We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very stylish suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dock Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dock Suites Hotel
Ranked #195 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very stylish suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Interesting... I'm another person who was moved from Hotel Galles to the Dock Suites due to water supply issues. Not to worry though, great to be upgraded from a 3 star to a 4 star although I picked this hotel for it's location - luxury in this case wasn't worth all that much. However it's just a short 4 minute walk to the metro and you're 2 stops from Termini, which is perfect. I can't imagine anyone willing to walk around rome not needing the metro on a daily basis anyway. You're also next to a police station, a mini mart and some restaurants close by (although a few are more for local residents).
The room itself really was something with very stylish polished granite floors in the hallway leading to the walls in the bathroom. Hidden away in the hallway is a kitchenette behind a large sliding door with a non-working electric hob and sink. Beneath is a sliding ironing board and mini bar/fridge. In the bathroom the bath has a "power shower" and fully working jacuzzi (fill the bath up first) and nearby there's a decent hair dryer and heated towel rail. The study(!) to the left of the hallway and the bedroom were well decorated with the same upholstery as those of the sheets and curtains! Very well thought out, with enormous mirrors in each room, especially the one over the bed.
For an upgrade this was all quite a bargain at €88 a night.
The only issues were quite small. Our fridge wasn't replenished when we had informed them that it had been used, and the rooms are a little dark. Breakfast here is what you'd expect from Roman hotels.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marksyzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    95
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
101
92
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

The hotel was arranged by Galles as they had some problems with their water supply (atleast thats what they told us!). It wasnt a B&B as the stoves/ burners werent working. Suite yes, it was. Neat and tidy. The rooms and the hotel was cozy, the bathroom had tub and spacious. The only negative aspects were its distance from the nearest Metro (about a Km) which might be more for people with baggage (tourists) and especially when there are no escalators at the Metro too! This is the only reason I dont recommend it for tourists. For light travellers, it may be OK. The people at the hotel were helpful no doubt.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varuniaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

It was our first time in Europe and our first stay in a European hotel. We were also overflowed to the Dock (free 1 star upgrade). Not speaking Italian and being in unfamiliar territory we were happy to learn that the Dock is located across from a police station. We found the Hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful and we were overjoyed to find that all staff members that we met spoke very good english. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. We felt at ease strolling about the area around the hotel and grew over our 4 day stay to really like the neighborhood. We are really looking forward to returning to Rome again in the near future and are definitely looking forward to a return stay at the Dock

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinDere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

We were originally meant to stay in one of the hotels on the busy main street in Rome but were overflowed to Hotel Dock for the same price (only 90 euros/night for 2 ppl), which turned out to be just as good if not better.

LOCATION
Still within Rome city limits but on a quiet community street.
*** WITHIN 3-5 MIN WALK OF A METRO STATION. ONLY 2 STOPS INTO THE CENTRE OF TOWN!***
Very convenient. We later moved to another hotel to join with a tour group and it was a huge hassle to get back into central Rome.

STAFF
None of them spoke much English, but they were all supremely friendly anyway. In the end we didn't really need to ask them for anything, seeing as it was all provided.

ROOMS
The corridors are tiny but the rooms are nice and large. More like a suite than a room, all marble floors. Very spacious.
Lounge area just next to the reception with papers and television provided.

FOOD
FREE BREAKFAST is provided in a tiny little room off the main lounge area. Pastries, cereal, cold cuts, and freshly brewed coffee!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Chroma Pente
#147 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Hotel Poggioverde
#112 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#256 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Re di Roma
#161 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Lilium Hotel
Lilium Hotel
#225 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#203 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock Suites Hotel

Property: Dock Suites Hotel
Address: Via Forli' 31, 00161 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dock Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dock Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dock Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing