We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest staff I have encountered” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alimandi Vaticano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
Ranked #46 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
KC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The friendliest staff I have encountered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

This was my fourth trip to Italy and have been on tour three of those times. This was the friendliest staff that I have encountered. They never seemed in a hurry to get you out of the way and were kind to those who do not speak Italian. The hotel is right across from the Vatican Museum. I would stay there again in minute. I would not call it the quietest hotel, as there seem to be a lot of family groups and groups of young people. But we enjoyed it immensely. AND the breakfast was great!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    165
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
250
274
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

My husband and i stayed here at the very end of our trip around Italy. We went for a junior suite and were very impressed. The room was spacious and quiet- even though it is literally across the road from the Vatican! The bathroom was gorgeous and came complete with bathrobes and slippers- just what we needed after a hard days sightseeing. The staff spoke english and were very helpful, marking place of interest on a map they gave us and saying that if we got lost, just call them and they'd come and pick us up! They have a free airport shuttle- which was great as we couldn't be bothered dealing with the metro with our huge suitcases a second time! And now the best thing- the breakfast! So much variety, so MUCH food and all so yummy! We could've sat there and eaten all day! I'd definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Rome- I'll be going back!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalyLover2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

My sister and I (both in our 40's) chose this B&B based on location, reviews of thier sister hotel and price. We were not disappointed!!
You get to use the services of the 4 star sister hotel, but only pay the B&B prices. It's fantastic. Located right across the street from the Vatican Museum (you can't get any closer!) A wonderful full breakfast is INCLUDED in your stay. Pick up or delivery to/from the Airport at a cost of 5 euro per person, added to your bill. No need to hassle with public transportation when you get off long flight.

The staff is very friendly, accomodating and willing to answer all questions. They all speak very good English. Recommendations were made for a restaurant and it was super. A little bistro with AMAZING Italian food, not some tourist stop.

The rooms for the B&B are located in a seperate building (around the corner) from the 4 star hotel. They give you a key to the building, the room and the bathroom. Yes the bathroom is located across the hall from your room, but it is only accessable to you. It is not shared. While I would not want to have this set-up for my entire trip, having a non-shared bathroom across the hall was acceptable because of the price and the location.

Everything was VERY clean. Room had airconditioning, which worked well. There was one bed, which looked to be a Queen size. It was comfortable. There was also a TV, alarm clock and closet space. There was even free Internet access. They say it only works in the lobby, but we were able to pick up the wireless signal in our room. I really enjoyed the mosic tile flooring and the large windows which overlooked a quiet street.

The breakfast in the morning included eggs, bacon, cereal, pastries, fruit, cheese, bread, juices coffee, etc. We asked for a Cafe Latte which the wait staff made and brought to us. The hotel seemed to have mostly American and German tourists, in their mid 30's to mid 50's. It was a lovely place to start our vacation. As two ladies traveling on our own, we always felt safe and comfortable.

We paid 90 euro plus 10 euro for the airport transportation, a fantastic price for what you get.

If you are on a budget, but want GREAT service, GREAT location, and GREAT breakfasts, please consider this place. It really exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

Hotel arranged for shuttle bus to pick us up from Ciampino airport- very nice.
Cost 60 euros total for the 6 of us- very worth it.
Then on arrival we learned our B&B wasn't going to be the one featured on the web site.
At first we thought they were baiting and switching - but we were wrong.
Fortunately we didn't freak out, because the apartment we got was as good or better.
Rooms clean, but not real fancy.
Normal Rome apartment living.
Nice bathrooms, fridge.
Right across from their hotel - so breakfast was easy.
They gave our family of 6 two rooms/two baths - which was nice.
Free wireless wi-fi from the hotel was great- plus there was a computer at the hotel if you needed it- with printer.
But the real gem was the service Paolo Alimandi gave us (yes this hotel system is truly family run)
He offered to get our tickets for the papal audience from across town, washed all our clothes (twice) and never charged us, gave us excellent restaurant recommendations, and got us special tickets for a papal event at St Paul's Outside the Walls where we got within 40 feet of the pope- great pictures! Several restaurants we went to on his recommendation gave us special treats, free ice cream, etc. since we came on Paolo's recommendation.
Location was great near the Vatican museums.
Near a big city market too- which was fun.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILOVURUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

We loved the little hotel near the Vatican, literally across the street from the entrance to the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel. You don't have to wake up too early to line up for tickets since you are a few hundred feet away from the entrance! The lines get super long and in the hot sun, it is not fun!

The size of the room was perfect for our needs. The ambience is great, very nice finishing, very elegant, very clean. We were told that we got the biggest room in the hotel with the balcony because there were 4 of us. It had 2 queen beds and one bathroom. The balcony looked out onto the street and we could see the gate to the Vatican Museum. Even if it was in a busy street, the windows were all double-paned hence it was very quiet at night. I loved our room!

The breakfast buffet is great. The coffee, croissants, pastries, hot dishes were fantastic and the staff in the dining room, was extremely friendly and consistently hospitable. We were greeted with a smile every morning.

We loved the location because we wanted to spend a lot of time at the Vatican. We went to St. Peter's Basilica for Vespers then Mass on Sunday evening. We also went for the Angelus and Papal blessing at noon. On Wednesday morning, we went for the Papal audience and we were right there. We could go back to our hotel midday to rest and cool ourselves since it was very hot (July). The ice machine beside the elevator is a brilliant idea and convenient for all the guests.

There is a very popular gelato place on the way to St. Peter's Basilica. There were always long lines! It is called Old Bridge Gelateria (delicious gelato) and a small, non-descript Creperia beside it (same owner), with great crepes and it was an economical dinner option!

The only downside to this hotel was the staff at the Reception Desk. The personnel did not seem happy to work there. They did not go out of their way to try to help us with information or make reservations for restaurants. I don't know what the problem was but something was not right. We stayed for a week and on the 5th day, our room was not made up and it was 3pm! That was not acceptable!

If only the reception staff was more friendly and helpful, I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly and give it a 5-star rating. The 4-star rating I give them is for the quality of the room, the breakfast, dining room staff and location. They have a great boutique hotel but the Reception staff seem unhappy! You know the expression "Aim to please"? We did not get this feeling at this hotel but we were out a lot so we just ignored it.

Helpful?
Thank Anaknilinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Found on tripadvisor. As good as expected. Complimentary pickup at airport flawless. Very nice and helpful staff. Large room by American standards let alone European standards. Nicely appointed room. Free internet. Comfortable beds. Great complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Located directly across from Vatican Museum entrance. Vatican tour groups assemble on the steps right next to the hotel making you visit to the Vatican very easy. 5 minute walk to bus or train to get to all the other must see sites.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spotf15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cary, nc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

I searched trip advisor for several weeks looking for hotels on my first ever trip to Europe. This hotel was AWESOME!! The owner had our bags up to our room before I even checked in! We paid 159 euro's per night, well worth it!! Located on a side street thats just across the street from the museum entrance to the Vatican. (You walk out the front door, go up about 20 broad steps, and you'll see the Vatican museum entrance) You can follow the Vatican wall around to the opening to St. Peters square in an easy 5-10 minute walk. You can catch all the open air tour buses here at the entrance and they will take you everywhere rather than taking cabs. You can buy a 48 hour tour ticket to save more money. The rooms are super clean and the bathroom looked new and a good size for American travelers. The roof top buffet every morning was excellent and cozy. Chef Francesco was very friendly and fell all over the guests and knew every ones names immediately. The a/c was excellent and the beds roomy and comfortable. The downstairs had several public rooms, billiard room, TV room with big leather couches, and a bar/lounge. The owners called us a cab and talked to the driver to make sure we were not going to get ripped off, which we were not. The cab ride to the Spanish steps was about 7-8 euro's. The owners recommended a restaurant a few blocks away called Rusticello which was great. They said to mention their name which we did, and we had 2 bottles of wine, and the owner brought us after dinner drinks as well, all at no charge!!! The 8 euro all you can eat buffet was excellent with a huge variety to pick from. It was a local hangout which was packed. We ate outside and enjoyed the local traffic. Overall, I will definitely stay here again no matter what part of the city we want to see. What a gem of a find for an American traveler used to larger US hotels. Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiserguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#38 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#39 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#57 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hearth Hotel
Hearth Hotel
#69 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alimandi Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alimandi Vaticano

Property: Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
Address: Viale Vaticano 99, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#34 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#48 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alimandi Vaticano 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel in the Alimandi’s family crown, opened in 2002 this fantastic structure offers luxury rooms and suites facing the entrance to the Vatican museums. All the rooms are stylishly decorated in the liberty style and offer all the modern conveniences one would expect from a hotel of its quality and reputation. The extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast is served in the ground floor breakfast room, while there is a roof terrace with views over the Vatican walls available for special occasion, or simply to catch a little sun. There is the usual extensive concierge service at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Alimandi Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimandi Vaticano Hotel
Alimandi Vaticano Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing