We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arco del Lauro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arco del Lauro
Ranked #22 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Wonderful Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Our stay at the Arco Del Lauro was wonderful. The price was reasonable considering the prices of other hotels in Rome. And, the location was perfect! It was close and convenient to where we wanted to visit in Rome and to a whole lot of restaurants in the Trastevere area. On the weekends, the neighborhood livens up and is bustling (which was great!) but, you're guaranteed a quiet night stay at Arco since it's a few blocks away from the action and it's located on a quieter street.

Our room was located on the first floor and it was either the quarduple room or the quadruple triple rooom. It had 2 twin beds and 1 double bed. There were only 2 of us (the smaller rooms were fully booked) so it was very spacious.The room was clean and the decor was nice and modern. After a long day it felt like you were coming back to a nice cozy apartment as there were only 1 other room next to us and the computer was free to use as was the refrigerator. And, you're welcome to make yourself a hot beverage (all provided by the b&b) in the reception area (more like a cozy common area) or grab some juice or yogurt (provided by the b&b as well) in the refrigerator.

All in all it was a great stay and we'll definitely be back to Arco next time we're in Rome!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennis_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    143
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
180
373
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

This b&b is in the lovely 'quiet side' of the Trastevere, an easy walk to all key sights. Lorenza's hospitality was evident always, providing great recommendations for restaurants & bars (cafes), calling taxis, advising on visiting Roman sights (when/how to go) & generally gave sincere attention and care to the quality of our visit to Rome. The reception desk isn't staffed 24 hrs a day, but access to the room is never limited. Internet is available anytime.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Tonnelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

We loved Arco Del Lauro. It is well-located, spotlessly clean, and Lorenza is wonderful. She made us feel very welcome and gave us excellent advice on how to navigate the city. We also appreciated the number of guidebooks she keeps on hand as well as the refrigerator with cold water, yogurts, and the delicious limoncello!

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Saynice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

For a well-located, nice, clean, yet not bank-busting place in Rome, the Arco del Lauro is probably as good as you are going to get. We stayed there for 3 nights, and its location was a short walking distance to every restaurant that we wanted to go to (also, the Jewish Ghetto and Tiber Island are very close to it). Its rooms are on the first floor of a beautiful building in Trastevere (no stairs!), and though basic, they were always clean and not decorated tackily. The bed was fine, and we had little noise at night. It is true that there really isn't much of a lobby, but there is a small room with a computer with free internet, coffee, and a refrigerator stocked with limoncello, water, and yogurt--we thought this was a nice touch. Laura, the "front desk" lady who is there only from 9-12 but will come if you call her, was really wonderful to us and was happy to explain exactly where everything is in Rome. Breakfast was at a cafe a short walk away, which was kind of nice, because you can sit outside and watch Trastevere wake up.

We do recommend the Arco del Lauro; just realize that it is basic.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredtraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

I've been in Rome for 5 days with friends of mine. We have been travelled in south Italy before to arrive in Rome and Arco del Lauro welocomed us with its cleaness and style! Simply but tstd decoreted, white and stylish rooms. Very silence during the night but in the core point of the night life (5 min walking). The owner and the assistant have been very friendly at the check in and during the stay (every morning you have few hours to ask them any kind of information or to talk with them if you feel like it!).
Breakfast is typicl italian one: capuccino and croissant at the bar at the corner but juice and jogurt whenever you want! Wi fi for free.
Really value for money (the other hotel in south Italy charged much more and internet was extra!!!)
To reccomend!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxtrot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Excellent location. Adequate rooms. A bit overpriced for what is offered & indifferent service.

Unlike many other B & Bs we've stayed at, this one appeared to operated as an absentee landlord type situation. In for a few hours everyday (from 9 am to 2:00 pm) and then gone. The office is adjacent to the four rooms & the owners(?)/hired people who run the place seemed to be little bit put out becasue we were not able to arrive and check during "their" 9-2 hours (we arrived at 4:30 pm).

The rooms were not decorated nor were there any personalized touches (other than all of the black marks all over the white walls from suitcases). If the look was intended to be modern it was more dormitory. However,it was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the room equipped with airconditioner. It was not hot enough to run the AC so we tried to sleep with the windows open & had to use earplugs because of the noise. The bathroom was clean and adequate. The halls have no ventilation and room area was very stuffy. There is no proper centralized "sitting area" - just a desk, a chair and a chair and a telephone. The wireless internet (one of the reasons we booke) did not work the four days we were there.

We read many positive reviews and decided to book the room based on those reviews. We did not have "horrible" expereince, but we would not stay there again. If you are looking for a safe, clean room in an excellent location and do not want or expect other B & B type touches, this place is OK.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyoregontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

This is a belated review of a truly terrific B&B and bargain accommodations in the incredible city of Rome. Located in a seemingly out of the way street in the Trastevere, the Arco del Lauro provides a great "base camp" for a Roman Holiday. The price is right, there's homemade Lemoncello in the fridge and the ladies who run this establishment know when to be available and when to be scarce, making you feel like you are actually living the dream in your roman villa.

I was in Rome for 5 days in November 2009 and chose the Arco del Lauro for it's price (100 eu a night I think) and the location in the famed Trastervere neighborhood. If you go, allow the propreitors to arrange a cab pick up at the airport, as it will be hard to find the first time. The fee includes a continental breakfast at a neighboring cafe (sit down only), coffee, yogurts, juices and that Lemoncello in the fridge, and internet access. Accommodations are simple and clean. The hotel is located on a quiet street, near the Tiber and across from the Jewish Ghetto. Staying there will make you feel like a "native" in no time!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieG110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Trastevere
Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Trastevere
IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arco del Lauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arco del Lauro

Property: Arco del Lauro
Address: Via Dell'Arco De' Tolomei 29/27, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arco del Lauro 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arco del Lauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Del Lauro Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing