We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, Comfortable, good location for Vatican Museum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
Ranked #57 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Culver City, California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Clean, Comfortable, good location for Vatican Museum”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I arrived early on international flight from New York so went directly to Hotel it was 1030am, there was a small miscommunication with reservation I made on Booking.com as reservation was suppose to have been prepaid, the room was not ready and was told room would be ready around 12 and they would contact booking. com to inquire about booking prepayment, I left my luggage in luggage room, and went to Basilica which is a 10 min walk around walls on Vatican, when I returned, room was ready and the prepayment was received from booking.com, so all was good, had a large room overlooking Museum, which had a nice restroom with tub which I had asked for, the room was very clean, with marble floors and the beds were very comfy, I didn't look at mattresses but felt might be a firm memory foam , air conditioning was quite and worked excellent it was about 80 degrees out, they had nice toiletries, the breakfast buffet was good and had a good assortment, scrambled eggs, quiche bacon, fruits toast, torte, bread coffee, juice, tea, cereal, yogurt. During the day the sidewalk out front gets pretty busy with tourist gong to Museum and a few cafes next door, but after 4pm there's no one as museum closes. All and All a very good Hotel for Vatican also Metro is short walk away, I walked to Patheon, Spanish steps, shopping streets, wear comfy shoes. Front desk at Hotel was very helpful and cleaning staff excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    178
    34
    9
    8
See reviews for
270
292
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here this month. The employees were great, the size of the room was surprisingly large , the marble floor and wonderful balcony truly made this a great value.
The entrance to the Vatican museum is right across the street. Wonderful breakfast served daily. A+ experience .
Will return someday.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzzlepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with excellent location to Vatican City. Directly across the street from the Vatican museum entrance. Has a wonderful roof top patio to enjoy the cooler night air and some gelato. Marble floors in rooms. Bed is a bit hard, but I liked it. Best breakfast buffet anywhere. I felt a bit guilty that I couldn't sample/eat all of the many choices. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank spgable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Post cruise we needed to spend one night in Rome and leave early for the airport the next morning. When we arrived early our room was not ready but since they were still serving breakfast and we were leaving before breakfast the next day, they invited us to have breakfast. After a short walk our room was ready. Small room but lovely bathroom, lots of freebies, robes to use, extra toothbrushes, toothpaste, shaver w cream, besides the usual. It was a positive so we didn't need to unpack our things for the one night. TV also had a few English stations. We had our Vatican museum tickets so we walked right across the street and into the museum at our reserved time....so easy. At night it quiets down and there are plenty of places to eat. Perfect location for Vatican sightseeing but far for main Rome sights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziq614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Hotel Alimandi Vaticano is a four star hotel recommended by Rick Steve's in his guide book and my wife and I found it to be very good...we had a spacious, nicely decorated room with comfortable beds and a large bathroom. The hotel only has 24 rooms and is located right outside the Vatican walls just across the street from the Vatican Museum entrance. The hotel provides a good breakfast selection, a lobby bar and a roof terrace and limousine servie. There are number of small cafes and a some reasonably priced restaurants in the area we particularly liked Ristorante Da Giuliaroma which was only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First time in Rome and how lucky we were to choose this hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful and made seeing the sights so easy, being able to book tickets at the hotel, so convenient for the Vatican Museum over the road. The breakfast exceeded our expectations and offered so much variety kept us going all day with a small snack at great pizzerias everywhere. Irene and Nico recommended two restuarants for the eveing Terme Secco and Li'sola only a 10min walk form the hotel. The rooms were excellent for a standard double, again exceeded what we thought standard room meant. The various terraces on the roof and from hallways were great to sit a enjoy a drink we carried up from ground floor bar. Hope all these great reviews do not push the prices up!

Room Tip: 3rd floor was best with quiet rooms overlooking inside courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just arrived home after a two night stay and the hotel location, facilities, food and staff were excellent. If you are touring Rome, I can't think of a better place to stay. This is my third visit to Rome and this hotel is perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#58 of 1,259 in Rome
622 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#35 of 1,259 in Rome
728 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#51 of 1,259 in Rome
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#134 of 1,259 in Rome
458 reviews
Heart Hotel
#102 of 1,259 in Rome
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alimandi Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alimandi Vaticano

Property: Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
Address: Viale Vaticano 99, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#48 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alimandi Vaticano 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel in the Alimandi’s family crown, opened in 2002 this fantastic structure offers luxury rooms and suites facing the entrance to the Vatican museums. All the rooms are stylishly decorated in the liberty style and offer all the modern conveniences one would expect from a hotel of its quality and reputation. The extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast is served in the ground floor breakfast room, while there is a roof terrace with views over the Vatican walls available for special occasion, or simply to catch a little sun. There is the usual extensive concierge service at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alimandi Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimandi Vaticano Hotel
Alimandi Vaticano Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing