart of beautiful Trastevere. If you are at a loss for where to stay in Rome, you can't go wrong with Arco del Lauro!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

This is where you want to stay in Rome! It is a lovely little place that is in a perfect location. Daniela was very friendly and a breath of fresh air after arriving by train and navigating the busy train station and taxis. The room is just perfect- and immaculate. The bed is the most comfortable one I've slept on since arriving in Europe. The bathroom is modern and functional. The air conditioning was a real treat with the hot summer whether. We slept well at Arco del Lauro! There are small snacks and drinks available 24 hours a day which is a small gesture that really means a lot after long days of sight-seeing. The Internet didn't work in our room but worked perfectly in the lobby area. We weren't crazy about the breakfast (but we knew what to expect) but that didn't bother us, we just had some cereal and fruit in our room. The price is very reasonable for the room alone. The location is so perfect, it is walking distance to absolutely everything including the Vatican. I cannot say enough good things about this place. We will be back!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank keykos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Arch B & B was a pleasant surprise .... Our reception was wonderful. The hotel is close to everything in allowing fazr many things going. The room was well decorated, spacious and quiet. I recommend the Arc del'Lauro B & B and now every time I return to Rome I know where I stand!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tercio73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floyd, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I spent the first part of our honeymoon at Arco del Lauro. We found our stay fantastic, and the location was amazing! We walked everywhere, including the Vatican. When we needed reservations and directions, Daniela helped us and provided suggestions. Trastevere was romantic and authentic, we felt apart of the city and away enough from the touristy spots for good food and atmosphere.
Our room was very clean and had a lot of charm. There were snacks and coffee and water available in the lobby 24/7. I could not say enough nice things about our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We didn't know what to expect from this property and were pleasantly surprised. They helped arrange a driver to pick us up at the airport and even though our flight was late getting in, the driver waited. Its a small operation with attention to details. The room was large (for European standards) as was the bathroom. The bed was fairly comfortable but as with most beds in Europe - they could benefit from a mattress topper. The air conditioner worked wonderfully. There was wi-fi access in our room and free use of the office computer & printer when needed. A small fridge in the office was for guest's use and they also had some free refreshments available. A breakfast coupon for the coffee bar around the corner was given out every day; the coffee bar was just "okay". There are so many restaurants and bars in the area that you'll likely want to try others. You couldn't ask for a better location with walking distance to so many sights and always willing to help you with information, directions & suggestions.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lino I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I recommend this hotel to everyone. It's perfectly situated to all the main sites and the hotel is clean and comfortable. The service is brilliant. I had a lovely time in Rome and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlz1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Trastevere
Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Trastevere
IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arco del Lauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arco del Lauro

Property: Arco del Lauro
Address: Via Dell'Arco De' Tolomei 29/27, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arco del Lauro 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Arco del Lauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Del Lauro Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing