We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peculiar set of apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Overseas Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3,252 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Mannheim
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peculiar set of apartments”
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Arriving at the hostel
The "hostel" is operated by Chinese people and consists of a set of apartments situated across the quarter besides the Termini train station, which is one of the dirtiest and most uncomfortable parts of Rome. If you arrive at night, the reception (in one of the apartments) is really hard to find. Only a small, easy-to-oversee plate on the wall and the name besides the bell button point at it, and all maps on the homepage show wrong locations. Arriving during the day, just look for a crowd of people looking like just having arrived from Africa.

The beds
We stayed four days at the hostel and had to move to another apartment (a few streets away) after the first two nights. The first room (406) was about 8-9 sqm and without any window. When we complained about this we were pointed at the fact that we had an air condition and a second room (405) with a free upgrade to a private bathroom (where the flush did not work and a pump sounding like a hoover was working from 06:30 in the morning). The second apartment we moved to was a bit better (it also had a kitchen). The two rooms were ok (002, 003). In 003, there was an air condition but no remote control (costs extra - but just have a look for a small hole on the machine). Each of the rooms had two single and one double bed. In 002, the double bed was a mattress on the floor, but ok. In 003, the double bed was really hard and not usable.

The breakfast
Each morning, a chinese service person comes to your apartment and prepares a tray with your "breakfast" (a caffeine-free coffee substitute without milk, artificial fruit nectar and a croissant and cake, both in a plastic packing - the estimated value is below 1€). You can order the breakfast between 08:00 and 10:00 but it has no effect on the actual time when you will get it (it was always around 8:40). NB, the cappuccino around the corner costs 1,50€ and is really good.

The service
Although you will need to give a credit card number when booking, you will have to pay the bill by cash on arrival (!). Since the hostel is distributed over different apartments in different houses the "reception" is always a few minutes walk away. Most of the time there is no english speaking staff at the reception desk, but they will hand you a mobile phone with a english-speaking person on the line. WLAN is only available at the reception and not in the rooms.

Overall, the web page raises wrong expectations.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MonnemerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    20
    35
    37
    94
See reviews for
31
55
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2009

If you wish to stay in a hotel that makes you feel afraid for your life, physical ill and generally disgusted; do stay here, if not; do not even consider staying here. We booked for 2 nights and left after one, it was the worst experience i have ever endured at a "hotel". This place is appauling. We pulled up to a building covered in graffiti, with a gang of of men congregating around the doorway, we felt very intimidated being 2 young female travelers. We entered the building and it looked like a drug den, doors seemed to have been kicked in... The room we were given had a pungent smell, we found that it was a gone off pot of riccotta stored in a bathroom cupboard which seemed to be growing something funky on it. We barely slept because everytime anyone in the building used the tap or toilet a loud rattling noise shock the room. Seriously i wouldn't wish this accomodation on my worst enemy. For your own good, never ever put yourself through the horror of staying here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheeseandpickle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Our stay there was really disappointing. We didn't expect much, but it was worth that anyone can imagine.
The place is VERY dirty, disgusting, and not similar to the pictures in the website.
There was not toilet paper, and no reception to go claim for it in the building.
The are is convenient only because is close to the terminal, but dangerous and not nice.
The staff is a disaster, the don't speak English, only one a little bit and she understands what she wants.
It doesn't worth the money they ask for it.
I WOULD NOT recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

a single member of staff speaks english, chinese lady looking after our booking didn't speak either english or italian - was fun! room booked with tv, minibar, wifi - it's called false advertising as nothing of the sort was available. the room itself was very basic but clean. overall it's incredibly low value for money, however, the neighbourhood is not as bad as some described. it's all immigrants, some bums and winos at the train station, but nothing extraordinary considering how big rome is.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank el_hungaro_ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Staff: rude, unhelpful.
- Chinese lady who doesn’t speak English at all. (she will give you the telephone to communicate with someone else)
- When we arrived I witnessed like two customers were told: ‘If you don’t like it you can leave but we charge your credit card for the first night anyway.’ I was afraid that the same story will happen to us in a few minutes.
-We really felt unwelcome in that place. We felt like we should shut up and be happy with what we had (even if it was not what we requested). They don’t even try to solve our problem but convince us that everything is like it should be.
-I have never ever met such a rude and threatening hotel staff.

Breakfast was a joke: 2 slices of bread and used jam jar. It give us just enough energy to get to the nearest restaurant. Next day was exactly the same: bread and jam.

The only good think was the location: close to train station.

  • Liked — close to town centre
  • Disliked — staff, service, breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank memeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

We visited Rome in April 2008, we booked accom online via hostelworld.com and travelled as 2 adults and our 14yr old son. Our accom was at the Overseas B&B on Via G.Giolitti n.185 (down the side of the Termini train station) and was basic but clean, it cost £208 for 3 nights, the 2 young Chinese staff were very nice and helpful and also worked in the Chinese restaurant down on the gallery/walkway. This proved to be an excellent base for exploring the ruins and attractions.
We arrived Rome mid morning after an early flight from Manchester, overdressed! the weather was hot, but as not to waste any time we set off for the sights. We walked down loads of streets following a city guide map which became invaluable, food was plentiful, varied and tasty. The second day we spent walking all day again trying to see as much as possible, the Colloseum, Circus Maximus, ancient murals in the House of Augustus (reccomended), Bocca Della Verita, Palatine Hill etc. etc. returning home at dark with burning feet but well worth it. Day 3 was the same only trying to see as much as poss again before going home the next morning, we managed to see the Vatican, (some queueing inevitable) and best of all the Trevi fountain at night and the Spanish steps. We can honestly say there is something very special about being in Rome, we couldn't put our finger on it, but there is a vibe like nowhere else, the food, the ruins, the streets etc. the people are quite attractive too. You have to go to understand.

Helpful?
1 Thank Luke_O_Zade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome, italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

stay away from overseas b&b. aside from being situated in a poluted, sketchy neighbourhood, the rooms look nothing like they are pictured, the bathroom is filthy, the hall smells of crap and the staff were rude, threatening and unhelpful. our stay was brief and ended with a violent phone call with the owner of the establishment. all i can say is never stay in overseas b&b and dont give them your credit card number.

p.s. stay at 'the yellow' if youre looking for a great place to stay in rome.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hanlan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Walter Rooms
Walter Rooms
#3,185 of 3,692 in Rome
228 reviews
Esquilino
Alla Basilica Rooms
Alla Basilica Rooms
#2,417 of 3,692 in Rome
31 reviews
Next Door Guesthouse
#70 of 3,692 in Rome
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reboa Resort
#2,783 of 3,692 in Rome
21 reviews
B&B Roma Domus Dei Consoli
#423 of 3,692 in Rome
111 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,214 of 3,692 in Rome
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overseas Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overseas Bed and Breakfast

Property: Overseas Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Giovanni Giolitti 199, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,252 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Overseas Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overseas b&b
Overseas Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing