We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel near Vatican”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
Ranked #52 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bluffton SC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great small hotel near Vatican”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We simply loved this little boutique hotel which is right across from the Vatican Museum. The rooms were very comfortable and equipped with mini frig. The complimentary breakfast met the requirements of travelers from many countries with varying tastes. They also had a complimentary PC that you were permitted to use. Please note that the two restaurants near this hotel are not open for dinner. Walk up one block, go left and you will come to an area where there are great restaurants to chose from

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElaineFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    176
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
263
290
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
271 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The Alimandi Group has 3 hostelries: (1) the 4 Star Alimandi Vaticano (AV) directly opposite the entrance to the Vatican Museum on Viale Vaticano, (2) another Alimandi Hotel 50 yards down the stairs off Viale Vaticano on Via Tunisia and (3) what they call the Alimandi B & B which is basically comprised of 3 rooms in an apartment building in back of AV with its own entrance. The B & B shares AV's services including the front desk, internet and the very attractive restaurant next to the front lobby. We stayed in the B & B for the first 4 days, went to Venice for 3 days and then stayed in AV for 2 nights before going on a 17 day cruise leaving from Rome (Civitavecchia port).

Before describing our hotel experience, let me tell you that, 3 days before leaving for Rome from our home in Thailand, my wife had a boil/cyst lanced (yes, you can guess where it was) which required daily cleansing, disinfecting and bandaging for at least 7 days; 4 of which would be in Rome. I contacted the Alimandi and described our situation to a lovely and extremely helpful young woman, Irene. Irene said we would have a great deal of difficulty getting help at any hospital in Rome and even a doctor might be difficult and certainly very expensive. Through her contacts, Irene sourced a highly recommended professional nurse who would come to the hotel each day as necessary. This turned out to be the perfect solution and we are extremely grateful to Irene.

In fact, all people on the staff were very helpful with our questions and requests for information. Even one of the owners helped me when I had difficulty with the European type room key. The B & B was renovated and changed from an apartment to 3 hotel rooms which share a private common hallway. Two of the rooms have a private bathroom (with a lock and key) in this hallway. This is not my usual mode of travel but it was fine and, for 110 Euros per night, was among the lowest I've seen. Added to that, we did not run into our neighbors in our skivvies during the night.

As I said, the last 2 nights were spent in Alimandi Vaticano and the room, while small, was lovely and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was especially nice and modern. According to the staff, AV was converted from a police station to this fine hotel in 2005 and that accounts for the immaculate conditions.

Best of all was the included breakfast in the beautifully decorated lobby restaurant which looks out to the Vatican walls. The buffet style breakfast was superb with a wide variety of eggs, cheeses, meats, pastries, etc and some delicious fresh baked cakes and cookies. I'm sure this is comparable to the best breakfasts in Italy and decidedly better than our higher priced hotel in Venice which offered donuts, cold cereals and little else. There was a young woman (I apologize for not remembering her name) working in the restaurant, a Polish immigrant, who serviced the restaurant and the tables and was an extremely pleasant person. The other servicers when they were on duty were not half as efficient or as hard working as she. She is a credit to the Alimandi.

The Alimandi has a great location next to the Vatican Museum and there are taxis always available at this location. We took the Metro for most of touring days except one day when the entire government went strike---apparently, a regular occurence but we were told this was a big one. The Metro is a pleasant 10-15 from the hotel.

All-in-all, our experience was the best and we especially thank Irene who turned a potentially disastrous several days into a great tourist experience. Many thanks, Irene!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Very nice rooms, nonsmoking, comfortable beds, all the modern conveniences. Best breakfast boufet with many choices for all travelers. There are rooftop terraces available to relax after a hard day's touring. Restaurants, gelato, bars and cafes all nearby. The Vatican Museum (reportedly the second largest museum in the world) is across the street. Rome is at the doorstep for easy exploration by foot, taxi, bus and metro. The desk personnel were very helpful and provided convenient transfers to and from the airport for us for a minimal fee. Be sure to walk the backstreets with real Romans and enjoy the little shops just a block or so away.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sensitivity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We were a family of 4 including an elderly parent sharing a Quad room, it was spacious enough and well equipped, very clean bathroom and comfortable beds. We had a view overlooking the Vatican Museum and as we were there for the purpose of visiting the Vatican City the location could not have been better.
The Hotel had an elevator to upper floors and a roof terrace accessible by elevator too.
Reception service, the breakfast buffet and Hotel Shuttle bus service to the airport were excellent.
The hotel provided excellent service in regards to booking taxis and restaurant reservations for us.
Would definitely use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cleo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

This is our 4th stay at this wonderful family run hotel in Rome. My wife and I came to pick up our daughter from a semester abroad in Firenze and we made it a family holiday. We can't thank all of the staff--including Nico and Irena--enough for answering any questions we had, making dinner reservations, and just ensuring that what we needed to coordinate mutiple arrivals during the Easter holiday. The thoughtfulness and kindness you extend to us each stay means so much to us--and we do look forward to coming back to Rome and staying with you again. We have recommended this hotel to our frinds and work colleagues as an outstanding place to stay in Rome. Our thanks again for making our stay memorable and enjoyable.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank homebrewer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Right next to Vatican City. We stayed in the bed & breakfast which is affiliated with the hotel. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uschi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Believe all the reviews about Hotel Alimandi Vaticano. It's a beautiful hotel located right across the street from the Vatican Museums. The rooms are impeccable, beautifully furnished and decorated, with plush, comfy beds, large bathrooms and open rooms. The staff were extremely helpful with every detail we needed including inexpensive private shuttle service to and from the airports (via Mercedes chauffered cars). The breakfast buffet was terrific as well! Great selection of food and the wait staff were friendly and helpful - so much so that our "guy" remembered our morning drink orders and had them ready for us each time we came in!
The location of the hotel is also central to the metro, local shopping areas, the Vatican and St. Peter's, and is ideal for a stay in Rome. Again, the front desk staff are there to help you get around and are more than happy to recommend places to visit and eat. It's in a safe area with friendly people, with day and nightlife happening all around (but not noisy). Highly recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mipal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#36 of 1,256 in Rome
719 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#60 of 1,256 in Rome
607 reviews
Heart Hotel
#93 of 1,256 in Rome
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#46 of 1,256 in Rome
668 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#115 of 1,256 in Rome
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alimandi Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alimandi Vaticano

Property: Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
Address: Viale Vaticano 99, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#34 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#48 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alimandi Vaticano 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel in the Alimandi’s family crown, opened in 2002 this fantastic structure offers luxury rooms and suites facing the entrance to the Vatican museums. All the rooms are stylishly decorated in the liberty style and offer all the modern conveniences one would expect from a hotel of its quality and reputation. The extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast is served in the ground floor breakfast room, while there is a roof terrace with views over the Vatican walls available for special occasion, or simply to catch a little sun. There is the usual extensive concierge service at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alimandi Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimandi Vaticano Hotel
Alimandi Vaticano Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing