We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, quaint base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Gattopardo Relais
Ranked #827 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for our birthdays in Feb, we stayed for 4 days in Rome and loved every minute of it. The hotel, although it only consists of a few rooms 5 i think, was easy to find and located close to local shops, the metro link (even though we only used it once) and Vatican city, about a 10-15 min walk.
The location was great for us since we enjoy walking around and stumbling across landmarks or sites of interest. The one time we used the metro was when we were on our way home and my suitcase had broken.
The room had a nice double bed and a marble bathroom there was minimal noise from the street and towels were provided. The room was clean and felt homely and characterful which we is what we perfer as aposed to the sterile modern finishes that are found in large new builds. Breakfast was proved which was pretty basic, some cereals, breads, jams, croissants and yoghurt. There was a 24 hour reception so although the doors were locked at night you just had to knock or buzz to get in. We found the staff friendly although they didn't speak much english but there was no need for them to.
While in Rome we visited St Peters (well worth climbing for the view), Vatican museum (got a bit lost), the colosseum, city museum, spanish steps, the majority of the fountains and numerous churches, botanical gardens, pantheon and other stuff i can't properly remember since we did randomly walk in the general direction of things and see others by accident. Having tea outside the pantheon is well worth doing as is seeing the colosseum at night. To be honest there is so much to see its hard to put priority on anything. We could easily go back.
We would recommend this hotel to couples wanting a quieter getaway that has a good location and is really reasonable. Had a lovely stay that we couldn't fault.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

1. If you have luggage or travel with older ppl, don't stay here
- There are 2 flights of stairs to this 'hotel' (apartment), situated between lift floors. The stairs being narrow is pretty hard to get the luggage up. THERE IS NO PORTER and the HOTEL PPL DO NOT HELP YOU!!!!

2. BROKEN TOILETS THAT DO NOT FLUSH, SHOWERS get flooded because of the poor plumbing
- There seems to be some plumbing issue with the bathrooms (The plumber later told us it is a consistent issue) - the water will not go down. We told the reception of our problem and he doesn't seem to care and said that too many ppl were showering at the same time. Seriously?!!!!
- My family in the suite room had it even worse : Their toilets won't flush and were told its our fault and that we shouldn't use the toilet and the shower at the same time. WHO DOES THAT. In the end, the shower can't be used entirely. WHen we asked for a change of rooms, they said they were all out. THIS IS THE WORST BIT - We will be leaving the next day and my family member was unwell and resting in the room that afternoon. The hotel wants to have a part causing the flushing issue to be replaced, however, it will not be fixed in our stay there and insisted on removing the part that day. LOOK, some one is resting!
We told them that they can do this tomorrow sinmce they informed us that they had no ppl in the room after we left. They insisted that they have to get it done and the plumber will be here in 30mins, then 1 hour then they eventually came at five. The very rude receptionist was shouting at us after the hour wait because we questioned the time of arrival of the plumber. Look someone is sick and trying to rest and they made them wait.

Like one hotel staff shouting wasn't enough, 2 of the staffs, shouted at us saying that they are already going to take 50Euros off. WHat do you want - You want the toilet fixed or the discount? I told them that they couldn't get anything fixed whilst we're there and they went into a frenzy! Is this how you talk to your clienteles?

3. Cleanliness - The place feels a bit grimey - Like after you wipe the place down with a dirty cloth. The sheets in some of the rooms were stained.

4. General amenities - Airconditioning in the rooms don't work so we had to open our windows which were very noisy as it was two floors up and next to a main road! You can't come and go as you please - We went out till 12am and the staff at the door was really unhappy taht he had to open the door for us (U have to buzz in)

NOT A HOTEL!!!!! Don't stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SHIFT_CTRL_ESCapade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilgattopardoRoma, Direttore at Il Gattopardo Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

On August 18, 2010 we received a booking for a total of 5 rooms: 2 doubles, 1 suite, 1 triple and 1 single use 17 to 20 October 2010 of the following clients a couple of which have already been our guests in 2004.

Having booked for the second time the hotel, meaning that they have received good service and have found good in his time.



The customers of the Suite, on the night of Oct. 18, have clogged the toilet and blocked the drain pipes with non-biodegradable material, despite the cartel prohibition laid over the water but not to throw toilet paper.



The wasteful use and the lack of attention of customers mentioned above, has caused serious hardship in the first place, to them, because they could not use the bathroom for one day (they have benefited from a bathroom of one of their relatives from the next room to them) and secondly, to us, damaging both economically and from an organizational point of view / management, to overcome this discomfort immediately.



The next morning we were immediately used to solve the problem, by involving two technicians, a plumber and a company that specializes in water systems.

The interventions have shown that instead of denying customers, namely the presence of strange material that had clogged the drain to prevent drain the water. We wish to emphasize that these are new bathrooms.



Customers realizing he had made a loss, and of course they were afraid to make good, you are put on the defensive, arguing that there was nothing thrown into the water if only cartiginica and that they demanded a discount on the room bill.





Despite everything we offered an accommodation in another hotel of superior category, they immediately refused, and accepted a rebate from them, to demonstrate our good faith and utmost dedication and professionalism to customers.



Hopeful of receiving further trouble from customers, however we ask you to monitor this reservation to avoid being victims of a negative comment but especially their defensive untrue and damaging to the image of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This is a tiny, charming, old fashioned hotel in an excellent location as a jumping off point for the Vatican area sites, and a mile or two's walk to the ancient sites. Also very convenient to the Metro for points beyond. Neighborhood seemed safe and busy until the wee hours.

Rooms were quaint and clean. Service was friendly, and just enough English spoken to get what we needed.

Though I had read other reviews complaining about noise from other rooms, we did not hear any at all (including from the busy street the hotel fronts). Air conditioning was welcome.

Breakfast was limited (pastries, cold cuts, yogurt), but espresso and cappuccino were just right.

Cabbie had some trouble locating the discreet entrance, so placing it precisely on a map before you arrive would be helpful. Buzz to open the door. No lift, but 2 easy flights of stairs up to the hotel. (You'll have to carry your own bags.) Wifi is at a small fee by the hour.

All in all a good value for a nice serviceable place to lay our heads after walking the city all day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyMcB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We stayed here for four nights. Its Location is great close to the Vatican and at same time well connected to the centre with the metro and buses. The room was very tastefully decorated and spacious. The down side is that breakfast is quite limited.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pacikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Comfortable, quiet hotel very close to St. Peter's Square and the subway, in a central neighbourhood that is very safe to stroll in at all hours. Only 5 rooms; ours was large and more than adequate. Staff is very helpful. Only criticism would be that the breakfast is very limited but this is amply made up for by the tasty capuccinos and the really helpful 24-hour front desk staff.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franklin06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We stayed for 6 nights in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Having walked a lot during the day, it was great to come back to a spacious, comfortable room. The hotel was quiet, with the traffic outside only audible when a siren went off.

The location was great, a short walk away from Vatican City and not far from buses, trams, small supermarkets and other shops, cafes and restaurants.

Our hosts were the only let down - during most mornings, a woman acted as receptionist and was not helpful - when asked about buses, she advised us to go on the Metro, clearly not listening to what we wanted to do. Most of the time we saw her, she was on the phone for very long periods. Although, the man who normally had the night shift was very polite and far more helpful.

My partner and I never use hotel restaurants, wi-fi / internet, gym or swimming pool - we only need a comfortable, clean room and this was ideal. For those looking for more, they should probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LowJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

I rarely write reviews, but my husband and I felt that people should know a few things about this hotel before booking. On the positive side, the rooms are clean and nicely furnished, and appear to be fairly recently renovated. Location is also a plus, withing a walking distance from the Vatican Museum and just a 2-minute walk from the metro. Now about the place itself. This is not really a hotel, this appears to be an old (although nicely renovated) apartment with many rooms, with the front desk located in what would be the corridor, and the kitchen/breakfast room in one of the rooms. The doors are thin as you would expect them in an apartment room, and therefore, as others have noted, there is absolutely no privacy and no quiet. You can hear someone whisper at the front desk, let alone the noise from the breakfast room. Needless to say, everything you do or say in your room, including going to the bathroom, watching TV, and whatever else you are planning to enjoy on your vacation, will be heard by others. We did not complain as it was pointless, but another guest did, and it seems to me his polite complaints were not received nicely, as there was a loud argument and lots of frustration on both sides.
Another drawback is that there was no free wireless internet. Other hotels in Italy offered this free service, but not this hotel. The security box in our room was broken, but we were informed about it only after the person at the front desk heard us trying to use it (through the closed door) and offered to keep the valuables in the general hotel safe. Another drawback which might be an issue for some people is the lack of an elevator. Not only that, but when we buzzed from the street, we were simply informed that there is no elevator and we need to go up--with the luggage. No one was sent to help us, and there is no way I would be able to carry the suitcase myself if I were to travel without my husband. Another minor issue is that there is no one at the front desk at night, and if you come back late, you can't even pick up the belongings in your safe, or ask questions. The questions, by the way (of which I had but a couple, i.e. where can I buy the Roma Pass), where NOT answered. In general, I felt that we were at a house of a friend of a friend of a friend, with the host not objecting to our stay, but not exactly welcoming us either. Considering that this is Rome, and there are many hotels there in this price range, I would most definitely go for something else.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank evochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#550 of 1,270 in Rome
137 reviews
Prati
Amalia Hotel
Amalia Hotel
#440 of 1,270 in Rome
423 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#490 of 1,270 in Rome
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Arcangelo
Hotel Arcangelo
#539 of 1,270 in Rome
348 reviews
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#212 of 1,270 in Rome
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Gattopardo Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Gattopardo Relais

Address: Viale Giulio Cesare 94, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #827 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £42 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Gattopardo Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Il Gattopardo Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Gattopardo Relais Rome
Il Gattopardo Relais Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing