We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ranked #12 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Great location minutes from the Forum, Palantine Hill & the Colosseum.
Upgraded to a junior suite at check in. The room was excellent with great furnishings.Nice roof top bar with outside terrace where you can get a drink in the evening & breakfast in the morning.
The staff were great helping with restaurants and nothing seemed to be to much trouble.
This really is a great little hotel and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauimanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
On behalf of The Inn at the Roman Forum team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and to hear that our personnel have left a good impression, your comment is a great motivation for them to keep up with the professionalism and good service.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Warmest regards

Ms. Hildur
THE INN AT THE ROMAN FORUM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    149
    39
    18
    12
See reviews for
178
797
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Our Deluxe double room was really nice, very spacious and the decor was lovely. My wife loved the kingsize bed and said it was one of the best she had stayed in. The staff are very friendly and could not do enough to help us. Pre booking us tour tickets, printing off train timetables, ringing taxi's etc: The ruins are an added bonus and the roof top terrace would be great to enjoy in the summer, we stayed for Valentines weekend in February and it was lovely even then. The view from up there is really good. The breakfast/bar area is a lovely room to enjoy the start or end of your day, very cosey. The location of the hotel is perfect, a stones throw away from the Collosseum. I took a 6am walk there and would recommend this to anyone, it wa very eerie and fantastic to walk around it alone. Obviously the Roman Forum is close by and the many other sites, Vatican City, Trevi Fountain are close enough. We took the metro to the Vatican, the station is very close to the hotel, and walked back taking in the Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain. We would highly recommend this hotel to any couples and will definately stay here again if and when we return to Roma.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeasantCrescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Public Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you kindest for your PERFECT review!

We, the entire team of THE INN AT THE ROMAN FORUM appreciate your feedback and we are honored about you having chosen our beautiful hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back next time!

Hildur
THE INN AT THE ROMAN FORUM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mek'ele, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at a Double Superior and we strongly recommend it, it was nothing but perfect. Delightful place in the very heart of the city centre, with the best customer service ever had. The waiters and receptionist were just world class. At the arrival the customers have the opportunity to visit a private piece of the Roman Forum and every breakfast and evening snack is served in a wonderful and cosy room with fireplace on the top of the building with panoramic terraces. The quality and variety of the food just excellent. The room was just perfect, perfectly modern and functional but decorated with a classic touch and lovely pieces of furniture. I personally loved the ancient wooden beams. Value in absolute terms and value for money.

-

Fantastico, l'Inn at the Roman Forum ha davvero contribuito a rendere magica la permanenza a Roma. Grande atmosfera, nel cuore del centro storico, servizio al cliente oltre ogni aspettativa. Raccomandatissimo!

Room Tip: Double Superior - Matrimoniale Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemuel_Gulliver_goes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
First of all thank you very much for your visit to THE INN AT THE ROMAN FORUM and for taking the time to write your positive impressions. It is for guests like you that our hotel remains one of the most appreciated hotels in Rome.

The entire team is very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you again

Grazie mille!

Hildur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My beautiful girlfriend bought this holiday in Rome for me for Xmas, as a student of Rome it's somewhere I have always wanted to go. However what made this trip to Rome complete was the 'Inn at the Roman Forum' a truely remarkable experience, outstanding staff, exquisite rooms and for me the location. A concealed location not more than 100 metres from the forum b. A truly remarkable location and hotel experience

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BrianFontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Public Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your time and it honors us to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Inn at the Roman Forum. Your comment will be passed on to the team and your feedback is essential in order to keep improving our standards and services from day to day.

Again THANK YOU!

Hildur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I've travelled in Europe for 5 times,but This is the best hotel I stayed in ,perfect!service,room,location,food,staff,price,everything,perfect!service,professional ,made me being like home.when Linda know it's my mom's first trip to Europe, she upgraded our room,and the buffet and the breakfast are very nice,delicious food,different kinds,professional service!
we really enjoy the time stay in the hotel, do appreciate ,and I've already suggest it to my friends.i do believe I will come back again! Ciao,dear friends !
Ying from China

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jujuzizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of The Inn at the Roman Forum team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that our personnel have left a good impression, we appreciate you mentioning Linda, your comment is a great motivation and will be passed on to her personally.

We are honored that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination and pleased to hear that you had a good time during your recent visit to Rome.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Hildur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from an amazing weekend in Rome. It was a Christmas present treat for my partner and I was very apprehensive about the hotel never having been to Rome before. I needn't have worried it was a beautiful hotel with very friendly staff located right in the centre of Ancient Rome. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic weekend away. You could certainly not fault the impeccable service from the breakfast staff and the food was delicious. The room was very comfortable, clean quiet and warm and the jacuzzi bath was a nice touch and welcomed after a day walking around the city.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with such nice comments, many thanks!

Delighted to hear that you had such a good stay with us and the fantastic comments regarding our staff and breakfast shall be passed onto the whole team. Thank you again for choosing The Inn at the Roman Forum, and for your wonderful comments.

Best regards

Ms. Hildur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

When I booked The Inn, I was rather nervous. Not a fan of smaller hotels and never quite sure if one person's interpretation of the word 'boutique' is the same as the next's.

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised. We checked in early and the extremely helpful receptionist offered to look after our bags until the room was ready. A glass of juice in reception and the offer of a map and directions sent us on our way to sightsee.

The hotel is on a back street, not easy to find and very inconspicuous. Within spitting distance of the ruins it is a great base for the Colosseum, the forum and Il Vittoriano.

When we returned to the hotel we were taken to our room (100) on the ground floor. The floor was tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. All mod cons and very spacious.

First disappointment was the lack of any mobile signal (not the hotels fault) but the backup of the free wifi was let down by the unreliability of service. After a while I realised restarting the access point outside the room door sorted this for a little while.

Breakfast was included and served on the top floor. A good few flights of stairs or a very cramped lift. This is to be expected in a old hotel. It was again spotlessly clean and seemed almost new, just very very small.

The bar/breakfast room was, to say the least, odd. A multi-purpose room, needs to be good for more thank one purpose. This just doesn't work for eating. Using a knife and fork on what is in affect a coffee table, isn't easy. Only 4 tables for a hotel with 12 rooms causes a problem too. On our second morning we were forced on to the roof terrace. I'm sure very nice in the summer, not so in January. As far as hot options, we were only offered scrambled eggs. Server again though, by excellent staff.

The breakfast room doubles as a bar too. But as we found one early evening, no bar and no staff means it's not quite what it says on the tin!

So, take out the lack of breakfast facilities and 'fake' bar, we really liked this hotel. Make sure you check the map first and can help the taxi driver find it. Also take advantage of the great multilingual staff, they really do make the hotel 'work'.

As for 5 stars? I'm not sure about that? It wouldn't qualify under the normal rules, so don't book this expecting the Savoy, but taking the service and the welcome in to account, I'll go there again.

Room Tip: Room 100 is on the ground floor next to reception. Good if you struggle with stairs or are closterf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed the hotel and your room. We do apologize for any inconvenience that the internet have caused to you but I assume you received that without any charge.

Regarding the bar service, our bar is open on request all day until 11pm with special happy hour service from 5pm -8pm where we offer a afternoon snack buffet. During these hours we have a person serving and taking order the entire time. In case nobody was available when you visit the bar you could always had call the front desk from the phone on the bar for any kind of service. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards

Hildur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At The Roman Forum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Roman Forum

Property: The Inn At The Roman Forum
Address: Via degli Ibernesi 30, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#32 Family Hotel in Rome
#68 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn At The Roman Forum 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from some of the oldest and most precious ruins in Rome, including the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, this inn, member of the small luxury hotels of the world with 5 star service boasts charming views of the Campidoglio, Palatin Hill, Roman Forum, Venice Square. It is represented by Small Luxury Hotels of the World and is the only luxury residence in Rome which actually houses Roman ruins inside it. At the entrance, a passageway leads you to a Cryptoporticus, an exquisite stone gallery with engravings that can be traced back to 2,000 years ago. The five star service accommodations are carefully decorated in a modern style and are luxuriously furnished. On the roof terrace you can enjoy free snacks from 17:00 to 20:00. This inn is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn At The Roman Forum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Roman Forum Hotel Rome
Hotel At The Roman Forum
At The Roman Forum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing