We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay before you fly from FCO”
Review of Litus Roma Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Litus Roma Hostel
Ranked #629 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Stay before you fly from FCO”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My son and I spent 2 nights at Litus. We arrived from Termini and found the bus drivers at the Lido Centro WAY less than helpful--- I speak a tiny bit of Italian, lots of German and English--- They defiantly said they only speak "Roman"--whatever-- y'all lost your empire 1800 years ago.

We took a cab (he stole 3 euro from us) and arrived at the Hostel--- a dreary building, but clean with a wonderful English speaking staff.

the beach is very dirty and very few people speak English--- but after a few hours of culture shock we settled in to our Lido home. We learned the transportation, brushed up on our "polite" Italian and had a wonderful evening along the promenade and the town square--- the amusement park was great and the food wonderful and not too expensive.

We went into the city the next day-- no problem--- 40 minutes to all the sights.


The good--- SUPER clean-- English Speaking-- good breakfast and only 30 minutes and a bit over a euro to the airport on the bus
The bad--- very little English outside of the hostel--- Cab drivers will STEAL from you-- a bit of a hike from the city.
Overall--- if you are flying from FCO this place is the best!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martythompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    21
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
9
12
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chevy chase
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

This hostel is ok. It is clean, and the morning staff are ok.
There is this african guy (night shift) who is very rude. He did not want to help me, he said he was working all day and that he was tired, he screamed at me. VERY RUDE! The other two ladies were rude too. Be careful, don't stay there. It is so far from Rome ( main attractions) It will take you about 1:15 minutes to get there from Central Train Station in Rome. It is right next to the beach, and that beach is dirty. It's ghetto.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecuamajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Far North Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

Large, clean hostel. Too far out of Rome, a bus and a train ride to the city, with one line change as well. SEveral attendants on desk could not speak english which made it hard to communicate. Breakfast room locked out of hours, so impossible to even make a cup of tea. Quiet and good price. Good views from windows, and large rooms, but distance was too big a problem.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — position
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gaylibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2007

Litus Roma Hostel is truly the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Newly renovated, it's spotlessly clean and includes daily maid service. Rooms have views of the sea. It's a very comfortable place with a fun and friendly staff. Free internet and breakfast included. An easy train ride into central Rome makes it possible to visit sights all day and get back to watch the sunset on the Mediterranean and relax!

  • Liked — cleanliness spaciousness friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — like most of Rome immediate surrounding neighborhood has lots of grafitti
  • Tips/Secrets — if taking bus to hostel from Lido di Ostia train station...exit at 5th stop go to left as you exit bus and turn left at the very first street...it's at the end of the block
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank maleka-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
0.3 mi away
Belvedere Century
Belvedere Century
#3 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ping Pong
Hotel Ping Pong
#4 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Riva
Hotel La Riva
#5 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Scaletta
Hotel La Scaletta
#1 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sirenetta
Hotel Sirenetta
#2 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Caravella
La Caravella
#18 of 22 in Lido di Ostia
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litus Roma Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litus Roma Hostel

Property: Litus Roma Hostel
Address: Lungomare Paolo Toscanelli 186, 00121 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #629 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Litus Roma Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first hostel by the sea in Rome.Located in Ostia, a suburb of Rome,close to the new port of Rome and near the archeologocal excavations of Ostia Antica, the builg is reachable from the center of Rome by the undergroung in 15 minutes. We will have over 140 beds in double, quadruple and 6 bedded rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and a view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Litus Roma Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing