We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hostel”
Review of Litus Roma Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Litus Roma Hostel
Ranked #633 of 1,072 Speciality Lodging in Rome
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good hostel”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

one of the best Hostel. felt welcome and always the staff had a smile at all times. Best place to meet new travelers to paint the town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alley_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
9
10
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

If you want to stay in Rome then book a hotel in Rome. But don’t complain about travelling from Ostia to Rome. It is a Hostel not a Hotel but having said that it is one of the best hostels I’ve ever staid in, yes you do have to take your sheets to reception on the last day but the beds were made-up and the sheets clean. The whole hostel is clean and comfortable, private shower and toilet and a good breakfast. The hostel is in a magnificent building which keeps a lot of it is charm the staff are friendly and helpful and it is safe and secure. The bathroom is fitted for disabled travellers and the rooms are large. Two single beds and a bunk bed in our room with a sea view.

Practicalities - It is 40 min from airport on bus. Bus stop is to the left of arrivals about 2 min walk cost about €1. It is about a 15 min walk from the Ostia station. Yes it is about 80 min from Rome Termini.

The main reasons to be in Ostia are the beach and Ostia Antica not as a base for a visit to Rome.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view is a plus but be warned the surfers start early and make a noise but this just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I dont like writing bad reviews for places, but I cant help but do so for Litus. There was nothing positive about my stay in this hostel. While I was prepared to do a bit of traveling to get into the city of Rome, it took us on average about 1 hour and 20 mins to get into and out of the city. Both me and my girlfriend received more bug bites INSIDE our room while we slept than at any other point during our two week trip (this includes when we went hiking in the woods later on in our trip). The internet connection signal and quality was extremely poor despite the fact that our room was right across the hall from the "wifi hotspot". The free breakfast was the worst ive ever had at a hostel. I suppose there is one positive thing, which was the location in terms of the beach. Overall I would never recommend this hostel to anyone i knew, unless i was not particularly fond of them.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank international_brewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Litus Roma was clean, and the staff was generally very friendly. Breakfast was ok. The rooms were clean, but cold. Overall not a bas hostel EXCEPT the location is terrible!! Prepare yourself for a long train ride into Rome with two connections! Me and my friends are very good ad figuring out metro and train stations but we had a lot of trouble with this one. Also ostia lido is ghetto. Thats the one word i would describe it with. The people there were rude and stared at us constantly. The train station was scary, and the trains themselves are covered in graffiti. We were too nervous to ride the trains after dark so we always left rome an hour early to be safe.

Also, Litus roma is a big place. We traveled in april and it was empty. A really eerie sort of empty where breakfast was in a huge room and we were the only ones. It might not be bad in the high season because i would guess that there would be other tourists to travel back and forth with. However we stuck out like sore thumbs! The website makes this place look like Cabo, but we did not find it that fun at all! Instead of being a break from the hustle of Rome, it added to our stress level. If you can, stay in the city!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aechristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My son and I spent 2 nights at Litus. We arrived from Termini and found the bus drivers at the Lido Centro WAY less than helpful--- I speak a tiny bit of Italian, lots of German and English--- They defiantly said they only speak "Roman"--whatever-- y'all lost your empire 1800 years ago.

We took a cab (he stole 3 euro from us) and arrived at the Hostel--- a dreary building, but clean with a wonderful English speaking staff.

the beach is very dirty and very few people speak English--- but after a few hours of culture shock we settled in to our Lido home. We learned the transportation, brushed up on our "polite" Italian and had a wonderful evening along the promenade and the town square--- the amusement park was great and the food wonderful and not too expensive.

We went into the city the next day-- no problem--- 40 minutes to all the sights.


The good--- SUPER clean-- English Speaking-- good breakfast and only 30 minutes and a bit over a euro to the airport on the bus
The bad--- very little English outside of the hostel--- Cab drivers will STEAL from you-- a bit of a hike from the city.
Overall--- if you are flying from FCO this place is the best!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martythompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevy chase
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

This hostel is ok. It is clean, and the morning staff are ok.
There is this african guy (night shift) who is very rude. He did not want to help me, he said he was working all day and that he was tired, he screamed at me. VERY RUDE! The other two ladies were rude too. Be careful, don't stay there. It is so far from Rome ( main attractions) It will take you about 1:15 minutes to get there from Central Train Station in Rome. It is right next to the beach, and that beach is dirty. It's ghetto.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecuamajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Far North Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

Large, clean hostel. Too far out of Rome, a bus and a train ride to the city, with one line change as well. SEveral attendants on desk could not speak english which made it hard to communicate. Breakfast room locked out of hours, so impossible to even make a cup of tea. Quiet and good price. Good views from windows, and large rooms, but distance was too big a problem.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — position
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gaylibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
Hotel La Scaletta
#1 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Hotel Ping Pong
#4 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Hotel La Riva
#6 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sirenetta
#2 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Girasolereale on the beach
#435 of 1,072 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cervia Roma
Hotel Cervia Roma
#261 of 1,072 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litus Roma Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litus Roma Hostel

Property: Litus Roma Hostel
Address: Lungomare Paolo Toscanelli 186, 00121 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #633 of 1,072 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Litus Roma Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first hostel by the sea in Rome.Located in Ostia, a suburb of Rome,close to the new port of Rome and near the archeologocal excavations of Ostia Antica, the builg is reachable from the center of Rome by the undergroung in 15 minutes. We will have over 140 beds in double, quadruple and 6 bedded rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and a view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Litus Roma Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing