We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with small rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Church Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Church Village
Ranked #1,123 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with small rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel from outside looks very nice. Its situated in the garden and hotel buildings look nice and new. First we get the room which was very small and nousy (noisy AC). When we complained about noisy AC, they changed our room for a bigger one but there was mould (it was ground floor). Than we changed the room for the first one back and we switched off the AC in the evening. Breakfast is variet and the breakfast room is also nice. If you want to go to the city, you have to také bus and then metro (about 1 hour to get to the downtown)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    136
    110
    74
    76
See reviews for
73
137
16
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ossining, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The rooms are quite decent though very basic. No WiFi except expensive in – room service, or free in lobby with very low access speeds in. Transportation to center of Rome is difficult.

Food is adequate but no fresh fruits at all. Not a place to stay unless you have to be there for a conference. In that case it is adequate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was great for the money. Rooms small but designed in such a way i had room to do yoga stretches. Very clean, maid came every day. It is obviously a place for school/band/swim teams etc to stay. If I came to Rome again, I would find somewhere closer but the way I thought about it this time was, the accommodation was great for money and although we had a half hour journey to St Peters Basilica and the Vatican ( longer to anywhere else with bus changes ) we got to know Rome pretty well in our 5 days and had lots of lovely meals with the money we saved on the hotel. We would HIGHLY recommend info@romeshuttlelimousine.com to pick up and drop off at the airport! Made it so stress free and we couldn't help but feel a little smug watching all the people in a mad scramble to try and get on the bus. Was €105 return which worked out at perhaps double the cost of getting buses but we were able to start enjoying our holiday AT LEAST 2 hours earlier.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank trudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is a quiet neighborhood (maybe a bit too quiet for some), located in separate buildings in a garden area. Check-in quick and efficient, staff helpful, fluent in English. The rooms are small, bathroom even smaller but very clean. Can take a while to figure out how to turn on the TV or the lights but most people will really struggle with the AC as it is Italian made :-)

The bar is open till 11 PM, breakfast stereotypical but manages what is expected from weekend package hotel. I would be a bit negative about the public transportation from the place because you will eventually end up walking.

Overall a good budget hotel but nothing you would like to remember for the rest of your days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milan_czech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just spent the weekend here. The price reflects what you get for your money, it was clean, had AC and a safe in the room which was good. It is a 10-12 min bus ride away from the Vatican though @ 1.50 Euro each way.Better to buy the day pass if your going back and forth from the bar inside the hotel. The buses were frequent and stop close to the hotel. It was just a pity there was no pool to be honest to cool down. There is a smallish garden area outside to sit and relax. The breakfast was ok, nothing special, but adequate. Stay here if you want a budget price hotel and don't mind getting the bus/taxi in and out of town. We caught the last bus Saturday night back to the hotel at midnight...else it would have been a taxi home. We never tried the Metro as the bus works well to be honest if a little crowded at times.

Room Tip: All rooms are well set back from the road, so no noise to worry about
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chelskiBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel has several buildings in the nice environment, garden with trees. Rooms are small, free wifi only in lobby. They charge 5 euro per hour for not wifi room internet. they have poor breacfast withou vegitables.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irmakirtadze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

hotel rooms basic, clean comfy bed crisp white cotton sheets. small shower. Free safe, fridge and hairdryer, only let down by the need for fresh lick of paint. Breakfast excellent all tastes catered for. Staff very helpful. lovely quiet gardens to chill and relax in after the hustle and bustle of Rome. Rome is the easiest city in terms of public transport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jasonlovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.4 mi away
The Church Palace
The Church Palace
#450 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Park Hotel Pamphili
Green Park Hotel Pamphili
#611 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Aurelia
Occidental Aurelia
#247 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel Bright
Hotel Bright
#768 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#439 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#482 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Village

Property: The Church Village
Address: Via di Torre Rossa 94, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly Domus Pacis Torre Rossa Park)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,123 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Church Village 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Church Village in Rome is located in the immediate vicinity of the Villa Doria Pamphili park and is 3 km from the Vatican City. This 3 star hotel offers 235 comfortable rooms divided between four buildings set in a magnificent park, whilst the main body of the hotel is home to the hall, the conference areas, the restaurant and the bar with its pretty outdoor seating area. Here guests can avail from a wide choice of drinks, aperitifs and a selection of pizzas and light dishes for either lunch or dinner. Amongst the services and facilities on offer guests can avail of the hotel's large outdoor car park free of charge. At The Church Village visitors can relax and enjoy the peace of this calm and tranquil area, away from the noise and bustle of the busy city centre, yet still within striking distance of the action. Busses stop outside the property and go to the Cornelia metro station (line A) from where you can travel directly to Termini railway station, Piazza di Spagna or the Vatican City. Attention to detail and care for our guests are the fundamental characteristics of The Church Village Hotel, whose multilingual staff are on hand to satisfy out guests' needs, whether tourist, family or business orientated, ensuring that relaxation and comfort are the elements that distinguish your visit to the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Church Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Pacis Torre Rossa Park Hotel Rome
Torre Rossa Park Rome
Hotel Torre Rossa Park
Torre Rossa Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing