We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ranked #15 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We started our trip to Italy with a 3 night stay in this gem of a hotel. You are served a welcome drink while you check in and your bags are taken up to your room. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and quick to help out with any of our needs. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and we really enjoyed the terrace space as it was a peaceful start to the day. It was also a nice area to enjoy a drink and free appies in the afternoons.

The location of the hotel is ideal for hitting all the main attractions of Rome. We were able to walk to all the highlights with the exception of the Vatican City which was a 15 euro cab ride away.

If you are looking for a good location, great service and value for money this is your hotel. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Rosaria M, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf of The Inn at the Roman Forum team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the deluxe room at our hotel. As our main goal is our guest’s satisfaction, we are delighted to hear our warm welcome, morning buffet and our terrace left a wonderful impression!

We hope that you will not hesitate in returning in the near future and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you once again.

Receive our warm regards,
Ms. Hildur
THE INN AT THE ROMAN FORUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

737 - 743 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a lovely small hotel (part of the SLH chain) in a very quiet side street which is surprisingly close to the center of the town. The hotel is beautifully decorated with 3 small rooftop terraces, indoor lounge and most surprising -- it's own underground ruins! There was both a very good breakfast and an afternoon happy hour (with buffet - complimentary!) served in the lounge. Since it is a small hotel the happy hour was a great place to socialize. All the amenities you would expect were provided, but each room has a wonderful old world décor to it. The staff was very friendly and helpful and all my fellow guests commented on our luck getting such a nice hotel. Many restaurants within walking distance -- try the next small street over. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DottieNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Rosaria M, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at The Inn at the Roman Forum for your Roman Holiday!

We are grateful for your kind comments and really appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback about your stay with us. As our main goal is our guest’s satisfaction, we are glad to hear our staff, our terrace and our buffet services exceeded your expectations!

We are delighted to hear our hotel contributed to your special holiday and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next Roman holiday.

Best regards,

Ms. Hildur
THE INN AT THE ROMAN FORUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We Stay for 3 nights to the inn, Little SLH boutique hotel in the Monti Area we checked in in the morning and our room was ready, excellent surprise after a long flight, we had a fresh juice welcome drink and we start our tour of Rome inside Crypto, Amazing!!!!, A part of the ancient Roman Forum inside the Building.

Our room was wonderful at the second floor, king size and Canopy bed, Breakfast was served on the top floor with a beautiful view of Rome on the terrace and excellent service.

See the garden on the 4th floor is Amazing!

Concierge's Suggestions for the restaurant and the Tour was really spot and all the Staff they made us feel right at home.

Thanks to all the Staff of the Inn at the Roman Forum For all your help and for our Wonderful Stay.

Room Tip: Room 201 Was Fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cesar652014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Rosaria M, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for stay at The Inn at the Roman Forum for your Roman Holiday!

We are grateful for your kind comments and really appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback about your stay with us. As our main goal is our guest’s satisfaction, we are glad to hear your executive room, our terrace and our friendly staff exceeded your expectations.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel for your next Roman holiday.

Best regards,

Ms. Hildur
THE INN AT THE ROMAN FORUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Really nice room that opened on the back to a little backyard garden area -- private and peaceful. Breakfast buffet was good, but tables and chairs on the open terrace were few and the other arrangements entailed sitting on a sofa, eating from the coffee table. The hotel is up a little hill and the road in front of the hotel doesn't go through -- blocked at one end -- so you'll need to walk 15 or 20 yards uphill to get to the hotel. Although the service was generally top-notch, one guy at the front desk was a bit too interested in selling us a private car ride to the airport for 55 Euros. He claimed that the taxis cost the same (even though they all clearly display a fixed fare of 48 Euro from downtown to the airport), and he exaggerated the cost of the train to the airport as well, adding that we'd have to walk over a kilometer from the train terminus to the airport terminal, which also isn't the case.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Rosaria M, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you sincerely for taking your time to comment on and review our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you have appreciate the location and the common hotel area.
We apologize that our dining area did not meet your requirements, however we do offer a lovely outside terrace.

We are concerned about few of your comments regarding the private car service and our staff. We are surprised to hear about your concerns with the receptionist. The regular taxi rate varies from 48-70 Euro and you must wait in line at the airport. They can add luggage charges and other fees upon that. Our driver has a fixed rate and drives you securely to the hotel and the airport. Therefore, we try to encourage the private car service only to please and accommodate our guests in the best possible way.

Again we thank you for your comment and hope to see you in nearest future.

Best regards,

Hildur
THE INN AT THE ROMAN FORUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This small hotel is unrecognizable hidden just behind the forum.
No big signs, just an open front door.
Once inside you receive the warmest welcome.
It is not just for show, but the employees at the reception and on the roof terrace are sincerely warm and show interest in your well being.
The room is and has everything you expect. Good bed, nice furniture and details, good air conditioning, luxurious bathroom (small but well equipped), enough storage space and 220v outlets. A real comfortable space to relax after a long walk through Rome.
The copious breakfast is served with a smile and service on the tiny roof terrace or inside. Compliments for the efforts to provide a breakfast considering all my food allergies.
Thanks to the relaxed hotel, which earns the title Small Luxury Hotel, and the abundance of tips and good advices, we had a very nice stay in Rome.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank J-W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Rosaria M, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf of The Inn at the Roman Forum team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay in the deluxe room at our hotel. As our main goal is our guest’s satisfaction, we are delighted to hear our room services, location and our morning buffet exceeded your expectations.

We hope that you will not hesitate in returning in the near future and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you once again.

Receive our warm regards,
Ms. Hildur
THE INN AT THE ROMAN FORUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

After spending three nights at The Inn at The Roman Forum we are delighted to express that our stay was perfect. This small lux hotel is located in a perfect part of Rome and is minutes away from fine restaurants and sight seeing...most important is the caring staff: Stefano, Hildy, Mary, Sara, Bitte, and Sugar....who attend to their clients every need.
Best regards, Heather and Rose

Stayed: May 2014
5  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Rosaria M, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at The Inn at the Roman Forum for your Roman Holiday.

We are grateful for your kind comments and really appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback about your stay with us. As our main goal is our guest’s satisfaction, we are glad to hear our friendly staff left such a lovely impression on your holiday.

We are delighted to hear our hotel contributed to your special holiday and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next Roman holiday.

Best regards,

Ms. Hildur
THE INN AT THE ROMAN FORUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Used to 5 stars hotels, we decided to go to this one because of its "charming/cosy style" and its location close to the Capitole and the Colosseum.

We booked for an executive room, at an average price of 360€ / night, breakfast included.

We arrived at 1PM, and got our room ready at around 1.15PM. So that was alright.

Their "limousine" airport transfer service is not worth the money. We used it on arrival, complimentary offered by the hotel, and paid 55€ for the return. Would'nt pay for it again.


The hotel itself :

+++ :

-Located in a nice tiny street, very well placed close to forum and colosseum.
- Charming hotel with nice pieces of ancient furniture
- Chimney fire during breakfast
- lovely rooftop garden, and rooftop terrace
- we were upgraded to a garden room, which was spacious for Roma
-lovely attentions, like complimentary pistacchios & wine, complimentary "Fragonnard" bath salts
- the staff is kind, but not really 5 stars efficient ... some of them should learn that smile is important when it comes to a commercial relationship.
- the bedding was comfortable and bed itself was 2Mx2M ! :)

- - - :

- The elevator is small (2 pers. max)
- The room was dark
- Bath moisture seals/joints were in a horrible condition (see pictures attached)
- Bath had lots of impacts, it was actually an OLD bathtube
- The rain Shower in the bath had a far too small water pressure !!! :-(
- no much space to put your belongings in the bathroom
- the Mechanical Assisted Ventilation was FAR TOO NOISY while working, but it stops when you switch off the light.
- the breakfast is REALLY POOR and disappointing by its choice, and the quality of the food. The orange juice is not fresh, the pastries are no good quality, the baguette is de-frozen.
We didnt really enjoy the breakfast at all, despite the lounge is very comfortable.
- the ipod dock cover was torn, and not really good quality (cheap JBL model)
- the weather station was not working anymore
- the slippers are the cheapest model you could find in a hotel
- the mugs for coffee in the room are : IKEA !!!

Well, it certainly doesnt diserve 5 stars, would better rate it 4 stars... and lower the price of the room...

We would not go back here again...despite our stay was alright.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TourismeDeLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildur J, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Roman Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment.

We are glad to hear that you have appreciate the location and the common hotel area.
We are concerned about few of your comment regarding the room and the services, so kindly allow me to answer some of them.

1. Check in time is 2 PM, and we checked you in 15 minutes after your arrival at 1:15 PM, always prior to the regular check in time.

2. The private driver from the airport “not worth the money” the regular taxi rate can varies from 48-70 Euro and you must wait in line at the airport. They can add luggage charges and other fees upon that. Our driver has a fixed rate and drive you in secure way upfront to the hotel. Don’t understand what your complain about that service regards.

3. I am surprised to hear your comment regarding the breakfast as we usually receive only good and positive comments about it. We have full buffet table that includes items such as, fresh pastries delivered early morning (at 6am) everyday freshly made. Including varieties of typical Italian pastries. Homemade cake made daily , bread, salami, cheese, ham, crude ham, Gorgonzola cheese, & brie. Fresh orange juice on request (to make it always fresh for each client), yogurt, 3 kinds of fruit juice of high quality, cappuccino on request, coffee, tea hot chocolate etc. Omelets made on request for each guest. If there were some thing missing on the table you could have mentioned that in your comment or in the hotel staff directly during your stay as well.

4. The I-pod doc is not of any cheap quality as the brand JBL isn’t considered cheap in general. If the weather station was missing a batteries than we apologize for that but you could simply have let us know and we would have replace the batteries!

Again we thank you for your comment and hope to see you in nearest future.

Best regards

Hildur
THE INN AT THE ROMAN FORUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,863 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,269 in Rome
442 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,269 in Rome
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,269 in Rome
226 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,269 in Rome
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At The Roman Forum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Roman Forum

Address: Via degli Ibernesi 30, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#32 Family Hotel in Rome
#68 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £126 - £997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn At The Roman Forum 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from some of the oldest and most precious ruins in Rome, including the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, offering 5 star service boasts charming views of the Campidoglio, Palatin Hill, Roman Forum, Venice Square. It's the only luxury residence in Rome which actually houses Roman ruins inside it. At the entrance, a passageway leads you to a Cryptoporticus, an exquisite stone gallery with engravings that can be traced back to 2,000 years ago. The five star service accommodations are carefully decorated in a modern style and are luxuriously furnished. On the roof terrace you can enjoy free snacks from 17:00 to 20:00. This inn is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn At The Roman Forum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Roman Forum Hotel Rome
Hotel At The Roman Forum
At The Roman Forum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing