We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
Ranked #51 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We were impressed with the great customer service of the concierge/front desk personnel of the Hotel especially Irene. We checked in at 11pm due to flight delays and all the restaurants within close walking distance from the hotel were closed already so Irene helped us order a pizza and got it delivered to our room.
The next day she went out of her way and helped us book a 3 hr chauffeur driven guided minivan tour of the main sites of Rome. it was a Sunday and a public holiday so a few places she called were already booked but she found someone who could do it also at a time we preferred.Mauro spoke excellent English and was not just a mere chauffeur but excellent tourguide as well.

The buffet breakfast at the hotel was great, we could see the queues forming for the Vatican Museum outside.
We booked a quad family for the 4 of us and it was spacious even with 2 big double beds in the room and ceiling high enough that we didnt feel cramped in. Room was clean and bathroom modern and spacious. Our one complain was the air-conditioning couldnt be better regulated and we were too cold !

We booked a 3 hour tour of the Vatican Museum which included St Paul's Basilica with Presto Tours and the meeting point of the tour was conveniently right next to the Alimandi hotel so the 8.30am start wasnt a problem at all.

Thanks again to Irene, she gave a great personal touch to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2010

We arrived at this hotel after a nightmare taxi ride from the airport,(Ciampino). Warning! make sure you agree the price before you set off as we were charged 60 Euros and would have been left on the side of the road if we had not paid. The hotel reception was cool light and airey and the girl behind the counter was very helpful. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked the entrance to the Vatican. The room was spotless and the air conditioning brilliant. Breakfast was buffet stlye and included hot and cold dishes with plenty of choice. The hotel was ideally placed for all the sights and a few hundred metres from the tour bus stop. There are plenty of restaurants nearby but more value and better food can be found if you take one of the many side streets near the hotel.
We booked a airport shuttle for our return journey for 50 euros from reception and were taken back in a top of the range Mercedes. My son was even car sick on the way back but the driver was lovely even offering to pull over if needed.
Only one downside of the hotel was the male receptionist was not as helpfull as the two girls.
One the whole a brilliant Hotel which we will use again in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy6466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This was our second trip to Rome and so much better than our first. Our first trip the hotel cost us $600 a night and really wasn't worth it ,although we were within walking distance of everything. I found this hotel on Tripadvisor after a lot of research and I'm so glad I did as it turned out to be perfect. We stayed 2 nights before a cruise in November and 1 night after the cruise. Communication with the hotel via e-mail through their website went without any problems---they always answered the e-mails very promptly. After a phone call from the airport they picked us up---at the time it only cost 5 euros a person. We arrived early, but breakfast is not included on the first day---but the front desk sent up coffee and cookies to our room.

This is a non-smoking hotel, and both my husband and myself are smokers, but we were given a room with a private patio that had a table and chairs with a view of the Vatican entrance where we were allowed to smoke, so it worked out perfect for us. The first room we had was very large and had a seperate sitting area and a king sized bed. The room we had after the cruise had 2 queen sized beds and once again a private patio.

The staff were very friendly and knowedgeable and gave us very good recommendations for dinner. The breakfast in the morning was very good with a large variety of food.

We took a tour bus near St. Peter's Square for 10 euros each that allowed us to get on and off at different destinations for a 24 hour period, so we were still able to see a lot of the major attractions.

We hired a shuttle to take us to and from the port and this turned out very well also.

All in all, we loved this hotel and the next time we go to Rome, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mficke0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Amazed by this hotel. When our taxi driver was taking us to the hotel, he said "This is the Vatican on your right. This is the main entrance and oh, hang on... let me back the car up. This is your hotel." We literally were right across the street from the Vatican entrance which was PERFECT since it rained a good portion of our trip. On a side note, we were also thankful we bought our Vatican tickets in advance so we didn't have to stand in the line that wrapped around the wall. It seriously would have been a 2 hour wait had we not bought our tickets in advance.
Back to the hotel. The rooms were the size of western hotel rooms. I was amazed by that since I expected tiny, cramped rooms. We got separate rooms because of this, but in hindsight, we would have been fine with one room. The bathroom was big enough too.
There also wasn't a concern with the street noise since I kept the windows closed. They were well insulted, but had they not been, the cars driving by could have possibly been a distraction while trying to sleep.
The hotel was very clean and up-to-date on the decor.
The only issue was the internet service. In order to get a good connection, we had to go to the lobby. No biggie, just good to know.
The staff was great too. Helped us with dinner recommendations, transportation, and turned on the a/c in our rooms when requested. We were afraid that was going to be an extra charge, but it wasn't. That may have been included in our package, so just ask beforehand if you're concerned.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cll77008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This hotel was very nice, although I think it was a little overpriced for the combination of location and quality of rooms. If you are only visiting the Vatican while in Rome, this is the place for you, however. The door to the Museum can be seen from the door of this hotel. Otherwise, it is much too far out of the way to enjoy the city easily. You have to spend too much time going back and forth on metros, or in my case when I had to take a taxi back to the hotel, a fortune in taxis. We were here 3 days at the beginning of our trip and were scheduled to be here the last day, but when I saw how far out of the way it was, I changed the booking for the last day. In the hotel's defense, it was probably my fault for not researching the location better - someone recommended it and booked it for me.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jduganmitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Choice was made from Rick Steve's book. Located across from the Vatican. Very clean and good size double room. Staff very helpful and willing to give suggestions.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolsphc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Charmed by the location and service in this lovely hotel just one step from Vatican City!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urania289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#54 of 1,269 in Rome
676 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#56 of 1,269 in Rome
682 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#123 of 1,269 in Rome
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#41 of 1,269 in Rome
759 reviews
Heart Hotel
#132 of 1,269 in Rome
465 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#66 of 1,269 in Rome
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alimandi Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alimandi Vaticano

Address: Viale Vaticano 99, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#34 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#48 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £103 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alimandi Vaticano 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel in the Alimandi’s family crown, opened in 2002 this fantastic structure offers luxury rooms and suites facing the entrance to the Vatican museums. All the rooms are stylishly decorated in the liberty style and offer all the modern conveniences one would expect from a hotel of its quality and reputation. The extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast is served in the ground floor breakfast room, while there is a roof terrace with views over the Vatican walls available for special occasion, or simply to catch a little sun. There is the usual extensive concierge service at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alimandi Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimandi Vaticano Hotel
Alimandi Vaticano Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing