We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What? Seriously?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carcere Mamertino

Carcere Mamertino
Book In Advance
More Info
US$88.34*
and up
Christianity in the Ancient Rome Private Tour
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
254 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“What? Seriously?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

My friends an I got the OmniaPass for easy access to the Vatican museums, and St. Peter's Prison was on the list of free attractions offered by this pass. We didn't actually plan to visit this place, but it was right outside the Forum, so it seemed like a waste not to go in.

In fact, it was a complete waste. What greeted us was an audio tour. We went down to the one cell and listened to some audio. Up to that point it was sort of OK for a start. But then we were led into a bunch of other run-of-the-mill rooms to watch some videos and more audio. The most ridiculous part was a "story" about Rome's walls "arguing" with one another. Then everything ended and we were again outside.

The experience was so strange and so far from what any of us expected that we now even have an inside joke about the place, where "St. Peter's Prison" for us means anything that doesn't meet expectations in a completely ridiculous and jaw-dropping way.

Avoid this place, and definitely don't pay for it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ynhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    33
    24
    16
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Definitely worth your time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

A bit apprehensive after reading some of the bad reviews on this website. I went in not expecting much but walked out with a deeper understanding of what Peter and Paul endured during their imprisonment. The audio about the rocks talking to each other is simply to dramatize the fact that the foundations were laid at different times. I honestly think it was a fabulous presentation! After going in the dungeon you are led up to the church above for a light and audio presentation on the death of Jesus on the Cross - the ending of one time and the beginning of another. Hallelujah! Praise God!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank rickeyandcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Do Not Go In!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had an old edition of "Mona Winks: Self-Guided Tours Through the Greatest Museums in Europe" (great book by Rick Steves, but he unfortunately no longer publishes updates), which had some information on this sight, but we failed to cross check it with his current Italy book which advised to skip this sight. Apparently this used to be a good sight, but it is now run by a tour bus company, and it has a cheesy, confusing multi media presentation in which they herd you from room to room that felt like a bad infomercial for Christianity. You got to go down a few steps to a spot they say Peter or Paul (can't remember now) baptized some prison guards, but there is no real historical value to seeing this sight at all. Stay away!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very confusing and disappointing tour”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

We had a high interest in seeing the prison, due to the tradition that Peter and Paul were held there. You do get to see a cell in the prison, which was interesting to observe, but the multimedia tour that is provided is confusing and not helpful at all. It does not seem to be designed to actually give you useful information about the prison, but rather it is some sort of artistic representation of the history of rocks and water, with occasional random facts dropped into the presentation. After the first stop at the ancient cell, the tour goes on for another 3 or 4 stops.

If you have an interest in seeing the prison, I'd recommend going to the first stop on the tour, taking your pictures, and then leaving (you can leave at any point in the tour by giving your headsets back to the guide). Everything after that was a waste of time. Just read about it on Wikipedia if you want to learn anything about the prison, or what went on there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ts-mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanks to TA, a good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

As other reviewers noted, this is an interesting destination, whether or not both Peter and Paul were here isn't what drew me. We were NOT interested in the writings of Paul, we enjoy seeing the remnants of ancient Rome.

We were very lucky in that we walked in the same time as several students who were specifically interested in the archeological significance of this location, rather than the religious, we were offered to go along with them or wait another 5 or ten minutes for a "multi-media" tour. Needless to say after reading what the other wrote here, we went for the archeological tour, which did NOT include the audio guide or the movies. My daughter had just finished an archeology course while in Rome and found this very interesting, especially as one of the few intact portions of the Servian wall goes through the upper chamber. (pre-dates the Auralian wall)
The lower chamber is the certainly an experience and worth the 5 euros.

If you get the chance to ask for a more "archeological/non-multi media tour" you might want to try that.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank silvergoldberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Carcere Mamertino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing