We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Nice staff”
Review of Hotel Dolomiti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dolomiti
Ranked #647 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel on April 2012. It’s managed by a nice family. We had very good time in Rome and this hotel.
Pros:
• Great location. It was walking distance to Termini, subway station and old Rome. There were very good restaurants and coffee shops in neighborhood.
• Room was so clean. Good and clean double bed. They cleaned the room every day.
• Bathroom was so clean and everything was new, also it had bidet that was so good and interesting.
• Very nice and friendly people. The manager, his wife, daughter, his sons and night shifts were so nice.
• Good breakfast, fresh bread and croissants. Ask the lady for their perfect cappuccino.

Cons:
• Wi-Fi wasn’t free, but the price was reasonable (10e for 6 Hours). But it didn’t work properly. I think their internet provider or contractor didn’t do good job. It took 10 minutes to load a simple webpage and we couldn’t login to our mail and Facebook during our stay. Even we couldn’t load Google map to find some addresses.

Suggestions:
• Fix the internet connection
• Add at least one English Channel to TV channels (BBC or CNN)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shahrokh1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights, the hotel was clean, staff were friendly, breakfast was great and it was great value for money. There was a metro stop 2 minutes walk from hotel and we travelled to all main tourist attractions on metro for only 4 euro a day (cost of day ticket). The hotel was also only 10-15 minute walk or one stop on metro from main train station (Termini Station) in Rome. We caught Leonardo express train from airport to this station then walked to hotel ...much cheaper than a taxi! Excellent hotel and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATIEnSHAUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

For the price I paid for this hotel, I wasn't expecting too much! But I have to say it was a little gem and fantastic value for money. Just a 5 minute walk from Termini and a 2 minute walk from the nearest Metro, it is very conveniently located. It is housed on the 1st floor of an old building - the entrance hall and lift are a bit jaded, but don't be put off, because once you step into the Dolomiti's little lobby, you'll be very pleasantly surprised! Very compact, but spottlessly clean, nicely decorated and every member of staff we encountered during our stay could not have been more friendly or helpful. Our room was not a bad size at all for a 3 star city hotel, with a lovely little bathroom complete with walk in enclosed shower. Again, everything was spotlessly clean, I couldn't fault it! Of course you can hear traffic with the windows open, but once the windows were shut, it was almost completely sound proofed. there was air conditioning, although we didn't need it in March (best time of year to visit Rome by the way!).
Again, we weren't expecting too much for breakfast, but wrong again! There was a wonderful selection of fresh pastries and croissants, as well as cereal, yoghurt and fruit, and although the coffee from the machine was pretty unpleasant, the staff offered to make a cappucino every morning and that was delicious!
I really haven't got anything negative to say about this hotel at all and I would have no hesitation either recommending it or staying there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 404 which had twin beds and a lovely bathroom - also faces out on to a side street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel was wonderfully located. Our room was clean and not too small. We faced the street and it was absolutely quiet at night. The breakfast was adequate and the free internet usage was nice. It is very close to the Castro Pretorio station and fairly close to Termini, too. The elevator stops between floors so you must carry luggage for a few steps regardless of the floor you stay on. There was a great pizza place just down the street that we frequented several times. It's to the right near the end of the street. We didn't have any problems to speak of and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brendab72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The hotel was great! The staff was really nice and helpfull, The room was clean and quiet. The location was perfect - 50 meters from the metro station and 5 minutes from the termini station.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shiri r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here in June '11 and was surprised at how much better the area to the right of the train station (as you leave through the front) is than the left. Quieter, more business-like neighborhood with an adequate number of shops and restaurants. The hotel was clean, staff was nice, bathroom fairly large for Rome, A/C worked great, window opened onto busy side street but with double-shutters it was absolutely silent at night. I usually stay in charming, more personal B&B's so I'm not used to the coldness of a large hotel, but this one was fine, if a bit pricey for the value. But I went during the peak season. Breakfast was just ok, unless you like Costco-type croissants and forgettable coffee & espresso, but I never base my stay on the breakfast quality. The hotel is very close to a metro station or if you want to walk about 10 minutes you can go to Termini Station--really easy!! All staff spoke English. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I have to say this is a below average hotel. First of all, the elevator does stop at each floor. The day we (4 of us) arrived, the elevator didn't work at all. We had to carry our luggage from the ground floor to the 2nd floor. The room was clean, but very small, so is the bathroom. There is a tiny TV with only 8 channels. There was no wireless or it was broken. You can only use the computer in the lobby to check schedules or emails.
The breakfast was included. The staffs working there were very nice. We stayed there for 5 nights, and they remembered us after the 1st day. The espresso thing mentioned by the other reviewer is true. They don't offer it, but you can ask them to make an espresso for you with no additional charge. I had a nice cappuccino every morning there.
Most of the staffs at the front desk were nice and helpful. One gentleman working there who probably speaks best English among them was a bit odd. When we checked in, it was very late at night, and we just wanted to get the key and go to our room. After he took care of the passport stuff, he started this long lecture about elevator, breakfast, minibar in the room, and even the history of the hotel and its relationship to the other hotel in the same building ... He got really upset when he saw me looking at the map on the shelf, and told me to pay attention. I felt like an elementary student there. The evening before we checked out, we ran into him in the hallway. He asked us to check out that evening, but pay and return the key the next morning. He gave a really lengthy explanation that I didn't quite understand. I don't know what else we need to do besides making the payment and returning the key. We pretty much ignored him.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip4Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Pinewood Hotel
#393 of 1,271 in Rome
791 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#250 of 1,271 in Rome
1,346 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Cambridge
Hotel Cambridge
#801 of 1,271 in Rome
296 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#745 of 1,271 in Rome
204 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Villafranca
Hotel Villafranca
#500 of 1,271 in Rome
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dolomiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolomiti

Address: Via San Martino della Battaglia 11 | Next Metro Line B - Castro Pretorio, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #647 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £43 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dolomiti 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice hotel in the centre of Rome just 5 minutes walk from the main Railway Station Termini and next the Subway stop of Castro Pretorio by which you can arrive in 5 minutes to all the historiacal centre: Colosseum, Forum etc.. Rooms with all comforts (a/c too)Services: bar, breakfast room, tours, free wifi in the common areas, free maps, fax services. In the area: restaurants, parking, market, Pharmacie etc. A pleasant and helpful atmosphere will guarantee a very special holiday in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dolomiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolomiti Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing