We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ranked #13 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We travel alot to Europe and love to find small hotels that North Americans must understand are not what they are used to at home (but that's the fun about traveling). We loved the personal touch that this property had and amazing location. You are in the middle of the action here but still so private. All of the staff were helpfull and ready assist us with everything even a rental car service! Roof terrace looks over Rome and i can imagine staying here during the warmer months with glass of wine on this terrace. Would love to come back here.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ninaradslowtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2011

We had booked two rooms, both classic and we found them both great. Being in the historical part of Rome we found the hotel to be a perfect fit in to the area. We knew we were not in the US so the room size was no issue for us, not smaller than any other European hotel. The shower in the room was very powerful and the bed was comfy and the room it self was clean and modern designed. Breakfast was great served on the top floor with nice staff. The front desk staff was fluent english speaking and did make a great team getting us taxi, booking restaurant, printing boarding pass and just name it! We don't understand anyone having issue with staying here, maybe if you are looking for a doorman, restaurant and huge lobby than stay away! Thanks to all for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank todishill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The plus:
+ Small roman ruins indoor
+ Good location
+ Quiet
+ Friendly & efficient housekeeping staff
+ Evening snack offered at 5pm

The minus:
- Some rooms are studios in *another building*!
- Quality of sleep: not good
- Some large beds: twin beds sticked together (hence you drop in the hole in the middle)
- Style OK but not amazing (certainly not even close to Slh level)
- Breakfast: barely 3*, juices are made of untasty concentrate, bread is frozen, etc...
- Service OK: polite, but sometimes you really don't feel welcome (except with Asian members of staff)
- HEATING problems: In December, our room was heated like a sauna. No joke, minimum 27*C with both windows wide open
- After 3 requests, and switching off the heater, we realized it was due to an underfloor heating (which they certainly knew), it took them 48hours to accept to move us to another room
- the (Basic) room offered was outrageous: appallingly old, minuscule with outdated bad decorated
- an upgraded bedroom was OK, nothing fancy

Overall, if you get an amazing deal you would probably be OK staying there, location being really central... however this hotel should never be allowed to hold the SLH brand, they do not qualify, by any standards, and seriously soil SLH's brand trustworthiness.

Room Tip: Have low expectations & get a good deal, otherwise you will be disappointed. Basic room I saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vb_cp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

I am sorry to read that you had such a disappointing experience with us here at The Inn at the Roman Forum, on the other hand we are delighted that you enjoyed some of our facilities.

I kindly like to point out that we only have few rooms that provide twin mattress as all our beds come with either Queen or King size bed with one mattress.

We are concerned about your comments regarding the breakfast service, corrective measure are already been taken. We like to add to your comment that we don’t use concentrate juice in the hotel and no such product is served on the breakfast buffet.

Regarding the heating system, having stayed in the property in the middle of December most houses are set on winter heating that seams normal for this time of year and I am sorry that this has cause the temperature problem in the room. We changed you a room as soon as we knew about the problem and offered you an upgrade to an Deluxe room for the inconvenience caused.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Hildur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Hotel's location is absolutely perfect, but be careful when booking a room - the amount you pay is a good hint on what to expect, which is a bit counter intuitive when you go for an SLH.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaffar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Obviously delighted that you enjoyed most of your stay but sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the room assigned. If you had let us know during your stay I am sure we could have found a suitable solution.

If we can be of any further assistant, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Hildur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Perfect stay at the Inn at the Roman Forum! The executive room (kindly upgraded for a superior one paid) was beautiful and the service devoted.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ThsTari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Inn at the Forum provided our family a wonderful experience in the heart of this amazing city. It is literally at The Forum with all its history and grandeur. The rooms were clean, and the suite was spacious. Nice breakfast was provided each day on the top floor. The staff was accomodating and very helpful from taxis to dinner reservations - even helped out prinitng a document for us. They also accomodated our request for two rooms very close together on the same floor (in the absence of connecting rooms). I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Liked this hotel al lot, nice room, friendly staff
Good breakfast, just not so easy to sit down in the sofa and eating on a low table, in the summer you can eat outside on a normal table, this is much better.
The hotel is perfectly situated, close to the roman fourm, the colesseum, even the trevi fontana and the spanish steps are easily to reach by feet.
terrace with a nice view
I recommand this hotel for exploring Rome, i will certainly visit it agian !

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sproetje2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,028 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,273 in Rome
3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,273 in Rome
3,055 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#11 of 1,273 in Rome
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At The Roman Forum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Roman Forum

Address: Via degli Ibernesi 30, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#68 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £124 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn At The Roman Forum 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from some of the oldest and most precious ruins in Rome, including the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, offering 5 star service boasts charming views of the Campidoglio, Palatin Hill, Roman Forum, Venice Square. It's the only luxury residence in Rome which actually houses Roman ruins inside it. At the entrance, a passageway leads you to a Cryptoporticus, an exquisite stone gallery with engravings that can be traced back to 2,000 years ago. The five star service accommodations are carefully decorated in a modern style and are luxuriously furnished. On the roof terrace you can enjoy free snacks from 17:00 to 20:00. This inn is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn At The Roman Forum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Roman Forum Hotel Rome
Hotel At The Roman Forum
At The Roman Forum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing