We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Il Tesoro
Ranked #1,062 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Our extended family of five booked all three rooms for two nights. It was absolutely perfect. The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. The hosts are very welcoming and we found the breakfast to be very plentiful and filling. It's only a ten minute walk to the Vatican, and the metro is right out the door.
I would definitely book here again when I return to Rome.

  • Liked — Spacious Rooms, location
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

I was so pleased with this B&B.

It is on the top floor (5th) of a building and has a wonderful roof top terrace. It's beautiful and very peaceful up there and has a spectacular view of St. Peter's dome. We had breakfast there and smoke breaks since the Inn is non smoking. Not a problem though.

The room was very big and was very well appointed. Breakfast was minimal, but good. A decent start to the day, but think of it this way, you'll be hungry for lunch and Rome has no shortage of wonderful restaurants.

Giordano was a perfect host. We bought the round trip shuttle for him (a private car ride) for 45 Euros each way and I feel it was very worth it. I had no stress knowing we would have no problems getting to and from the airport.

Giordano also gave us a dinner recommendation that was fantastic. It was a little family restaurant down the street that was perfect for pasta and pizza. We still talk about that meal and it was 4 months ago.

The B&B was very clean and very safe. My only problem was that my sheets had a little surprise in them. Nose droppings, for lack of a better word. It was obvious they didn't change the sheets. Since the owner doesn't stay on property, we were stuck with them once we discovered them. I laid a towl over the affected area, but since the bed was so big, it was easy to avoid. If it was not for this I would rate this stay 100% and excellent.

I will absolutely come back here again, I will just check my sheets before Giordano leaves. My guess is that this was just an oversite. This place is very clean otherwise. I'm sure it was just a mistake and not the normal case.

The bathroom is shared between another room, but it is very big and clean. I was very impressed.

You can't beat the stay here. I give it a 97%, taking 3% off for the sheets.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty sheets
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

B&B IL TESORO
What a wonderful place
This is not a hotel but an apartment converted in to 3 rooms each securely locked.
The service and accommodation was excellent , Barbara prepared our breakfast in the apartments kitchen
And served it on the breakfast terrace with its breath tacking view of the Vatican and saint Peters.
The Vatican was an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel, and with the metro entrance directly outside the hotel the Spanish steps was just 3 stops away (metro tickets €4.00 all day hop on hop off).
Although it is set on a busy street we found it surprisingly quiet and within easy access to all the sights
Over all we would recommend this hotel to any one

nigel cornbill (England)

  • Liked — every thing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

It's a small B&B with only 3 rooms so it books up quickly. It's in an excellent location next to the A-line subway (Otaviano stop), and a 15-minute walk to the Vatican. It's clean, and very comfortable. There is an elevator but you need to walk up 8 or 9 steps to get to it and it requires a key so Giordano comes to meet you in the lobby. Giordano (the owner) and Barbara (help) are pleasant and helpful, however they do not stay in the B&B overnight. We ate a nice breakfast on the roof-top terrace every morning.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2008

First off, Giordano, the owner is the best host ever! He waited for us at night and brought all of our luggage up to our room (thank God there was a lift). He told us that we could call him at any hour with any questions! Gave us a map of Rome and was so useful with all of his knowledge! We had the room with our private bath and it was one of the biggest rooms on our trip throughout Italy. Breakfast was good. the regular, coffee, oj, danishes, toast, etc. A friend of mine actually met us in Rome and she booked a hotel far away from the Il Tesoro, so Giordano helped any way he could so she could stay with us at his B&B. Location wise, you could walk right down the street to the Vatican or go downstairs to the metro and get anywhere in 10 mins. We had a great time at Il Tesoro and would definitely come again!

  • Liked — Giordano the owner
  • Disliked — I cant think of any
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barre, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2008

We booked B&B Il Tesoro through Romeby.com for four nights in October 2007 for €110 per night. We arranged with them in advance to be picked up at the airport for €40. We were delivered to the door in a beautiful black Mercedes, where we were met by Pino, who was our waiter, housekeeper & concierge for the length of our stay. Although we arrived in the morning, our room was ready & we were allowed to check in early. A tiny little elevator takes you up to the B&B, which is located on the 5th floor of an apartment building. There are three rooms available; we chose the one with private bath. Although nothing fancy, the room was spacious & clean. A simple breakfast, consisting of juice, coffee, pastry, toast & yogurt, is served on the rooftop terrace (weather permitting). It was chilly, but sunny, in October, with a great view of St. Peter's dome.

This B&B is conveniently located at the Ottaviano metro stop, and within walking distance of Vatican City. Pino, who speaks excellent English, was extremely friendly and helpful. He assisted us with directions, transportation & making reservations, as well as suggesting several areas & sights for us to explore.

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay at Il Tesoro, and I would highly recommend it!

  • Liked — Location, price, friendly service.
  • Disliked — Shared bath abuts this room; not sound-proofed.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2007

Just returned from a 2 week stay at this small B&B 5 blocks from the Vatican and 20 meters from Octaviano metro stop. The cost was 88Euros a night which included a standard Italian breakfast (rolls and juice) made by Pino, who makes a great cappucino. We had the room with a balcony on Viale Cesare which was quiet at night. The shared bath across the hall is shared with 1 other room in this 3 room BB. In 2 weeks we never had to wait for the bathroom, which is modern. Room was very roomy and clean, very comfortable. On 5th floor, but has an elevator. Lots of convenient services in the neighborhood ( internet, laundry, bars etc). View from roof terrace was as shown on the websites.

We stayed to visit a new grandchild and used the bus system to commute each day. Quite easy, and the metro gets you to Spagna stop etc in about 12 minutes.

We travel to Italy often and think this is a great spot, if you do not need room service. Pino, our host, was wonderful, and accomodating in every way. With the price of hotels in Rome, this is a good deal, and we will use it again.

  • Liked — value for price and quiet
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
B&B Laocoonte
#393 of 3,669 in Rome
120 reviews
Perseo B&B
#629 of 3,669 in Rome
81 reviews
Prati
St. Peter Central Rooms B&B
St. Peter Central Rooms B&B
#1,398 of 3,669 in Rome
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
La Curia guest House Rome
La Curia guest House Rome
#1,316 of 3,669 in Rome
13 reviews
Prati
Twice B&B
Twice B&B
#288 of 3,669 in Rome
147 reviews
Prati
Blue Suite Vatican
Blue Suite Vatican
#2,639 of 3,669 in Rome
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Il Tesoro

Property: Bed & Breakfast Il Tesoro
Address: Viale Giulio Cesare 171, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,062 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Il Tesoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing