We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ranked #13 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I've travelled in Europe for 5 times,but This is the best hotel I stayed in ,perfect!service,room,location,food,staff,price,everything,perfect!service,professional ,made me being like home.when Linda know it's my mom's first trip to Europe, she upgraded our room,and the buffet and the breakfast are very nice,delicious food,different kinds,professional service!
we really enjoy the time stay in the hotel, do appreciate ,and I've already suggest it to my friends.i do believe I will come back again! Ciao,dear friends !
Ying from China

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank jujuzizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of The Inn at the Roman Forum team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that our personnel have left a good impression, we appreciate you mentioning Linda, your comment is a great motivation and will be passed on to her personally.

We are honored that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination and pleased to hear that you had a good time during your recent visit to Rome.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Hildur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
There are newer reviews for The Inn At The Roman Forum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from an amazing weekend in Rome. It was a Christmas present treat for my partner and I was very apprehensive about the hotel never having been to Rome before. I needn't have worried it was a beautiful hotel with very friendly staff located right in the centre of Ancient Rome. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic weekend away. You could certainly not fault the impeccable service from the breakfast staff and the food was delicious. The room was very comfortable, clean quiet and warm and the jacuzzi bath was a nice touch and welcomed after a day walking around the city.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with such nice comments, many thanks!

Delighted to hear that you had such a good stay with us and the fantastic comments regarding our staff and breakfast shall be passed onto the whole team. Thank you again for choosing The Inn at the Roman Forum, and for your wonderful comments.

Best regards

Ms. Hildur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

When I booked The Inn, I was rather nervous. Not a fan of smaller hotels and never quite sure if one person's interpretation of the word 'boutique' is the same as the next's.

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised. We checked in early and the extremely helpful receptionist offered to look after our bags until the room was ready. A glass of juice in reception and the offer of a map and directions sent us on our way to sightsee.

The hotel is on a back street, not easy to find and very inconspicuous. Within spitting distance of the ruins it is a great base for the Colosseum, the forum and Il Vittoriano.

When we returned to the hotel we were taken to our room (100) on the ground floor. The floor was tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. All mod cons and very spacious.

First disappointment was the lack of any mobile signal (not the hotels fault) but the backup of the free wifi was let down by the unreliability of service. After a while I realised restarting the access point outside the room door sorted this for a little while.

Breakfast was included and served on the top floor. A good few flights of stairs or a very cramped lift. This is to be expected in a old hotel. It was again spotlessly clean and seemed almost new, just very very small.

The bar/breakfast room was, to say the least, odd. A multi-purpose room, needs to be good for more thank one purpose. This just doesn't work for eating. Using a knife and fork on what is in affect a coffee table, isn't easy. Only 4 tables for a hotel with 12 rooms causes a problem too. On our second morning we were forced on to the roof terrace. I'm sure very nice in the summer, not so in January. As far as hot options, we were only offered scrambled eggs. Server again though, by excellent staff.

The breakfast room doubles as a bar too. But as we found one early evening, no bar and no staff means it's not quite what it says on the tin!

So, take out the lack of breakfast facilities and 'fake' bar, we really liked this hotel. Make sure you check the map first and can help the taxi driver find it. Also take advantage of the great multilingual staff, they really do make the hotel 'work'.

As for 5 stars? I'm not sure about that? It wouldn't qualify under the normal rules, so don't book this expecting the Savoy, but taking the service and the welcome in to account, I'll go there again.

Room Tip: Room 100 is on the ground floor next to reception. Good if you struggle with stairs or are closterf...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed the hotel and your room. We do apologize for any inconvenience that the internet have caused to you but I assume you received that without any charge.

Regarding the bar service, our bar is open on request all day until 11pm with special happy hour service from 5pm -8pm where we offer a afternoon snack buffet. During these hours we have a person serving and taking order the entire time. In case nobody was available when you visit the bar you could always had call the front desk from the phone on the bar for any kind of service. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards

Hildur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful stay here with my partner for 4nights. Had a pre booked shuttle bus from the airport and were welcomed with a glass of fresh orange juice upon arrival, a very welcoming male concierge who booked us into room on 12th jan (room 102)

The location is fab for our needs, it is out of the main tourist busy area but so close to all the main sights. Within an hour of our arrival we decided to have a look around. Within 7mins we had saw the colosseum, 15mins walk from hotel was the pantheon. Hotel is situated on a small street surrounded by other Italian residents so you really get an excellent experience of 'real' Italy and culture, and not tourist based hotels or shops. Metro is 10mins walk and goes to many sights.

We took a taxi from hotel to vatican on one occasion due to the weather and was 10euros booked through hotel, but when getting taxi home which were outside vatican it was 18euros. So don't know if they charge more unless booked by hotel but weather was so bad with rain we paid it. Otherwise it's around a 40/50mins walk.

Breakfast is fantastic, it was a buffet style with hot, cold meats, fruit, juice, cereal, croissants etc. Also you get your choice of what type of egg you would like and they would freshly make it for you. Didn't get the lady's name but she was working mon13th,14, and 16th in the breakfast area and she was fabulous, such a delightful lady and very welcoming. Also makes the best poached eggs and black coffee according to my boyfriend haha! Hot chocolate was amazing too. Such a credit to the hotel. Also in the evening if you buy a drink upstairs in the lounge you get a free buffet with sandwiches, pizza slice, nibbles etc.

Our room was lovely, bed linen was amazing and such a comfortable bed. Very clean and daily we had fresh towels etc. Our view was of some steps but it did not bother us as we didn't spend that long in the hotel room. The room has mini fridge, hair dryer, shampoo, soaps etc flat screen tv with sky and a safe.

It was our first time to Rome and so glad we stayed here, highly recommend. Only reason it hasn't got 5 stars is due to one afternoon we came back to freshen up and there was a man cleaning the floor outside our room with what looked like re jointing tiles or something, because when we got into the room the dust from the work had got into our room. It was fine white dust all on the mirrors, floor and bedside tables, don't know how it managed to get under the door to that extent but he had a sort of buffer machine. We just got ready regardless and just thought we would tell the receptionist when leaving. although the room was cleaned when we got back, the lady on reception didn't seem very apologetic when we told her and on a few occasions she just seemed like everything was a bit of an effort. But that did not take away our fab time here. Only thing to be aware of is there is a hotel around the corner called 'the forum' which if your finding our own way there bear in mind.

But lovely experience in Rome, beautiful City. Thank you, Inn at the Roman Forum :D

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 123becki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you very much for this positive review. It means so much to have our guests satisfied and content and leaving such a detailed review about it! THANK YOU.

I do much apologize for the dust that went to your room, the workers had strictly been requested to cover the space underneath the door with a plastic and I apologize for that not being followed. Fortunately they have finished polishing the marble floors of the hotel.

We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Hildur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Had a lovely couple of nights at the Inn at the Roman Forum.
Although I had been to Rome some years ago I was not sure whether the location would be good or not, however it turned out to be perfect. It backs on to ruins near the Roman Forum which is a less touristy part of town (we were glad we didn't stay at the Inn at the Spanish Steps) and there is a more local feel to the place.
We had a lovely room (we were upgraded to 401, apparently the best, so we were told....) which had a mix of maximalist fabrics and felt lush. The bathroom definitely needs a renovation however the rest of he hotel, especially the living room/eating room with terrace were great and very comfortable. It is a boutique hotel and not a top 5 star large chain hotel, so don't expect everything to be perfect, but do expect a nice intimate feel.
We'd definitely recommend this place to friends for a great value, boutique hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 401, right at the top with private terrace. Had a great night's sleep!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Obviously delighted that you enjoyed the location as the one of the main characteristics of our property and the free upgrade.

We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards

Hildur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Recently I stayed at The Inn At The Roman Forum with my partner for my 21st birthday, (a treat from my generous parents!!) and what a treat it was! They couldn't have picked a better hotel for us to spend my birthday, The staff are so friendly and always greeted us with smiles on their faces (especially Glen who gave us a great first impression of the hotel, which carried on throughout our visit) breakfast time was lovely and we had a lot of help getting around the city. would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants an amazing hotel, friendly staff and close to the city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

What a wonderful review! THANK YOU

We love to hear that you appreciated the choice of hotel for your birthday!
We value customers like yourselves and were happy to help you with direction and information you needed.

I look forward to welcoming you again to our structure.

Best regards
Hildur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

the hotel is next to the Roman Forum and other famous sightseeings of Rome. The breakfast delicious made by traditional materials. Very quiet place and the personell too polite and friendly, always willing to help and give information.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natasa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Front Office Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Delighted that you enjoyed the location as it’s the one of the main characteristics of our property just five minutes’ walk to Colosseum. Also thank you for your praise of our team.

We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Hildur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,799 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
430 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,267 in Rome
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,267 in Rome
618 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,267 in Rome
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At The Roman Forum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Roman Forum

Address: Via degli Ibernesi 30, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#32 Family Hotel in Rome
#68 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £170 - £1,178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn At The Roman Forum 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from some of the oldest and most precious ruins in Rome, including the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, this inn, member of the small luxury hotels of the world with 5 star service boasts charming views of the Campidoglio, Palatin Hill, Roman Forum, Venice Square. It is represented by Small Luxury Hotels of the World and is the only luxury residence in Rome which actually houses Roman ruins inside it. At the entrance, a passageway leads you to a Cryptoporticus, an exquisite stone gallery with engravings that can be traced back to 2,000 years ago. The five star service accommodations are carefully decorated in a modern style and are luxuriously furnished. On the roof terrace you can enjoy free snacks from 17:00 to 20:00. This inn is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn At The Roman Forum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Roman Forum Hotel Rome
Hotel At The Roman Forum
At The Roman Forum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing