We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #48 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good hotel in quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in the VIP room at the Hotel Diocleziano. The room was immaculate and the free non-alcoholic minibar a plus. The view from the garden terrace was lovely but there was quite a bit of noise coming from behind a hedge, possibly something to do with the air con, which spoiled the tranquility. I'm surprised it hasn't been mentioned in the reviews before. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was very good with items reguarly replaced. The location was only a 5 minute walk from the station and on a very quiet street. We had a very pleasant lunch when we arrived at a restaurant which was recommended by the hotel about a 100 yards down the street on the opposite side of the road. If you want a really special meal whilst in Rome try Lo Stil Novo which is classy with excellent service and wonderful food (150 euros including wine) For a more rustic, intimate meal try the Library Romantic which has only 6 tables so you need to book but the food and service are excellent (160 euros including wine).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MicheleK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    589
    79
    19
    10
See reviews for
481
1,183
94
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
607 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. This is an excellent hotel with which it's impossible to find fault. It's spotlessly clean, the rooms are very comfortable and the location is in a side street so it's very quiet at night. The rooms have a free non-alcoholic mini bar which is restocked daily and all guests have free internet access. It's 5 mins walk from the Diocletian Baths and Termini Station and just around the corner from an excellent restaurant, Babbo's, recommended by the front desk and so good we ate there every night. All the staff are very friendly and efficient and are always happy to help. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

The Hotel Diocleziano is excellent and we would recommend to anyone visiting Rome. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The front desk staff, Giordano and his colleagues, are wonderful. They arranged airport transfers for us via email before we left home; all went very smoothly. The breakfast is excellent; Emily is a gem and makes wonderful coffee. On leaving, while waiting for the car to the airport, the manger offered us coffee, which was most appreciated. Could not fault this hotel. It is very quiet; the rooms are tastefully decorated and spotless. Location near Termini in a very quiet back street is ideal, walking distance to all the major attractions. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTimes030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Great little hotel in a quiet sidestreet near, the staff was very helpful and always kind. The buffet breakfast is great and plenty of cakes, bread, cheeses/met and expresso/capuccino very good. They have organise our transport to and from Airport (€100...very confortable, safe and very good driver) after the reserve in the Booking.com. Always answer my doubts before my stay. The location is fantastic, because we can walk anywhere and are also so close to Termini Station if you need to catch a train, bus or metro (We buy 7 days card for € 16 with unlimited travels). We stayed in the VIP room w/ private terrace, and this was amazing for enjoying some. They offer every day the minibar (water, juices, coca) and tea with cakes. Near there is a very good restaurant (Gallina Blanca). Please, stay in the hotel...and we will not forget!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Friendly staff upon arrival. Room was extremely small. Due to an unfortunate event we were moved to a larger room. Air con in the room either works, doesn't work, or is noisy. Free mini bar is very helpful (no alcohol). The soft drink or water is much appreciated at night, or in the morning. Tea/Coffee facilities is also present in the rooms with biscuits (topped up daily). Breakfasts were delicious! Lots of fantastic croissants with hot/cold food buffet. Close to the Termini Station (handy to grab an open top bus, 20 Euro per person ticket is valid for 24hours, hop on/off service). The Trevi fountain is about a 20 minute comfortable walk. A handful of restaurants within walking distance.

Clean rooms, great breakfasts, friendly staff. It's just a shame the hotel doesn't offer or cater for inhouse Dinners (only breakfast).

Free gym is also helpful. The showers are phenomenal at the inhouse mini gym.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fireblader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Me and my best friend (20 year old females) stayed in the hotel during our 3 night city break to Rome at the start of April. We were looking for a hotel that looked nice, was fairly priced and in a safe location. This hotel provided all of this for us and more!!

The hotel is honestly a 5 minute walk from the main Rome train station which has a direct route to the main airport so getting there was no problem. Being young and fairly fit we happily walked across Rome to see all the sights - the hotel is around a 20 minute walk from the Pantheon. The hotel was also very good at organising taxis for us which were on time and usually at a set price meaning that we weren't conned which I believe isn't uncommon in Rome. This put our minds at rest when organising transport to the airport for our flight home.

The hotel only has around 30 rooms but the staff were still very efficient, professional and friendly. On arrival our bags were taken to our room for us, we got a tour of our room and the hotel and a free map of Rome.

We stayed in their standard room which was very comfortable - not extremely fancy but not basic either which was ideal - who goes to Rome to spend all their time in the hotel room anyway!? The air-con worked, the shower was hot and powerful and the beds were comfortable. Also there was a mini-fridge in our room with around 5 soft drinks in it (juices/water/coke etc) which was replenished FREE OF CHARGE every day of our stay. I thought this was a really lovely touch! There was also a free wi-fi connection.

The breakfast buffet was standard - nothing extremely exciting but still a fair variety of meats, cheeses, cooked breakfast options, fruits, pastries etc. The breakfast staff were still friendly and attentive.

Honestly I can't recommend this hotel enough!! I think it's a total bargain for the standard of hospitality we received while we were there!! Perfect for those who are watching their wallets as you can just get a train to and from the airport and happily walk around Rome without spending money on taxis. We walked to the Vatican from the hotel which on paper might seem a long way but it was easily done due to all the beautiful sights you see on the way!

ENJOY!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheenabee_x90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

This hidden gem is a 5 minute walk from the Central train station and is on a quiet side street. From the minute we arrived the hotel staff made us feel welcomed and important. The staff was very attentive and helpful with anything we needed. They arranged tours and provided good tips on where to eat. The room was small but well appointed and the mini bar and daily snacks were complimentary. The daily American breakfast was the best we experienced in our Italy travels. There is free wi-fi in the rooms too. The hotel was in walking distance to many sights and an easy walk to the underground for trains to anywhere in Rome. We would recommend this place to friends!

Room Tip: The elevator is small - stay on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#82 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing