We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for the Young at Heart!”
Review of B&B University

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B University
Ranked #1,883 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic for the Young at Heart!”
Reviewed 1 October 2008

THE HOTEL:

Upon our arrival, I have to admit that my first impressions weren't great, for two reasons - it wasn't well signed on the outside (without printing something off Google Maps, there was no way we would have found it) and it's not necessarily hotel-like - the complex seemed to be an upstairs block of rooms in a residential/commercial building.

But that really didn't matter... the guy who showed us to our rooms was really helpful, and pointed out to us which bus to catch to the centre of Rome, where all the attractions were, and even recommended a good restaurant.

The room itself was very spacious, decorated in a modern style, extremely clean and came with free Internet access. The private bathroom was also large in size - very modern, with a more than spacious shower. The sheer amount of space made me wonder if they'd put us in the right room! Of course, they had, but I just didn't expect this much space for £40 p/n.

One other great thing was the breakfast. Each morning, we were treated to paninis and a selection of ham and cheese. I'm not big on breakfasts to be honest, but this was a great way to start off the day's trekking and it was also included in the price. The coffee was also to die for in my humble opinion! Real Italian stuff.

THE LOCATION:

This bit is important if you're a discerning traveller. The hotel is located in the University area, about 15 minutes walk away from the Roma Termini (main train station). There was a selection of eateries nearby, plus a few street cafes and ice cream parlours to choose from. But just be aware that this is not really a tourist area - if you want to be in the heart of it all and you presumably have a bigger budget, then I wouldn't recommend staying in this area. Otherwise, if you don't mind the walking around to get to the bustling areas then this hotel in particular is by far the best place to stay in Rome as far as value for money goes.

I would certainly book here again if I ever return to Rome!

  • Liked — The cleanliness and quality of accommodation.
  • Disliked — Only the location, if I'm being picky.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

It’s taken me a while to get round to writing this but here goes

The best part is the price, as Rome hotels are so expensive. This is a little out of the centre but a bus ride will get you there in no time, and they run late so you can have dinner in the city.

Breakfast was awesome, the misses likes her toast so had coffee and the yoghurt but I loved the cold meats and selection you get :-)

The rooms are simple, as it is a cheap price you get what you need, it’s clean, and kept maintained so it looks fresh i.e. curtains bed boards haven’t faded etc.

There is a safe in the room.

It is a bit noisy but I’d imagine it would be like that throughout many parts of Rome, as you have narrow streets and high buildings for the sound to travel, we closed the storm shutter’s which helps and you’re so tired from looking at all the sights we slept like logs.

Good shower, fresh sheets and towels regularly changed and the lady that serves the breakfast and sorts the rooms out is lovely.

There are some great places to eat around the area, loving our food we tried many places to eat but we went to a restaurant only a couple of streets away near some bars, it has a red pavilion outside and a decking that was on the pavement, we called it Lady Muccas – it’s not actually that because we could never remember the name! A lot of Italians eat there which pulled us in and they have an English menu, at first I was thinking oh no touristy place but the food was the best we had and the best priced, we ate at many of the restaurants around the Piazza Novona and the Pantheon that cost a fortune and could not compare to this, and some places down side streets that looked non tourist driven still could not beat it, hunt it out it’s well worth it!!!

Don’t hesitate, book it (unless you are really troubled by noise)! I used reserver.it to book

  • Liked — price / quality
  • Disliked — a little noisy but it makes it exciting
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

Great B & B located near Termini. Bus line nearby which takes you to all parts of the City; also about a 15 minute walk to Termini. A little hard to find but very secure.

Owner is very, very helpful and having a computer in the room is great. We used the metro & bus website to map out all our locations for the next day using public transportation which worked wonderfully. Can be a lot of street noise at night; if that bothers you, might want to bring earplugs.

A great value for Rome.

  • Liked — value and location
  • Disliked — hard to find
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TXcatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2008

We loved the location, service and convenience..... not to mention the free internet. We had our little 15 month old boy with us and used the kitchen every night to cook his meals, or ours. There was a local supermarket just round the corner and a number of fantatstic places to grab a bite to eat or have a sit down meal. The owner (Dominico) was extremely helpful with directions and ideas and the breakfast, although not what you would get in a hotel was very good for the money and fresh.

Dominico organised a car to pick us up at the airport for 40 Euro and it brought us straight to the B & B.

We stayed the first three nights of our italy trip here and the last two nights before returning home. Dominico upgraded us to the biggest room for the last two nights at no extra charge!

We would recommend this B & B to anyone wanting the convenience of being on a main bus route into rome (15 minutes). There was a great park for kids near by, an ATM on the corner and 10 minutes walk to Termini Station (with a 15 month old!).

The really great thing about this B & B and area is you mix it with the locals of rome, not touristy but a safe area. We even had our washing done at the local laundrymat.

It's great value for money and can't recommend it highly enough!! Thanks Dominico and ?Mika (not sure of the beautiful lady who prepared the breakfast and cleaned but she was fantastic!!!)

Rooms were one bed room with ensuite/bathroom (90 Euro per night). Facilities were perfect and security was great as it is located within an apartment building with secure doors. Had a safe, TV, internet, great airconditioning (which was a god send!) and clean, neat and modern. We wish Dominic all the best for the future and hopefully we will see him again soon..... as soon as someone can take care of the kids!!!

  • Liked — Value for money, location, hospitality and airconditioning!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Emgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK and Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2008

This is a wonderful bed & breakfast in a nice area of Rome close to rome main train station. Our room was very clean, nicely decorated with a computer/TV, table and chair, and a good size en-suite. The bed was also very comfortable.

You are only a 15 minute walk to the train station, 2 minute walk to the bus station that passes by the train station, 1 minute walk to a Pizzaria, and 2 minute walk to a cheap grocery store and a small market. Thus, the location was awesome.

Breakfast was great, we got a plate full of meat, cheese, bread, and croissants, every morning. There was plenty of food, and you are also allowed to use the kitchen facility while you are there.

Domenico, the owner was also very nice and he actually gave us a ride to the airport, which we thought was very nice.

You do need to pay in cash, until they get a card machine.

We will definitely stay here again if we are ever in Rome and recommend this place to everyone we know as I can't think of any negatives.

  • Liked — Friendly Service and comfortable bed
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moonl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koeln, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

We had our vacation in Rom for one week in Oktober 2006. This was a great B&B. The breakfast (Fruehstueck) was included and very good/plentiful. The preis of the B&B is SUPER...can not do better in Rom.
Owner is friendly and gives info about passes to sightsee. Clean room with private bathroom, television and computer in room.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SK8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
846 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

Having looked on the internet for reasonable priced hotels in Rome I rapidly came to the conclusion that Rome was NOT cheap!. Quite by accident I saw a review here on "Trip Advisor" and they were really excellent but best of all I loved the price. The only hotel B&B I found which had rave reviews and cheap.
I had read the review about difficult to find and so was well prepared to spend the night looking at entry phones! but putting the address into Google Earth it was easy to pinpoint and infact found it in minutes. Technology is so wonderful!
The outside of the building resembles a very poor rundown area of Russia and is quite offputting especially to someone who is not a city dweller like myself but fears soon fade away when you are met by the owner who greats you in such a friendly manner.
He immediately makes you feel at home showing you the equipment of the room - air conditioning, shower and bathroom controls and of course the internet and TV. Loads of channels if you are a TV watcher but all in Italian!! (I feel quite sure if I had asked or needed TV it would have been retuned etc etc to UK channels - In Rome TV shouldnt be required!)
He provided us with detailed maps of the area and showed us tram, train and bus stops in the area. Eating places he thought we would like were marked and 2 of them were tried and found most acceptable both being good Italian basic eateries.
The room and other communal areas were modern and superbly clean. The use of the kitchen was available - nice and basic and clean - everything that you would need.
Bedding towels etc were changed many times on my 7 day stay and found the whole experience excellent. The bathroom was superbly equipped small but very neat and spotless. Breakfast was wholesome - breads, meats, yoghurt, croissant & coffee - a good start for a hard slog round the city.
Have I said enough? You get the drift! Loved it - very very good value and well run by the most pleasant helpful guy (English spoken) and staff.
Will be staying again next time.
Dont be put off by the area it looks far worse than it is just takes getting used to - Most of Rome is falling apart anyway!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and central location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard-Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Foresteria Roma
Foresteria Roma
#663 of 1,258 in Rome
119 reviews
San Lorenzo
Ca' degli Equi
Ca' degli Equi
#237 of 3,669 in Rome
107 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#371 of 1,258 in Rome
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,144 of 3,669 in Rome
90 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,681 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,258 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B University

Property: B&B University
Address: Via Dei Sardi 32, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo , Tiburtino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,883 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing