We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and Modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
Ranked #49 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Alimandi Vaticano in May for 2 nights. We wanted a hotel that was close to the Vatican Museum. This hotel was across the street from the enterance of the museum. The street that the hotel is on is quite busy and noisy, however with the sound proof windows through out the hotel, we heard nothing. Our room was small as expected for Europe, there was lots of closet and drawer space. The bathroom was modern, large and extremly clean. The free buffet breakfast was hugh and delicious, althought they did have a few items that were a little strange for breakfast, ie chicken wings. The staff were warm, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baldharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

We have stayed at the Alimandi in Rome twice. The first time we experience a great level of service. The staff are friendly, the rooms very clean and spacious and it is located just opposite the Vatican Museum entrance. The buffet breakfast is really impressive and genuinely has so much choice of good quality food that it is bewildering but in a nice way!

We have always ran ahead and they negotiate a room price and will also pick you up from Fumicino.

The second time we stayed the staff really came into their own. I was pickpocketted in the subway and lost money and my driving license. Because of the latter, we were unable to hire a car to continue the rest of our holiday to Umbria. In passing, we told the hotel staff and they could not do enough to assist us. They arranged telephone calls, sent faxes and e-mails etc. However, way beyond the call of duty, the owner of the hotel used some connections with a local car hire company to help us overcome the problem of no license and persuaded them to give me a car using the temporary cover document I had been sent from the UKDVLA (may own petitioning of all the firms just got a plain 'no way'). All was saved and thanks to this guy's basic concern and kindness.

So, not only a great place and location but run by the type of people you hope you will meet in an emergency!!

If you are looking for a place in Rome, look no further. its a great place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonstok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We found both the hotel and its staff to be most pleasing. It is located right across from the entrance to the Vatican Museum. It is also located close to a number of restaurants, a block from two different large grocery stores and of course St Peters and the Vatican as a whole.
Breakfasts were a full line selection (that would be what you'd expect in the US). It has a spars but utilitarian roof patio. All in all, good location-nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brucehelm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Great room, very clean, friendly staff, modern bathroom with full size bath. Easily accommodated a family of four. Buffet breakfast had lots of selection (hot and cold). Across from the Vatican museum, under a 10 minute walk to metro, many restaurants within walking distance. Modern hotel with FREE WIFI that works in the room. Has the feel of a Marriott (which is a compliment coming from an American) but more intimate! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyFourZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This was a very lovely hotel. The staff were helpful, friendly and pleasant. The rooms were beautiful with spacious bathrooms. The mattresses were very comfortable which made for a well needed good nights sleep!
The hotel also arranged tours for us, and one of the tours to the Bourghese Gallery got cancelled. Nico went out of his way to arrange another tour for us at the Gallery on the same day but with a personal guide since no groups were available..... the personal guide was no additional expense for us!
The Vatican is directly across the street from the hotel, so you can eat your breakfast (which was our favorite meal of the day) while watching the long lines form. The breakfast there was awesome, the best of anywhere we have traveled. Everything fresh, hot and lots of it.....the cappuccino was wonderful! The young woman that takes care of the dining room guests was extremely pleasant and efficient. This is a great hotel that I would definitely stay at again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 207 and 107....both were excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We simply loved this little boutique hotel which is right across from the Vatican Museum. The rooms were very comfortable and equipped with mini frig. The complimentary breakfast met the requirements of travelers from many countries with varying tastes. They also had a complimentary PC that you were permitted to use. Please note that the two restaurants near this hotel are not open for dinner. Walk up one block, go left and you will come to an area where there are great restaurants to chose from

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ElaineFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The Alimandi Group has 3 hostelries: (1) the 4 Star Alimandi Vaticano (AV) directly opposite the entrance to the Vatican Museum on Viale Vaticano, (2) another Alimandi Hotel 50 yards down the stairs off Viale Vaticano on Via Tunisia and (3) what they call the Alimandi B & B which is basically comprised of 3 rooms in an apartment building in back of AV with its own entrance. The B & B shares AV's services including the front desk, internet and the very attractive restaurant next to the front lobby. We stayed in the B & B for the first 4 days, went to Venice for 3 days and then stayed in AV for 2 nights before going on a 17 day cruise leaving from Rome (Civitavecchia port).

Before describing our hotel experience, let me tell you that, 3 days before leaving for Rome from our home in Thailand, my wife had a boil/cyst lanced (yes, you can guess where it was) which required daily cleansing, disinfecting and bandaging for at least 7 days; 4 of which would be in Rome. I contacted the Alimandi and described our situation to a lovely and extremely helpful young woman, Irene. Irene said we would have a great deal of difficulty getting help at any hospital in Rome and even a doctor might be difficult and certainly very expensive. Through her contacts, Irene sourced a highly recommended professional nurse who would come to the hotel each day as necessary. This turned out to be the perfect solution and we are extremely grateful to Irene.

In fact, all people on the staff were very helpful with our questions and requests for information. Even one of the owners helped me when I had difficulty with the European type room key. The B & B was renovated and changed from an apartment to 3 hotel rooms which share a private common hallway. Two of the rooms have a private bathroom (with a lock and key) in this hallway. This is not my usual mode of travel but it was fine and, for 110 Euros per night, was among the lowest I've seen. Added to that, we did not run into our neighbors in our skivvies during the night.

As I said, the last 2 nights were spent in Alimandi Vaticano and the room, while small, was lovely and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was especially nice and modern. According to the staff, AV was converted from a police station to this fine hotel in 2005 and that accounts for the immaculate conditions.

Best of all was the included breakfast in the beautifully decorated lobby restaurant which looks out to the Vatican walls. The buffet style breakfast was superb with a wide variety of eggs, cheeses, meats, pastries, etc and some delicious fresh baked cakes and cookies. I'm sure this is comparable to the best breakfasts in Italy and decidedly better than our higher priced hotel in Venice which offered donuts, cold cereals and little else. There was a young woman (I apologize for not remembering her name) working in the restaurant, a Polish immigrant, who serviced the restaurant and the tables and was an extremely pleasant person. The other servicers when they were on duty were not half as efficient or as hard working as she. She is a credit to the Alimandi.

The Alimandi has a great location next to the Vatican Museum and there are taxis always available at this location. We took the Metro for most of touring days except one day when the entire government went strike---apparently, a regular occurence but we were told this was a big one. The Metro is a pleasant 10-15 from the hotel.

All-in-all, our experience was the best and we especially thank Irene who turned a potentially disastrous several days into a great tourist experience. Many thanks, Irene!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#128 of 1,271 in Rome
491 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#43 of 1,271 in Rome
785 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#57 of 1,271 in Rome
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#74 of 1,271 in Rome
703 reviews
Hotel Museum
#439 of 1,271 in Rome
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alimandi Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alimandi Vaticano

Address: Viale Vaticano 99, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#34 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#39 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £92 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alimandi Vaticano 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel in the Alimandi’s family crown, opened in 2002 this fantastic structure offers luxury rooms and suites facing the entrance to the Vatican museums. All the rooms are stylishly decorated in the liberty style and offer all the modern conveniences one would expect from a hotel of its quality and reputation. The extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast is served in the ground floor breakfast room, while there is a roof terrace with views over the Vatican walls available for special occasion, or simply to catch a little sun. There is the usual extensive concierge service at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alimandi Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimandi Vaticano Hotel
Alimandi Vaticano Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing