We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trastevere Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arco del Lauro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arco del Lauro
Ranked #20 of 3,736 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Trastevere Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Close to cafes and restaurants, yet tucked away enough to be quiet. The rooms are modern, clean and hip. It is easy to get anywhere in Rome from here, so Trastevere is a wonderful and convenient neighborhood to make home for a stay in Rome. There was always fresh drinks, yogurt, fruit and pastries to nibble on in the small central area of the B&B. Definitely would/will recommend this to friends traveling to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    142
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
178
373
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

love the area Trasterevera, close to many cool restaurants and bridges across the river to all great sights. B and B was very clean, modern...no English t.v. and staff very welcoming and helpful! Loved walking out the door and getting to everything within minutes. Fresh crisp linens and cute little restaurant where you get 1 cup of coffee and a consistent. great choice for several people

Room Tip: ask for a larger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagneres-de-Bigorre, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This little B&B is situated in the heart of the Trastevere area, one of the most beautiful place in Rome to stay and visit the city. Not far from the Coliseo and all the others sightseeing places in Rome ! There are plenty of restaurants and little shops around.
We have been welcomed with fresh drinks and cakes, the bedroom is comfortable and the bathroom too, they are both full-equiped.
The team has been really kind with us during our journey.
Trastevere is a safe place so don't hesitate to book your room there !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie_65200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Ideally situated in the old quarter of Trastevere, Arco del Lauro is a good place to stay in Central Rome. There are plenty of restaurants 3min from there, the Colosseum is 25min walking, Terme di Caracalla 30min walking (10min taxi), the Vatican 10min taxi etc...
The room was pretty small but comfortable, and the A/C was more than welcome!
Daniela welcomed us at 11pm after booking a private car from the airport. She explained us the main attractions points in the aera, restaurant place to visit... She was very welcoming and gave us good advice.
Inside the BnB are 3 or 4 bedrooms, a computer with a printer and free wi-fi.
You can also make a tea.

The main problem I think is the noise. Doors are really thin and you can be waken up very early by a guest. Same thing when you want to sleep...

Prices are not cheap but if you compare with a hotel you'll see the difference.

Room Tip: Try the room at the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NFLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We arrived at the hotel on the last leg of our trip and discovered that they had overbooked our first night. Daniela was appropriately apologetic and did make alternative arrangements for us next door, but I was disappointed not to have been notified about this prior to arriving.

The hotel itself is in 2 locations next door to one another. The rooms are very nicely renovated tall ceilings, white walls and linens (think Ikea). The bathroom was small but also nicely done with glass mosaic tiles in the stall shower.

Breakfast is adequate and served at a cafe just around the corner. The hotel keeps a small fridge with juice, bottled water and yogurt in the common area; and there is also a lovely tray with cookies and fresh fruit at all times. Tea and coffee making equipment and supplies are also available 24/7.

The location is great. Trastevere is a lovely base and easily accessible to all the sights.

I would not hesitate to return to or to recommend this clean, quiet and comfortable hotel. The first night was definitely a disappointment but we enjoyed the 2 nights that we spent at the Arco del Lauro. You will too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stayed at Arco del Lauro for five nights in late June, and had a wonderful time. The staff are warm, helpful (Daniela gave us lots of advice on local restaurants and getting around Rome) and very thoughtful. When taking down my passport details the evening we arrived, they noted that it was my birthday the next day, and returning to our room the following afternoon, a small bottle of prosecco and two flutes were waiting for us, which was really sweet of them!

The rooms are attractive, and the location is fantastic, right in the heart of beautiful Trastevere. If you are at a loss for where to stay in Rome, you can't go wrong with Arco del Lauro!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

This is where you want to stay in Rome! It is a lovely little place that is in a perfect location. Daniela was very friendly and a breath of fresh air after arriving by train and navigating the busy train station and taxis. The room is just perfect- and immaculate. The bed is the most comfortable one I've slept on since arriving in Europe. The bathroom is modern and functional. The air conditioning was a real treat with the hot summer whether. We slept well at Arco del Lauro! There are small snacks and drinks available 24 hours a day which is a small gesture that really means a lot after long days of sight-seeing. The Internet didn't work in our room but worked perfectly in the lobby area. We weren't crazy about the breakfast (but we knew what to expect) but that didn't bother us, we just had some cereal and fruit in our room. The price is very reasonable for the room alone. The location is so perfect, it is walking distance to absolutely everything including the Vatican. I cannot say enough good things about this place. We will be back!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank keykos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Trastevere
Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Trastevere
IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arco del Lauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arco del Lauro

Property: Arco del Lauro
Address: Via Dell'Arco De' Tolomei 29/27, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 3,736 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arco del Lauro 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Arco del Lauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Del Lauro Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing